We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam(Bangkok)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$236
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$219
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$143
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$205
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$286
US$231
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
187
128
38
10
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
128
38
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswat arunacross the riverrooftop bargrand palaceno elevatorboutique hotelriverside diningindustrial styleflower marketreclining buddhariver viewpraya riverferry stopsuper closeshort walking distancefourth floorsmall alley
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017

3 temples are all within walking distance. Plus the museum. Great not to need transport in Bangkok ! Hotel was clean, staff helpful and courteous. Breakfast was good. Roof top bar seating was not as good as it should be for the location, but views were wonderful. Cost at £122 per night high for Bangkok but all things considered fair value.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank richard_hyde534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALAGuestServicesMgr, Manager at sala rattanakosin Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Richard, thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay at sala rattanakosin. Our location is perfect for those wishing to explore the old city and the numerous tourist sites that are just outside the door. We are really pleased you had such a memorably enjoyable stay and we hope you’ll return upon your next visit to Bangkok. Our kind regards the sala management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Perfect location and that special off the beaten track feeling. Staff was super friendly and the food was to die for. I recommend to book the river view rooms as they offer the best feeling of the place.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sunsurfer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALAGuestServicesMgr, Manager at sala rattanakosin Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Signature sunsurfer75, thank you so much for your short but incredibly sweet review of your recent stray with us at sala rattanakosin. It is great when we receive such praise about our wonderful sala team and our fine cuisine served at our eatery & bar. Thank you so very much, the sala management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 night. The hotel is located near the tourist attraction (e.g. Wat pho, Wat arun, Grand Palace, etc.). Very helpful receptionist by providing some advise for us, especially thanks to the FOM.
The hotel has a nice view rooftop bar with an excellent cocktail.
Breakfast is normal with the limited of selection for the menu. As we came at around 8-8.30a.m., F&B staff just focused on the service for a table of a couple Westerner. When we finished our juice, there was noone to come and offer refilling; however, when the Westerner finished the staff just came and offered automatically. The same with the coffee, I had to look around and asked for one more coffee even though I finished it 15 minutes ago. I will have another review for the restaurant about Dinner experience.
The hotel provided very healthy turn down service with a special drink. Thanks House keeping staff for making up our room tidy.
Overall, it was a pleasure stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALAGuestServicesMgr, Manager at sala rattanakosin Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Edward, thank you for choosing to spend your time in Bangkok with us at sala rattanakosin Bangkok. We are so pleased you had such an enjoyable time and it’s especially pleasing to hear that you receiving such good service from our front office and housekeeping teams. It is regrettable however and we have taken your points up with our restaurant team about your less than satisfactory service which is hugely disappointing. We are glad that this did not detract from your enjoyable and pleasurable stay and we truly hope you’ll return in the future. Our sincerest regards the sala management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

It was a short but was fun BKK trip!

It is our 1st time in BKK and found out of the hotel via reviews.

It is far from the city but near the wats... the best part of it all are the staff of the hotel. They are very helpful since day 1! Helped us how to get here and there, gave us tip on how much should the cab charge us... they are very attentive to your needs and the breakfast was good. The very best of the trip was when the hotel staff surprised me with a birthday cake! Is was not a cupcake but a cake! I was so overwhelmed and was so happy! The effort to do that was amazing! I didnt expect anything from them but they went out of the way for the surprise! So thank you everyone for the amazing and best surprise!

Kudos to the team who really did their best everyday!

We will definitely go back!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank buchoy925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALAGuestServicesMgr, Manager at sala rattanakosin Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Signature buchoy925, we could not be more pleased that you had such a magical time at sala rattanakosin and it was all down to our wonderful sala team. We are so chuffed that you were surprised with your birthday cake and were so impressed with our sala service. We shall look forward very much to welcoming you back, please do contact us directly so we may ensure your reservation is given the importance it deserves. Our kindest regards the sala management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

A few things of note: we visited during a time when Thailand was mourning the loss of their king, which is a difficult time for the Thai people and has various impacts on sights in the immediate area of the hotel--road closures, the closure of the Grand Palace, etc. Our hotel prices may have been inflated because of the influx of people coming to visit for this reason.

If you are visiting the city strictly to visit the Grand Palace, Wat Pho, or Wat Arun the location of this hotel will be perfect for you.

The staff and views are nice but the rooms are rather basic. There is no elevator either.

That's fine for us as we stayed in everything from five star hotels to $12/night hostels on our trip, but for the money we paid (~ $120/night) we found that you can get a lot more bang for your buck in one of the many other hotels in Bangkok.

I will say the breakfast was quite good and the views were lovely. If you're looking for plush accommodations in Bangkok, you can explore some other places that will offer you more. If this location suits you--I'd say you would be happy here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALAGuestServicesMgr, Manager at sala rattanakosin Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Sara, thanks for your candid review of your stay at sala rattanakosin and we are pleased that you found our location so convenient for the old city and the numerous attractions which are within easy walking distance. Unfortunately being we are classed as a listed building with a bit history in Bangkok we are restricted to a staircase and aren’t permitted to install a lift (elevator) I am afraid which aids to the character of your stay but is not welcoming to anyone who would find stairs a problem. Our breakfast is always much talked about and our executive chef appreciates the importance of a great breakfast to start your day and adventure in old Bangkok. Thank you again and we wish you all the best, the sala management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews