We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,044)
Filter reviews
2,044 results
Traveller rating
1,416
528
73
21
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,416
528
73
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river grand palace khao san road a river view room ferry stop pool area lovely hotel wat pho our honeymoon beautiful pool chao phraya perfect location walking distance bars and restaurants small hotel easy access long flight
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 2,044 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The Riva Surya is my new favorite hotel in Bangkok. The waterfront setting is scenic with a welcome river breeze in summer. The staff is amazing and the room was very nice. Great Thai massage. Minor nitpick that the A/C blew very cold directly on the bed, so I slept with my head under the covers.

The location is right next to Khao San Rd which comes alive at night - we could hear music from the front of the hotel and were glad we had a riverside room. It's nicely located for sight seeing - a 15-20-min walk to the Grand Palace.

Room Tip: River view is worth the cost for quiet and scenery
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheryltu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

My husband, 7-year old boy and I stayed on the river side in this lovely, quiet (w the exception of my child), upscale boutique hotel in early March and loved it! Barely any other children around during our stay, but my son really enjoyed it. Great location, nice, clean room & bathroom. Greeted w smiles, sawadikas, cold tea and cold cloth. Staff were very welcoming, warm, kind and helpful. What we didn’t realize upon booking 5 months prior was the double river view bed room did not have a balcony, but the hotel accommodated us and gave us a river-facing room w balcony the second night of our 2-night stay (none available the first night). The room descriptions should specify this while booking to avoid this minor mishap. Beds are king size and linens crisp, comfortable and clean. Room size was on the smaller side, but has everything you need - who needs a massive room when you barely spend time in it. Noise was not an issue at all. River view was fantastic; watching the boat traffic on the Chao Phraya River was interesting and entertaining, especially at night when the river cruises passed by. Check out was seamless.

Restaurant and drinks are typical prices you’d pay in North America, but food and drinks were excellent. Pool was so refreshing and lovely both day and night, and wait staff will bring you cocktails to the pool. Pool closes at 8 or 9pm, but we stayed longer and nobody objected. Breakfast buffet was wonderful w made-to-order eggs/omelettes, fresh fruit and vegis, cheeses, meats, breads, yogurts, cereals, fresh juices (guava was the best!), etc. Great selection of Thai and western cuisine.

Location - perfect! Few minute walk to water taxi (Wat Arun just a few stops away and very economical prices), quick tuktuk ride to Khao San Road (can also walk) and other attractions including the Grand Palace, and many restaurants nearby. Day trips through hotel are quite pricey. I’d recommend hiring your own taxi to take you to Damnoen Saduk Floating Market (request the public pier) or other attractions further away. Wish we stayed longer! Would highly recommend. Don’t hesitate to book!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with the recommendation of my family who still live in Bangkok. It’s is very close to the Grand Palace and Kaosan Road. The rooms are very clean and staff are friendly. The river view rooms are nice to have if that’s what you prefer. We didn’t mind having one since we did not spend a lot of time at the hotel. Our friends did get a room with a view. There’s plenty of places to walk to just crossing the street and a block down, there is an area for street shopping, food and entertainment.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel was recommended by our tour operator and we found it to be very good. It is in a great location beside the Chao Phraya river so very handy for the tourist boat. We upgraded on arrival to a river view and well worth it if the budget allows. At the back of the hotel overlooking the river is the restaurant, pool and sitting area. We felt to self conscious to use the pool in such a confined area. The breakfast was good with plenty of options. We often ate out in the evening as across the road in the maze of streets full of backpacker hotels, bars and places to eat. We would often return to the hotel for a late cocktail, peace and quite but found the staff had switched of by then.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank 19Edward19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here four nights. Wonderful hotel staff, clean, very comfortable rooms. Especially the beds, very comfy. Ate breakfast most mornings at the buffet, and had happy hour & appetizers one night. Would highly recommend, and agree river view side is better.

There are some easy, fun places within walking distances for meals, shopping, and it's not that far from some of the more popular wats. There is a river taxi stop very close to the hotel.

Staff are helpful and friendly, and definitely get one of the massages!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Adventure634081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews