We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
92
167
83
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
167
83
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger king sunday night market thapae gate old city strategic location walking street comfortable room room rate noise convenience massage motorbike elephants
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel right in front of the Tapae Gate - so real downtown!
In the same building is Burger King (for these who like it)
On the opposite site of walking street there is one of the oldest restaurants of the city with very good food.
Unfortunately it was all days closed - seems to have some private/religious background as some buddhas were placed in front of closed door...but we enjoyed it last time.

Tip:
walking parallel the wall to "Johns Place" where we had best Thai food nearby (and open all day and night)
Have a drink also there or before at "SAX bar" (75bht happy hour for Big Chang or small Mojito/Magherithas)
Or Loi Kroh Road (way to nightmarket) where you pass some "Redlight bars" but here the staff is very friendly and you even can have a lot of fun with karaoke and good drinks (e.g. Real Havanna Rum Drinks) without "Redlight ambitions" - my girlfriend liked it a lot :-)

Rooms spacious, only bathroom is a little to small for Europeans while you have shower and toilet in a very narrow space side by side
The air condition is the best I ever had - even in 5* resorts / hotels for 2-3x the price: it has a quite mode while you can sleep fantastical and hear nothing from the fan.

Free Airport shuttle (ask before arrival for pickup schedule) and bicycles and even a own tuktuk.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMChiangmai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Martin K

Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day.
Guest Relation.

Hotel M Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Checked in on 18th March and checked out on 23rd March; completely pleasant with my stay in this hotel. Chose this hotel because of its centralised location in the Old City facing Tapae Gate and the Sunday night market walking street which is just next to it. That is my aim of staying in a convenient spot where after a tiring walked, you do not need to wait for taxi and spent time haggling over the price with the driver, you simply walked back to your hotel to rest.

Checking in was a breeze and as requested, I had asked for high floor (highest is 5th floor) on the west side with the window facing the mountain and with lots of sunlight. Courtesy of Peterfuchs2017. Here I have gotten a lot of sunlight because it is facing the afternoon sun and if you are not in the room during the afternoon heat, that will be fine. The facing of this room is away from the main street and this give you a good night rest with minimum noise disturbances. Occasionally, the music from nearby shops may be louder in the night but it soon quiets down after 10 pm and not a big issue with me.

The room is not new and neither is it old. It is just well maintained with fridge, safe and LED TV. It is not the usual newer hotel that uses card system with the holder well positioned to facilitate your convenience. The key comes with a block of plastic to be inserted into a holder to turn on the electricity which is well hidden behind the door. If you coming back in the night, you will probably be groping in the dark after you close the door. A safer bet is to use your mobile phone to light up the holder for insertion.

As for breakfast, there is not much variety but is sufficient to last the morning. The staffs are friendly especially those managing the hotel front carpark facing Tapae Gate. A compliment to these staffs that made every effort to clear those red-taxi blocking the carpark lots especially on Sunday night, guiding and facilitate your parking as well as looking out for on-going traffic when you are reversing out into the main road. Well-done Hotel M for your ground staffs.

There are many good foods with reasonable price around the hotel and within walking distance to markets, temple, spa, massage shop and watering holes. A hotel that I will not hesitate to return to stay if I ever visit Chiang Mai again.

Room Tip: 5th floor on the west side with window facing the mountain & sunlight. Room is away from the main street with minimum noise disturbances.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StormSpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMChiangmai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Customer

Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day. Guest Relation.

Hotel M Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We went to Chiang Mai for a nearby yoga retreat and were urged to stay at M. We ended up staying a week and are glad we did. Spot on central location, right by the Gate, much traffic but easy strolling to markets, restaurants, wats and Night Market and used bookstores on the other side of the he Gate. They gave us free breakfast and looked after us in other ways, including a shift to the quieter back side with mountain views. Hugely popular with China tourists, but accessible to anyone. Great value for money.

Room Tip: You might ask for the west side, ie. back side with mountain views and more light, we did and were glad we did.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank peterfuchs2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMChiangmai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Customer

Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day. Guest Relation.

Hotel M Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Overall, we thought the hotel was adequate, but definitely not luxury. The beds were a little hard for our taste and we had some issues with the shower and hot water. Our room was at the end of hall and we got a lot of street noise in our room. I suppose the plus side of the noise is that the location of the hotel is great. It is just outside the gate of the old city, and around the corner from the street market. They also had a complimentary buffet - but it was pretty limited selection. Overall, it was acceptable but not the highlight of our trip.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank edg41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMChiangmai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear edg41

Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day. Guest Relation.

Hotel M Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I spent 4 nights here. It was a very comfortable stay. There was a fair bit of noise, but we did stay over the New Year period. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a very good position close to the Thaipei gate. Rooms were comfortable and well maintained. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank seymor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMChiangmai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear seymor1

Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day. Guest Relation.

Hotel M Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews