We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy rooms far away from the inner city”
Review of Ban Kong Rao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ban Kong Rao
Ranked #280 of 829 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Most of the staff does not speak English. The non-English speaking staff was rather unfriendly and could hardly be convinced to help me at all. The rooms are OK but VERY noisy at night. The street directly in front of the hotel is quite busy at night. There are lots of scooters and tuktuks at night and some of love to accelerate in front of the hotel, which makes quite a lot of noise. The walls are thin and it made no noticeable difference if the windows were open or not.

The bed had a good size but the mattress was as stiff as a brick. The same can be said about the pillows. The TV programm was good.

The hotel is about 15-20min walking distance away from the inner city and most tourist attractions, proper restaurants etc. are too far away to walk.

Wifi was available downstairs but not in my room on the 4th floor. The connection was slow but OK.

I booked a 2nd stay in advance but tried to cancel it during my 1st stay. Although the cancelation was 10 days in advance, no refund at all was granted.

All in all I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid any rooms facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertG_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AungJaiboon, Owner at Ban Kong Rao, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi there,

We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us but we do hope that you enjoyed your stay in Chiang Mai

With regards to your receiving no refund for your cancellation, unfortunately, as we explained to you at the time, your booking was made via Agoda and wasn't made with us directly and so the cancellation and refund process also had to be done via Agoda

Kind regards,

Ban Kong Rao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

I came to Chiang Mai to take a Thai Massage course, and loved staying here! There were other people from my class staying here as well, and the staff let us use their massage room to practice for our exam - so nice! The food was great and fresh everyday. Staff was kind and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edviac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have been to Chiang Mai. This hotel/guest house has an amazing vibe, excellent hosts great rooms in a good location a quieter part of the city but still very close to access all that chiang Mai has to offer. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else and definitely coming back. Jenny, Fay and Ying now our extended family.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NigelRTye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights, minutes from busy street with many food vendors. You can get a plate of food for 35 baht. The staff at this hotel were very friendly and kind. Great value for the money and short cab ride from the night bazzar and old city.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

A friend of mine and I went to Chiang Mai to spend a month studying Thai massage.
We didn't book anything in advance as we preferred to see the places.
Ban Kong Rao was just the perfect home for our month staying in Chiang Mai. Few minutes walking distance from ITM school and more than that the place itself is really nice. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.
Rooms are spacious with extremely comfortable beds. Would totally recommend!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank BFalce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.8 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
961 reviews
0.6 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 395 in Chiang Mai
694 reviews
6.1 km away
No photo provided
Rim Ping Guest House
#385 of 829 in Chiang Mai
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,388 reviews
2.9 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,216 reviews
3.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Kong Rao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Kong Rao

Address: 2 Soi 4 Morakot Road | Chuang Puak Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 829 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: €34 - €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ban Kong Rao 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ban Kong Rao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Kong Rao Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing