We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great quality guest house”
Review of Ban Kong Rao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ban Kong Rao
Ranked #278 of 826 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 November 2014

Very clean good quality rooms with friendly staff. Away from the noisy loi kroh area this is an ideal guesthouse for both short and long stays. Staff happy to organize cars bikes trips food etc. Free water which some hotels charge for.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank gazzaff7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2014

Wife and I stayed here 6 days while visiting Chiang Mai. What a wonderful place! The owner and staff are very warm and friendly. Room was quite comfortable, and an easy walk or ride into Old Town. Several great restaurants nearby... although you have to look for them! If you require a luxury hotel then keep looking... but if you are good with a Guest House type of accommodation that is more in line with traditional Thai housing... but with A/C and other niceties, then this is the place! We would absolutely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steve821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Although initially a little tricky to find, this guest house is very welcoming, friendly, clean and fun. only 20m walk to the old city and in a very fun neighbourhood close to several upmarket spas as well as some friendly affordable ones. It has a lively nightlife and is off the beaten part, definitely a find for those who prefer to avoid tourist traps and loud partiers.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SGlaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location is perfect : charming and quiet even the hotel is very close to down town by Tuk Tuk or bicycle.

The staff is very welcoming and very helful. They helped us for finding any activities we wanted to do by providing informations or calling for us to negociate good price with guides etc..

The hotel has a roof terrace which is perfect at night for taking some air with friends.

The rooms are very clean, well decorated and the bed is awsome. The bed size is in fact bigger than usual king size bed.

Anyway you can book that hotel without any doubt !

Enjoy !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smirlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My son and I stayed here for a week in April during our Easter school holiday the Thai Songkran festival. The guesthouse is a short walk from the old city centre and main temples and attractions. being just outside it meant we were able to escape the Songkran mayhem that takes over in the city having experienced it for one full day, which was enough for my young son! The owner Jenny and her family are lovely, we spent a lot of time chatting with them and they were extremely helpful when it came to choosing which excursions and activities to book. We enjoyed a substantial breakfast there most mornings and the kitchen was extremely flexible with our evening dinner arrangements going beyond the level of service you would expect from a small guesthouse. The charm of the building and gardens really meant that we were happy to relax there most evenings.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor was quiet and a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catrosa13pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 km away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#90 of 395 in Chiang Mai
299 reviews
4.8 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
0.6 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 395 in Chiang Mai
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
No photo provided
Rim Ping Guest House
#386 of 826 in Chiang Mai
3 reviews
6.6 km away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,388 reviews
2.9 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Kong Rao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Kong Rao

Address: 2 Soi 4 Morakot Road | Chuang Puak Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 826 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: €41 - €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ban Kong Rao 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ban Kong Rao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Kong Rao Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing