We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn
Ranked #826 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed there on our last night and we were annoyed about the 500 baht obligatory cash key deposit because this was our remaining money we had intended to use for dinner before going to the airport the next morning.
Other than that, there's slow but free WiFi at the lobby, normal breakfast meal. The room is very basic, very small bathroom, and an old air-con that in our case barely made any difference. We also saw a cockroach. Other than that, place was ok and relatively quiet.
All in all, for the price we paid for it, it was just ok.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank nkomp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 121 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

The room was very clean, tidy and well presented when we arrived. The location was perfect for us as it is just off the main road where all the noise/backpackers are. The staff were very friendly and welcoming to us. We had a room on the first floor and could hear the music from nearby bars on a night time which was not a problem to us as we knew we were staying in Khaosan Rd area... Would certainly stay here again. The breakfast was good and an added bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMDukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SawasdeeHotels, Customer Service at Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2011

Dear AMDukes

Thank you for stay at our Hotel and take value time to wrote the GOOD review.
We are delighted that you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Customer Service
Sawasdee Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Room was little to noisy and not to nice but bed was ok for me. Staff was little hard to comunicate with them if you needed to ask about something. I think that this area known very well for backpacker is full of better places to stay but if you want to stay here think about that. Cheaper shop than minbar inside (7-eleven).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank art-sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I am emailing to let you know what a horrible experience that my boyfriend and I had. We stayed for two nights on March 2nd 2011. We specifically booked this hotel because it advertised air conditioning and Bangkok is very WARM and we had a long travel day to get there. When we checked in our room we immediately noticed that the A/C did not work. After three times of going downstairs to the front desk they kept telling us to wait for the A/C to work. Finally around midnight it worked. The following day it was completely broken and definitely DID NOT WORK. The lady at the front desk which was the "manager" Mrs. Chonticha Peanyoo (I believe this is the person I was dealing with). Whomever she was I was appalled at how RUDE, accusatory and down right mean she was to us. I have traveled a lot and have never encountered such horrible treatment from the "customer service" front desk. We were finally moved to another room after "waiting" an hour for our A/C to work. My main problem was NOT the lack of A/C it could have been handled with a good attitude and my view of the hotel would not be so bad. Aside from that I don't know how this hotel can boast that it is a "budget hotel" For what you get it is overpriced. Lastly - our T.V. didn't work not that big of a deal.

You would be better off walking two streets over towards the Grand Palace and paying $10 usd less and getting more. Also the street is much less crowded and less chaotic -overall better experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank juliecast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

This place is awful!! We arrived at 1am, we had to walk down a dark, cockroach infested alleyway to get to the hotel. The twin room was the size of a cupboard (the was not even anyway for our luggage to go on the floor it was that small!!) The beds were dirty as was the floor. It took us 45 minutes to try and sweep the floor and to get most of the debris out of the beds. We woke up 6 hours later with bites all over our ankles. The shower only had cold water. We were meant to stay another night but we asked to speak to the manager because of the dirty beds and cold water. She was rude and kept shouting at us saying that we can't work out how to turn on a shower and that we shouldn't expect luxury for what we paid!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank munchtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KhaosanArea, Area Director at Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Valued Customer ,
On behalf of Hotel Management , please kindly accept our sincere apology , and these have been improved immediately to be standard service,
We do hove to welcome you back for the next trip
Warmth regards,
Daranee Thipsathien
Area Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Four Sons Place
Four Sons Place
#634 of 890 in Bangkok
142 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#316 of 890 in Bangkok
245 reviews
Banglamphu
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
#659 of 890 in Bangkok
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Sawasdee House
Sawasdee House
#698 of 890 in Bangkok
346 reviews
Banglamphu
Thai Cozy House
Thai Cozy House
#742 of 890 in Bangkok
241 reviews
Banglamphu
Sri Krungthep Hotel
Sri Krungthep Hotel
#476 of 890 in Bangkok
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn

Address: 160/1 Khaosan Road | Banglumphu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #826 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: €12 - €20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn is only a 2 -minute walk from the famous Khaosan Road . It offers simple accommodation in a homely atmosphere with a buffet breakfast and 24 hours receptionist . Featuring simple décor . All rooms at Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn have a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, refrigerator , minibar , hair dryer. There is also air conditioning and a private bathroom with a hot shower. Sofine Bar &Restaurant open at 7 am-midnight . There’re serving varieties of Thai & international foods . Room service also available at the place . Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn is a 15 minutes walk to the Grand Palace and easy access to get public transportation to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Banglumpoo Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Sawasdee Banglumpoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing