We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$208
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$300
US$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$78
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$166
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$199
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$80
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
133
115
52
32
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
115
52
32
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitegay hotelbarracks roomsauna facilitiesfoam partycommunal showersbreakfast tablespa areashared bathroomlarge poolstandard roomtuk tukbulgaribahtsilomluxuryswimmingpool
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2008

Since I first started coming to Thailand in 2001 I have stayed at The Babylon while in BKK. I have always enjoyed my stay, my room, fellow travelers and staff. While it is true that the barracks rooms are not as well lit as some of the florescent lit gems across Asia it surprises me that anyone would care. Read at the pool during the day.

I have stayed in barrack rooms as well as the penthouse suite, they both have been terrific. The bathhouse being adjacent is quite fun and also houses the pool area, a glassed in workout room, two restaurants and a disco.

Breakfast, besides having much to offer, is a great time to meet fellow travelers from around the world and is often a good time to start planning your day (or night!) with the added help of others that have been there/done that.

Not sure why anyone would blame the hotel for a trick stealing from them, but hey, to each their own.

I'll be back in Oct 08 and Feb 09! See you at the Foam Party.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ShawnCornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

II just returned from my stay in Thailand April and May, loved the Babylon-Hotel and SPA-Sauna in Bangkok, it’s one of the last classy gay hotels, great location, close to all you like to see.
I had a great time the staff was very accommodating, friendly.
I highly recommend the Babylon and would go back next time again.

hgr. La. CA

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LACARHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

We have stayed at Babylon three times, from January 2007 to April 2008, and have had great experiences all times. It is clean and generally well run. The "sauna" is absolutely incredible, but is completely separate from the hotel if that's not your thing, though you must enter through here (2 free passes per room per day, otherwise about $8 US) to get to the pool, restaurant, massage, cabaret/dance/drag club, or gym. The sauna attracts hundreds of men each afternoon and evening, generally a good mix of local Thais, plus visitors of all ages and types from all over Asia, Europe, USA, Australia and other places.

The "barracks" rooms have shared baths, which some might not like, but is fine for us. As other reviewers have stated, the breakfast is excellent and a great way to meet interesting guests from all over the world. Cabs are cheap and plentiful, and fascinating Lumpini Park and subway are both a short walk away.

Of course, there are a few drawbacks, as with any hotel. Barracks rooms are dark, very difficult to read at night, and there is no TV. Internet access and phone service grossly overpriced. Be sure to specifically request a room that's not next to the bathroom, or you will have constant shower noise 24/7. Also, request a room on the side away from the sauna and dance club, or you will hear dance music until closing. We are still waiting for a 10% refund that was due at checkout because we stayed 7 nights. And reservations, check-in and check-out do seem a bit overly complicated and confusing, though the staff is quite friendly and helpful overall.

Safety has never been a concern or issue for us at Babylon. We have always felt secure, though clearly sometimes there are people cruising the bathrooms or hallways late at night who don't appear to be guests. Just use caution and common sense about where you keep valuables (room or lobby safe) and who you invite home. and you should be fine.

There is really no gay destination like this in the world that I'm aware of. And the price for all this is extremely reasonable if you look around and compare how much decent hotels in Bangkok are charging these days.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank Merganser10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

This is a gay hotel, but upscale and fantastic, world class, I have never been to anything like it. Service and front desk, terrific. Breakfast, full and superb. Rooms, comfortable. Location, across from several embassies and near exc. restaurants. Near subway.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2008

I just finished 4 days staying at Babylon and I must say I was plesently suprised and would certainly go back.

First of all, re: security. I kept all valulables (as you would in any hotel), in the room safe and left my laptop with reception. There was no issue. The hotel clearly suggests doing this as a precausion. I followed these instructions.

The staff were exceedlying friendly and helpful. I could not have asked for more. Check-in was smooth and quick. I think it is important to remember that this is a B&B and not a slick 5 star internation hotel. The service levels are very good considering.

The rooms were clean (I stayed in both Large and small barrics). Although unless requested, they are only cleaned every other day. I tipped the cleaner daily and requested mine to be done daily. Again, this was done to a high standard.

The shared bathrooms were fine (open showers) with private toilets. Given the usage, it was very clean. The bathrooms at stages late in the evening (after sauna close) and in mornings became slightly cruzy for those looking for that.

The breakfast provided was very adequate, food such as Thai soup, eggs, toast, cakes, coffee, tea, and fruit. This was also a great way to meet other guests staying at the B&B. The reception is being moved downstairs which will give level 6 much needed space as a dinning room / eating area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Aussie_travel_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews