We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$286
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banyan Tree Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$178
US$151
BanyanTree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
133
115
52
32
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
115
52
32
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitegay hotelbarracks roomsauna facilitiesfoam partycommunal showersbreakfast tablespa areashared bathroomlarge poolstandard roomtuk tukbulgaribahtsilomluxuryswimmingpool
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Flew into Bangkok the evening of December 26, 2008 from Bali. I had arranged for a driver to pick me up with the hotel. He was waiting for me after I collected my luggage and went directly to the hotel. A nice way to arrive. I stayed in one of the Bottocelli Suites in Bottocelli House, a gated property right by Babylon. A little pricey but well worth it. My rooms were exquisite and the attention to the lighting in the rooms was wonderful. Each morning when I awoke I felt like Napolean with a wonderful chandelier over my bed and high end period piece furnighings everywhere. Each morning it felt so good to just lie there and take everything in. I had a wonderful maid who brought me breakfast each monring on my patio, and when I was in the room, snacks during the day. She was a treasure and had a wonderful smile. The best! Babylon was also a nice treat. Nice staff, clean environment, and everything a gay man could want to relax: wonderful pool, drinks, food, gym, hot men, and the massages were incredible. I don't believe there is anywhere else like this in the world. It is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

I absolutely loved Babylon, a little oasis in mad Bangkok. It's very well designed and kept up and the staff are very friendly and attentive.

I stayed in room 706 and luckily I am strong enough to carry my case up one floor because the quirky lift stops and level 6. This room has it's own very large shower and overlooks the pool from the spa next door.

I liked the breakfast - lots to choose from and I love instant coffee.

I can't recommend this hotel enough for anyone staying in Bangkok, although it's a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nickswlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Again I found this little beauty on Tripadvisor. We stayed for a few nights on the way to Europe and then finished of with a 7 night stay on the way back to Australia. We booked the Botticellin House which is a private Villa with your own butler service. The Suite is amazing and beautifully decked out with antiques. It's located within the grounds of Babylon behind a high gated brick fence and beautiful manicured gardens. The added facilities are world class with large lap pool, sundeck area, full gym, pool bar, sauna, steam rooms etc and even has 2 restuarants within the main complex. The whole complex was so clean and well maintained. Breakfast is up on the 6th floor of the complex and the girls are fantastic and will do you a cooked breakfast each morning exactly how you like it. This property is not downtown, but then taxi's are always available and very cheap. The staff were always attentive and always greeted us with a smile. My travel companion slipped on the wet tiles and his whole toe nail was ripped off. The staff were amazing and quickly rushed him to a clinic. They looked after him and to my surprise paid for all the medical bills. It's an absolute credit to this establishment and the staff that run it. The only problem I had was initially making the booking ... they need to pay more attention to booking requests with a quicker response.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tropic1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

I am 24 years old from Australia. This was my first overseas holiday and I had come from 3 nights at a very nice hotel in Kuala Lumpur.
I was not prepared for what waiting outside the Bangkok airport and had not taken advantage of the hotel arranging an airport pickup.
My bf and I were in a bit of an agitated state when we finally made it to the hotel but the staff were excellent.
They spoke good english and made us feel very comfortable and welcome.
Through our stay the staff were very helpful, calling taxis for us and making sure we were not overcharged. They suggested some places for us to go during our nights along with some local tips and tricks about certain venues.
The laundry,b ar and restaurant prices were reasonable and the food was lovely.
We had booked a standard 'barrack' room, thinking we would not mind communal showers and toilets (when booking in the comfort of our own home). However coming from the lovely hotel in KL and arriving quite shaken at the hotel, we upgraded to one of the deluxe rooms with private bathroom. The room was LOVELY and quiet, such an oasis from the hectic streets of Bangkok.
I would definitely stay here again, I had no problems of any kind during my stay at this hotel. The staff went out of their way to help us.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ilikethai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

If you are into 1970's porn videos then this place is for you.
Scene 1:
Arriving at the reception we were greeting by three people. One welcomed us to Disneyland in Bangkok. The other two were too busy rearranging there hair to saying hello to the new arrivals.
Scene 2:
Cut to the lift. Was this for real? One can select to go to level 1 (ground floor) or to level 6. Nothing in between. We pressed level 6 as this was the closest to our room 701 which was on level 7. Walking through what looked like a miss match of furniture we arrived at a spiral staircase. No way were we going to take our bags up there. Seeing no phone, my partner went back downstairs to get someone to carrying our bags up.
Scene 3.
Opening the door to our 'penthouse' room we were greeted by 'gargoyles' on all walls. Eek...how were we to sleep? Especially after inspecting the bed and finding no one but two torn pillow cases.
Also make use of the slippers because I dont think the cleaners have ever washed the stone floor.
Scene 4.
Breakfast is OK. Not great. And please what self respecting queen drinks instant coffee? Yes they have an espresso machine but you have to pay extra.
This is the hotel for you if you want bad service and attitude, dirty and tired rooms. And for me a big no no, bad coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlecSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews