We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$99
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$411
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$310/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mercure Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$38
US$31
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$249
US$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$178
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$121
US$67
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
108
31
9
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
31
9
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for four days in November and loved it! Jenny and her family are so kind and made our stay so worth it. The hotel is outside of the main part of the city but that wasn't an issue at all. A quick walk to the main road and we were always able to grab a red truck taxi to get us to where we needed to go! Our room was clean and we always had warm water. At night we enjoyed sitting up on the roof and relaxing with a beer. There are a lot of great restaurants within walking distance including Seven Senses Restaurant and Imm Aim Bike Cafe. Both are great places for good meals!

Even though this hotel is outside the city gates of Chiang Mai the staff was so wonderful that we didn't mind one bit! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunshine1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AungJaiboon, Owner at Ban Kong Rao, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi,

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you had a pleasant stay in Chiang Mai

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards,

Ban Kong Rao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four days. At first we were a little leery about the area, as there didn't seem to have much going on. However, it forced us to explore more and we found several great places to eat including Imm Aim Vegetarian & Bike Cafe.
Our room was clean and pretty spacious and had two balconies. We were able to wash all our clothes in the sink and dry them very quickly outside. The staff was friendly and although our room didn't have a hot spring they accommodated us by bringing up one so we could make our own coffee in the morning.
The rooftop garden was a nice touch.
Only issues we had were the loud outside noise-especially at night--and the fact the rooms didn't seem secure. The doors were rather flimsy and could easily be jimmied open.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AungJaiboon, Owner at Ban Kong Rao, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi,

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Chiang Mai

We hope to see you again in the future,

Kind regards,

Ban Kong Rao

P.S. with regards to your concerns about door security please could you email us at info@bankongrao.com to let us know more details so that we can address this. We value our guests security and have security cameras covering the hall on each floor as well as a night-time security guard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Most of the staff does not speak English. The non-English speaking staff was rather unfriendly and could hardly be convinced to help me at all. The rooms are OK but VERY noisy at night. The street directly in front of the hotel is quite busy at night. There are lots of scooters and tuktuks at night and some of love to accelerate in front of the hotel, which makes quite a lot of noise. The walls are thin and it made no noticeable difference if the windows were open or not.

The bed had a good size but the mattress was as stiff as a brick. The same can be said about the pillows. The TV programm was good.

The hotel is about 15-20min walking distance away from the inner city and most tourist attractions, proper restaurants etc. are too far away to walk.

Wifi was available downstairs but not in my room on the 4th floor. The connection was slow but OK.

I booked a 2nd stay in advance but tried to cancel it during my 1st stay. Although the cancelation was 10 days in advance, no refund at all was granted.

All in all I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid any rooms facing the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertG_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AungJaiboon, Owner at Ban Kong Rao, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi there,

We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us but we do hope that you enjoyed your stay in Chiang Mai

With regards to your receiving no refund for your cancellation, unfortunately, as we explained to you at the time, your booking was made via Agoda and wasn't made with us directly and so the cancellation and refund process also had to be done via Agoda

Kind regards,

Ban Kong Rao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I came to Chiang Mai to take a Thai Massage course, and loved staying here! There were other people from my class staying here as well, and the staff let us use their massage room to practice for our exam - so nice! The food was great and fresh everyday. Staff was kind and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edviac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have been to Chiang Mai. This hotel/guest house has an amazing vibe, excellent hosts great rooms in a good location a quieter part of the city but still very close to access all that chiang Mai has to offer. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else and definitely coming back. Jenny, Fay and Ying now our extended family.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NigelRTye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews