We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Refuge on the River in Bangkok”
Review of Riva Surya Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riva Surya Bangkok
Ranked #30 of 893 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Ahhh....the Riva Surya. After decades of staying in low budget guesthouses in the Banglamphu area, what a treat it is to now stay at the Riva Surya when I'm in Bangkok. Right on the river with views from most rooms, and a dining area and pool along the river as well. Lovely complimentary breakfast each morning, and food and drinks available all day at the pool. The rooms are modern, expertly air conditioned, and have a bathroom cooler than most guests. Walk into the Riva Surya, breathe a sigh of relief, then go hit the street food vendors and stalls....any time of day. Finally, as lovely as the hotel is, the staff even outshines the property. Over email they are professional, on the phone efficient, and in person beyond delightful. On one visit of ours to the hotel, they somehow found out it was my birthday and the entire staff serenaded me. They remember their guests, make your stay pleasant, and are a true part of the joy of staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TheMightyQuint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 558 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2015

Riva Surya aims to please and the staff make you feel welcome and special. Wit checked us in and was very friendly and we were greeted with a cold tea when we arrived. We arrived early, around 9am but only had to wait 30 mins before we were shown to our room. Our room was beautiful, spotless and clean and had great views over the river. Outside the hotel the river taxi can be picked up and will take you to the grand palace for 14baht and takes 5 mins. Breakfast was good, fresh fruit, cereals, thai food and english cooked breakfast, eggs " all ways " were available to order too.
During our stay we grabbed some lunch at the hotel, food was tasty.
Overall a great hotel, away from the hustle and bustle but within easy reach of the cities main attraction, staff were extremely friendly and really do go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gilbo3839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Riva Surya on two different occasions along our vacation, and both times were just wonderful.
At the first time, we stayed in the 'urban' room, which is regarded to be more basic and hence cheaper, and it was super great.
The second time they only had availability for a more exclusive room, facing the river. This room as well was wonderfully looking, but unfortunately there was sunlight coming through on the curtains. Since we came quite late at night to the hotel, the sun woke us up too early, on the day of our flight. We approached the staff with our problem very early in the morning, and they have dealt with our situation perfectly, allowing us to move to a different room immediately, plus a very late checkout (23:00), just when we had to leave to the airport.
Beyond all that, at Riva Surya hotel we found the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on, divine shower, super kind, professional and helpful staff, plus the location is just perfect.
We highly recommend it!

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank Barkartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Great little hotel, credit to the management for employing people who love their job and people!

From the young man working his bum off looking after people out front, cabs, parking, directions, bags and always with a smile... Well done young man!

Everyone from the front desk team to the cleaners they are all making a difference for the quests.

We moved to a river view room and it was a good move, sitting on the balcony watching the ever changing activity on the river was a real joy.

This hotel is in the a great area of Bangkok and delivers at a standard many larger hotels struggle to get close too...

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

The hotel is small but quite. And all staffs are very kind so they made me happy. The location is a little bit inconvenient. I'd recommend this hotel to people who want to stay in an atmosphere of calm and restfulness.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank soojungk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 893 in Bangkok
752 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#143 of 893 in Bangkok
1,723 reviews
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#72 of 893 in Bangkok
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Surya Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Surya Bangkok

Address: 23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 893 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: €101 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Surya Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Chao Pharya River in the heart of Bangkok, Riva Surya is surrounded by some of the city’s most treasured historical sites. A Sixty eight-room boutique hotel, Riva Surya adds a touch of style and charm to this bustling locale. Surrounded by cultural treasures and within walking distance of the lively entertainment district of Khoa San Road, Riva Surya gives you direct access to many popular sites and connects you to the city center via a distinctive mode of transportation, the river boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riva Surya Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing