We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
6
19
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6
19
9
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I'm not too picky, just need a place to sleep and taking a bath, so this place is perfect, because with less than 500b/nite you get a quite big room, shower ,fan room in siam area, just 1 minute walk to 7/11, 2 min to BTS ,3 min to MBK/BACC, and 5-10 min to siam square/siam paragon.

eventhough the hotel is old, very basic, but overall is clean, the owner lady is nice, and if you have a thing for old motorcycle, on the garage you will find classic motors such as ariel, norton, etc.
don't forget to eat at the restaurant , very cheap and tasty meals !

Room tip: lower floor, because no elevator !
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank denimBandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2012

As I get older, it's getting harder to stay at the Pranee Building. It's old. I stayed in 2005, and returned five years later, and not a single thing had changed, including, I imagine, the sheets. No updating. No maintenance. It's a worn down, slightly better than a backpacker-style place with good (though loud) air conditioning (but not in every room) for prices that are hard to beat for a major city like Bangkok. I love the location, across from MBK and right down from the end of the Silom line of the Sky Train (National University Station, I believe). But, the beds are old and not of great quality, the furtniture looks like it was dragged off the street by people who left it, and it generally has a dusty feel to it.

Don't get me wrong: I love Pranee, but it doesn't have the level of comfort that I'm starting to require as I get older. During my last trip to Thailand, I stayed at the Pranee three times. I also stayed elsewhere and paid more for better accommodation. That said, these folks are reliable. When they take down a reservation, they honor it. I've never had a problem with them, and they've always come through. I would simply like a better bed. And maybe even some blankets.

The restaurant attached to the Pranee is also servicable. It's not going to wow anyone, but it gets the job done and is always a base-hit.

I prefer places like the Pranee and Siam Square to any of the types of places up in the Khao San area. I could also like Sukhumvit, though I've never stayed there. For what it is, it's unbeatable. Most of the folks reading this, however, will likely have outgrown this style of accommodation long before arriving.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SalsaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2012

It's very suitable for backpackers because the room has only a bed with no TV and fridge but When you check in you will see like a original small hotel in Bangkok (very antique thai style and little scary) but for backpackers very perfect!!

Room price
Room with fan 350 baht
Room with air 400 baht

For 2-3 persons , and it also free internet on downstairs
Room style like Thai houses bedroom around 1990s to 2000s
Room type : Small studio!
Enjoy!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryanharmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The location is really the main draw to this hotel. The accommodations themselves are very basic, Thai-style - 500 baht per night. If you don't plan to spend lots of time in your room then this is perfect. If you're expecting luxury and amenities, then this probably isn't the place for you. The rooms were clean, neat, and had hot water showers and AC. One oddity - the bed sheets were more like terricloth towels. I wasn't sure whether to use it for the bath or to sleep on it. There isn't an elevator so keep this in mind if you have a lot of luggage. There are a couple computers on the ground floor with internet for a small fee, but no wi-fi in the building, though you may be able to pick it up from the surrounding area. On the ground floor there's also a decent little restaurant with Thai meals from 30-70 baht. There are two entrances - one on the main street where the restaurant is. And right next to the 7-11 convenience store - great for snacks, bottled water, or incidentals. The other entrance is on a side street and you have to use this one after the restaurant is closed - again something to keep in mind if you come in late. Don't panic if the main entrance is locked! Just go around to the one on the side street.

The hotel is directly across the street from the National Stadium BTS station, so tremendous convenience for getting around that way. Also extremely convenient from coming directly from the airport to the hotel on the BTS - again if you don't have massive amounts of luggage, which we didn't. It's right in the middle of great shopping with MBK, Discovery, Siam Paragon, the Bangkok Arts & Culture Center, etc. It's a real gem for location and I'll stay there for future visits for sure.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kayjay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 June 2011

best and very economic, food stall down stair , close to MBK

can you confirm a booking again now for
check in 13 June 2011 Mon
check out 15 June 2011 Wed
Mitch Johns
send confirmation to robinp67@hotmail.com

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews