We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but impersonal service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Siam Guest House II
Ranked #33 of 753 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We paid 790 baht per night for a double air-con room. We didnt really need the aircon though. The room was lovely - very clean and comfortable with lots of space and even a dressing table and big mirror! The bathroom was very basic and in need of a revamp but it was adequate.
It is a very busy hotel so the staff at reception are rushed off their feet. They are very efficient but it is quite impersonal and you are just a number to them.
We only had breakfast in the restaurant but it was cheap and the eggs were good! The staff were quite miserable though and not very helpful.
I cant believe that they dont do free wifi in this big chain of hotels. It is cheap though - 10 baht for 10 hours or 45 baht for 3 days (24hrs a day).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 346 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

Been to Bangkok 3 times in last couple of years and we have always stayed in this hotel (twice also with kids). Capacity has been extended with new building, but we stayed in the old part, so I cannot judge on the new rooms. Old ones are basic but they still serve the purpose. Restaurant serves good food for fair prices. Wifi is available at a symbolic cost of 20 THB for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozmanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here 3 times. Great location near Khaosan but 5 minutes away from craziness and right across the road from river and pier (no views). Rooms are clean and well maintained. Staff are busy but mostly very friendly and efficient. Restaurant serves good breakfast (loved the oats) at reasonable price, though so much food in the area not worth it for lunch and dinner. Pool donwstairs is not great but good for an end of the day dip or a bit of midday sun (very public though). Booking compnay is overpriced, cheaper next door or around the corner. Phra Athit road has quality restaurants for a little bit more than typical Khaosan/Rambuttri guest house menus.

Room Tip: You can save 80 baht and get a room in the "older" wing that is pretty much as nice as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Hawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

From JAN to MAY 2006, I stayed for a few months in Bangkok. I decided to check out for the first time the Khao San Road sceen. After checking about 30-40 different guest houses in the area, there is no doubt im my mind that the best one for me was New Siam 2 - The true home away from home !!! Its the best value for money : great sized rooms with good ammneties, including a digital safe, great color TV, 24 hours reception with cctv, electronic key card and a very safe & secure feeling in a nice and quite part of the neighberhood - just between the noisy Khao San Road and minutes away from the river and the pier !!! A nice small pool, a very good restaurant with a good western & thai menu, a very well operated and reliable Taxi service (24\7), no "local women guests" allowed, and above all : a great atmosphere from all the staff - specialy in the restaurant - and at the reception under the profesional guidence of Ms. Gem - all this together - you get the ultimate safe and comfortable Home away from Home !!! I cant wait for the next time ! ! !
since 2006 I've been back 4 times for weeks at a time, and every time its like returning back home.

Room Tip: Lower floors ( 2 + 3 ) have better water pressure, Great location for quite rooms just minutes from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We booked this hotel based on my son and his friends experience.It was not near the sky train so we ended up taking cabs back in the evening. It was in a good location for our day trips to the Grand Palace and some of the Wats. We stayed 3 days over the course of 2 visits.Check in was really easy. The second time, they had already opened the newer wing but we stayed in the older room for the lower rate. They allowed us to leave luggage for a small fee between visits. We also booked our taxi to the airport with them on two occasions and the drivers were really good. The computers had problems during the time we were there and no one on staff would help fix them. The restaurant staff on the other hand was always available. The hotel gave us a twenty minute foot massage as part of their promotion. Great massage! The reception tried to be helpful. The rooms in the old wing really need to be refurbished, or at least the ones we had. There was a sign to keep the windows locked to avoid theft.

Room Tip: I would go for the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#371 of 894 in Bangkok
459 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#262 of 894 in Bangkok
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House I
New Siam Guest House I
#153 of 753 in Bangkok
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Siam Guest House II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Siam Guest House II

Address: 50 Trok Rong Mai, Phra-A-Thit Road | Chanasongkram, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 753 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: €23 - €38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Siam Guest House II 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Siam 2 is an affordable, charming guesthouse with a swimming pool, and a restaurant. Every room comes with: refrigerator, satellite tv, and safety box. Located in the heart of old Bangkok, New Siam 2 is only minutes walk away from Khaosan road, the grand palace, and a number of beautiful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your New Siam Guest House II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Siam Guest House Ii Hotel Bangkok
New Siam Hotel Ii
New Siam Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing