We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't believe their website”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New World City Hotel
Ranked #493 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“don't believe their website”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

while this an ideal budget hotel. don't believe their website which makes out they have fitness centre with a pool and that it is free.
the fitness centre is free but the pool cint $10 to use. false advertising.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davesch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    130
    82
    38
    28
See reviews for
25
86
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Found hotel on Booking.com at about £45 per night including breakfast.
I was not expecting too much considering the last hotel we stayed in in Bangkok but was very please to find it was new, clean, had spacious room and great shower
Breakfast a bit strange but apart from that it is an excellent hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyB1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
141 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

There are two hotels that are attached to each other...you literally walk into the other lobby without crossing a street or anything. They have the same owner. New World City is much older. Nouvo City seems brand new & modern. It is considerably more. I paid $33.00 a night at New World City. Very simple but that included breakfast! The facilities in the adjacent property (which you can use for a pittance) are lovely. Beautiful swimming pool and fitness room. The spa is superb. Ask for Muk. She is fantastic. I went there evry day for a THAI massage.

Both hotels are Muslim owned and thus you cannot purchase liquor in the hotels. There is a 7-11 store outside their door where you can purchase alcohol for your room.

Tour desk in lobby of New World City is very good at telling you where to go and what to see. I have seen hundreds of shows around the world so was reluctant when they suggested a show to me. It was the best show I have seen in my life: Siam Niramit. The stage turns into water and then suddenly is dry. Elephants walk on stage. People fly through the air. the scenery and props and music and effects are breathtaking. It is a must-see. They pick you up at the hotel. $50.00 included a visit to a Thai village (at site of show), feeding elephants, dinner and show.

Don't go to Thailand during their New Years in April. Many things are closed and it is their Water Festival. You will be doused with buckets of water at every opportunity. Take a taxi if you come at that time. In fact tuk-tuks are aggressive in Thailand and I would highly recommend taxis. Always take a hotel business card with you that has a map on it to show to driver who will not speak any English.

DO go to MBK shopping centre. ENORMOUS and fabulous.

Room Tip: Don't get the lowest category whatever it is. Get next one up. One is deluxe and one is superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bseagram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

I was here with family. We booked 2 rooms. Rooms were ok, quite old but still acceptable and clean. No bed bug. But the toilet was slightly run down. We request to have room with nice view but only one that face the canal. The other one facing the new hotel wall. Very near to khao san road. Walking distance about 5 -10 min. About less then 3 min walking from the hotel you can find 7 eleven and a small massage place. Very near. I went for massage every night. The breakfast was ok. Better than nothing. The hotel has halal restaurant. We tried phad thai - its ok but not our taste as its sweet. Oh! I think thai like their food to be sweet.
The receptionist, tour manager and all the staff are very helpful and friendly. Some of them cant speak good english, and some of them can speak Malay.
This is my 3rd time to bangkok, and my first time in this hotel. Nothing special except they serve halal food and good location.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sue-jesro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Hotel was fine for 2 nights was here on my own. didnt use any of the facilities but pictures online are of the fancier hotel next door. Bathroom was a little grotty with mould, Check in was fine, staff were fine. Was ok for price I paid. Location was great, bout 5-10 mins from khao san road. Little noisy at night but mostly traffic and what you would expect from Bangkok. Meets flashpacker status but not tourist status,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#177 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#294 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Banglamphu
Thai Cozy House
Thai Cozy House
#712 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#135 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#344 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#150 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World City Hotel

Property: New World City Hotel
Address: 2 Samsen Soi 2, Samsen Rd | Banglumphu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #493 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New World City Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok close to Khaosan Road on Rattanakosin Island old city and historical part of Bangkok. It's also easily accessible to the Royal Grand Palace, The Emerald Buddha Temple (Wat Phra Keaw),Wat Pho (Temple of the Reclining Buddha), the Golden Mountain and National Museum. Just a 10 minute walk to Banglumphu Market and Khaosan Road, the place for the best in nightlife, shopping, and dining in the area.For 20 years, the New World City Hotel has been proudly serving and accommodating guests from around the world and has built a reputation for being one of the friendliest hotels in the city.The hotel provide its guest with modern, bright, well-appointed guest rooms with inter-connecting rooms also available. All guest rooms have windows and balconies, private bathrooms, hot & cold showers, IDD telephones, satellite televisions, in-room safes, minibars and refrigerators, along with 24-hour Halal room service food.Sara Restaurant services Thai, European, and Indian Cuisine with a wide A La Carte menu and 24-hour room service. Guests are welcomed by friendly and courteous staff that are always ready to greet you with a smile and Sawadee, Thai custom for a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your New World City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New World City Bangkok
Hotel New World City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing