We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
142
116
52
33
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
116
52
33
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden suite gay hotel barracks room sauna facilities foam party spa area shared bathroom breakfast is served excellent breakfast standard room nice pool tuk tuk bulgari baht penthouse silom luxury
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Very BASIC room. Two single beds, a desk, 2 safes (one didn't work and the other had a keypad that didn't seem to like me, so I never used it). No fridge or water supplied like other hotels. The Aircon worked well.
Communal shower for the floor , which is opposite the laundry, (bit disturbing to come out of the shower and have a female cleaning up the area!)
The only lift of the hotel lift travels to the 6th floor, and you then have to carry your bags to the other floors, via steps.
For the price, better to find a place nearby that would be about half the price, even if you do get a free pass to the Spa.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank kevg_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The word "iconic" is overused these days, but surely it can safely apply to the world-famous Babylon sauna/B&B in Bangkok. Now in its 25th year, Babylon is undoubtedly the best-known gay venue in Asia and perhaps among the most famous in the world. But what is less known is that Babylon is as well-suited to relaxing getaways as erotic adventures. Its lush garden setting gives Babylon an oasis quality even as bustling Bangkok hums and roars around it. It's barracks and suites are uniquely appointed in the unmistakable Babylon-aesthetic style, as well as being comfortable and surprisingly quiet. Breakfast time rarely fails to produce interesting and unexpected connections with travelers from around the world, and the food and service are of a great standard. Overall, the staff are friendly and competent (most of them are not gay, but it is the kind of place where sexual orientation barely warrants mentioning). The sauna itself is huge and clean (by international standards), and includes multiple steam rooms, a spa pool, an outdoor bar, as well as abundance of private rooms and showers. There is also a pool, gym and a second bar/service area in the section of the venue that comes to life in daylight hours.

The restaurant on the first floor is something of a hidden gem, serving an eclectic fusion cuisine ideally suited to the international crowd that congregates at Babylon. The food is well-priced and surprising in both quality and variety.

The review that mentions a lack of security and an alleged incident involving a money-boy is utterly incompatible with my experiences there over several visits. It has all the hallmarks of fiction. Babylon is unfailingly safe and moneyboy-free. You will be well looked after.

Don't be put off by the seedy quality of its counterparts abroad. Babylon is a unique and uniquely welcoming place.

Room tip: Monthly and weekly rates available, and the website offers promotions from time to time.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My only complaint is that on my first visit,I go lost in the sauna etc areas. I had to ask where the particular areas were. I never new they had a swimming pool on my first visit. More signs should be displayed after you leave the changing rooms pointing you to the different places. After finding areas I had a good time. Did not stay in the hotel. My hotel was in walking distance and only 400bts a night with all facilities. Ray from New Zealand.

Date of stay: July 2011
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Rayko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

What an excellent service and level of facilities provided in the garden suites of this very popular asian Gay Sauna and B&B. The barrack rooms with shared toilets have a good level as well, but the garden suites are just over all the expactations at that price level!
10 000 Bahts total per week for two people in the garden suite including two breakfasts and two free sauna tickets daily.
This was our third visit in the same facility and the service is always in the very high level. Helpful and smiling staff, clean and high level facilities (no pests, no smells) and safe environment with the most beautiful gardens I´ve ever visited. (no wonder, because there are 40 gardeners working among the total 120 Babylon staff).
Babylon food is also worth a kind word, but in generally the food around Bangkok is good and moderately priced (sometimes almost free!)
When visiting the Babylon B&B, please ask Mr Sak a short tour in the facility and in the garden.
And do take into account that the hotel price is not including any sexual act with the staff. Please do respect those Thai people. Not all the people in Thailand are living for a prostitution, even if they give you their best smiles!!!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelsinkiJom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

As a first base to discover Thailand as a gay couple, we choose Babylon and do not regret it at all. We selected one of the Bulgari Garden suite, as we love gardens, and could enjoy the private entrance, the orchids patio/nursery, and the views on the large wonderful garden of the owner (unfortunately these gardens are private, as garden lovers we would have loved to walk there every day but the guard was very strict!).
The room was excellent, no noise, all comfort, air cond, wifi, nice original pieces of art, and the entrance spacious lobby catering for only 4 rooms-suites has always some biscuits or tea and coffee available.
Breakfast on the 6th floor of the main building was excellent, eggs the way you like, local soup if you want, and the regular bread, jam etc.
We used the local amenities every day after our 'tourist' visits in Bangkok, ie the sauna, large pool and sexy bar tenders, and the restaurant which offers a large choice of good food, wine, desserts, the menu changes regularly.
It is very easy to get a taxi from the entrance of Babylon, and for 40 or 60 THB ie less than two dollars, you can get to the main Skytrain station (and gay area) of Silom, from where it is very easy to go anywhere in Bangkok.
As owner of an exclusively gay guesthouse in the Caribbean (Villa Rainbow in St Martin), I can say that Babylon fulfills the gay traveller needs with high standards. If you want company, either guests or local guys, it is very easy to communicate with all, and if you want your privacy you will not be bothered. We were there in low season, so never had the feeling of too many people in the pool etc. We always had lounge chairs, and space. Staff is very attentive and helpful, either by the pool, by the rooms, at breakfast, or at front desk and lobby.
We recommend it with no hesitation.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews