We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything was fine - but very very noisy”
Review of D&D INN

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
D&D INN
Ranked #601 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“everything was fine - but very very noisy”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

me and my boyfriend stayed here when we first arrived to bangkok
not far from airport and right on khoa san road so everything u need was nearby - the hotel itself was basic and clean - the staff seemed fine they did warn us that the rooms with windows at the front of hotel can be noisy at night but we thought we would be fine - we were wrong the music got louder and louder as the night went on and it really was impossible to sleep in the end we ended up going out for a walk for a couple of hours at around 4am as it was so loud.
eventually the police done a patrol and all the bars promptly shut up shop and turned music off which was a relief.
on the plus side - the pool is amazing very chilled out - the food/drinks were good and reasonably priced .
we were due to stay for 3 nights but left a night early as we wanted to get to the beaches.
overall a good hotel but i would definitly opt for a room at the back of hotel if you want any chance of sleeping ,as i can usually sleep through quite alot but the noise was deafening and was impossible to sleep through.. breakfast was very nice one of the best buffets from all other places we stayed so worth having.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 688Michat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    527
    488
    183
    247
See reviews for
124
570
193
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

First off, like everywhere else in Thailand, the staff here are all looking to take your money somehow and do not care what they have to give up for it. The staff know when you leave the hotel, and they inform their friends of that, and arrange for "a sweep" of your room for any cash or valuables. My passport suspiciously went missing after i went to 711 to pick something up and i was away for 20 minutes. I had some money in there, which is what they were after, but when i approached the front desk about it, they suddenly did not speak English. My passport somehow appeared without the money at the front desk when i checked out.

Then, in the middle of the night, the street outside turns into a party. If you plan on sleeping at all, this is not the place for you- I guarantee that you will NOT be able to sleep at all. The rooms are disgusting compared to the other hotels in the same price range right down the street. The non-smoking room was filled with smoke, and when i asked to switch, she suddenly had no more rooms available unless i was willing to pay another 250 Baht a night.

I would suggest going to any other hotel away from the middle of Ko san road, or even elsewhere on Ram Buttri road, which is around the corner and that much better.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel all together. Go to a place that costs 50 Baht more a night and get a MUCH better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed in D&D many times when in Bangkok. It is reasonably prices, has a superb location on Khao San road, an amazing roof-top swimming pool, a decent restaurant and all the services you'd expect in a travellers' hotel, including luggage holding. Some people complain about the reception staff, but if you're nice to them they will be nice and helpful back, but if you put on airs, you will be treated accordingly.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, try and not get a room facing the Khao San road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slovenia-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed here with a friend in the summer of 2010 on our arrival in Bangkok after a 12 hour overnight bus ride from Chiang Mai. We stayed here for 3 nights prior to a 10 day tour of the 3 Eastern islands (Ko S,T&P).

Our stay here was just what we needed. My friend was sadly kept awake for much of the night as the party goers (just beneath our window) partied hard until dawn. Fortunately the staff enabled us to switch to a different room away from the front for the latter 2 nights. The self service breakfast was great and enabled us to fill up cheaply ahead of a hectic city trek which is exhausting. The roof-top pool helps to unwind and enable you to feel that you are million miles away from the hustle and bustle you experienced but also keep yourself well and truly away from home!

Of course the location is brilliant for a traveller - definitely a more upmarket hostel (if you can call it that). Dirt cheap for a hotel, cheap-ish for a hostel but a million miles away from the caged rooms you can find within Bangkok.

I/we would strongly recommend anyone stays here if travelling, particularly if it's your first time as a traveller or you are used to slightly more upmarket rooms.

Saying all this...perhaps I felt that extra bit of comfort after our 5 day trek in Chiang Mai!

Room Tip: Ask for a room a the back of the complex AWAY from the main street. If this is not possible, perhap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillMS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bc Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

had this hotel booked for our first night in Bangkok because we were landing at midnight (turned out later though) and wanted a place to go. it turned out great. we ended up staying another 2 more nights. Breakfast included. nice big rooms, clean and we were on back side so wasnt loud. I believe we had deluxe room. great place to start our holiday but do watch out for the tuk tuk drivers. They will try and scam you into 10baht each. Nobody does nothing for 10baht!! Do not let them take you to a travel joint to book your hotels. Its all in the lonely planet, and it is all true! everything is right there on Kho sanroad. doesnt shut down and D&D is right there in the middle.

Room Tip: deluxe pay a bit more for it. heard the others are tiny and no windows on busy side so loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy. P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#359 of 871 in Bangkok
1,300 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#381 of 871 in Bangkok
1,042 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#172 of 871 in Bangkok
1,297 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#354 of 871 in Bangkok
447 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm in The Park
Dang Derm in The Park
#603 of 871 in Bangkok
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D&D INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D&D INN

Property: D&D INN
Address: 68-70 Khaosan Road, Phranakorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#151 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — D&D INN 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your D&D INN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d And d Inn
d&d Hotel Bangkok
d Hotel Bangkok
d d Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing