We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Guesthouse Near Khao San Road”
Review of Baan Chantra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Chantra
Ranked #80 of 742 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2007

Set in an 80-year old teak home, this is a beautiful boutique hotel with modern amenities and a fabulous owner who is very friendly, professional, and hospitable. Rooms are spacious with glossy wood floors, cute dressing table, and low wooden table for tea. Breakfast is delicious with your choice of American or Thai. The library and free Internet are wonderful, as is the central location near Khao San Road and Banglamphu. My partner found the mattress a bit hard and the street noise disturbing (the hotel is set right on the street), however, for the price, this hotel just cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Pretty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 207 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2007

this hotel is fabulous! It's really close to Kao San,but far enough away not to be noisy at night. This is a really friendly family run guesthouse, where we were made to feel incredibly welcome. the room was immaculate, and in a traditional Thai Style, and we even had our own little living room to take tea! Our hosts were also extremely helpful, filling us in on what to see and where to go, the best time to get to which market, temple etc. and even taught us some useful Thai phrases.

The breakfast was fantastic, although do take care to tell tehm in advance if you ahve any dietary requirements. we came down on the first morning and were immediately brought a full English Breakfast, i was very embarassed to tell them i couldn't eat it, especially when they apologised profusely for what, to be honest, was my ommission! The vegetarian breakfast they brought me instead was lovely though!

i would definitely recommend you stay here, it's reasonably priced for the area, and is so much nicer than some of its rivals on kao san. we were also able to reserve the room and ask questions about the hotel via email before hand, all answered by our host.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank SEAsiatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank stephanjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aurélie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mari0nmaxime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#14 of 742 in Bangkok
222 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Siamotif Boutique Hotel
#17 of 742 in Bangkok
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Methavalai Residence
Methavalai Residence
#57 of 742 in Bangkok
57 reviews
Sukhumvit
Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18
Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18
#65 of 742 in Bangkok
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chantra

Address: 120/1 Samsen Road | Bangkhunprom Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 742 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: €56 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Chantra 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Chantra is a privately owned and run establishment located just a few blocks away from the famous Khao San Road. Originally built in 1936, this renovated historic home offers a unique and personalized travel experience with a touch of local flavour. The owners pride themselves in the quality of their accommodation and wonderful service they offer. Beautiful traditional Thai home - Enchanting guest rooms featuring wooden decor. Quiet, friendly atmosphere - Convenience of library/study room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Baan Chantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chantra Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing