We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
16 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$125
View deal
Priceline
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Trip.com
US$121
View deal
TravelocityUS$125
travelup.comUS$138
Agoda.comUS$125
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12,178)
Filter reviews
12,178 results
Traveller rating
9,340
2,018
493
198
129
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9,340
2,018
493
198
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviews krungthep wing horizon club the river chi spa shang palace health club the main hotel balcony room lobby lounge breakfast buffet wonderful hotel bts station tuk tuk aoi oui train chao
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
781 - 786 of 12,178 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2019 via mobile

Went here for an international buffet at 20:00 one evening. The place was absolutely dead. Food was relatively decent and plenty of it but these restaurants need people to keep the food fresh and lively. Shame. Nice location though.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLBK_Shangrilabkk, Manager at Shangri-La Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2019

Dear Christine A,

Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay at NEXT2 Cafe.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment caused, this is not the experience we wanted our valued guests to have while visiting our hotel. We highlight your feedback as our first priority in order to improve our service and product to ensure every guest will be leaving our hotel with lasting memories.

Thank you once again for your honest review and I do wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kyle Pretorius
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2019

Stayed here 3 nights with my two kids (9&11) and another friend with his kid 10 in July. The hotel is old and designed accordingly. 'Lived in' but well maintained. The have several types of rooms which confused me. They offered to upgrade me to a slightly bigger room for US$33/night but with a partial view of the river. It turned out to be a very good decision as we really needed the extra space (a small sitting area which can accommodate a roll-in bed). Check in was smooth and efficient.

The room itself was medium sized with a reasonable size bathroom. The room condition however needed work - curtains were torn, upholstery faded and some of the lights in the room dint come on through the duration of our stay (we did point it out to the housekeeping folks). Overall housekeeping was good though.

Breakfast was a large spread with minimum vegetarian options. They had a whole Indian food section that served dinner / lunch type food for breakfast (black dal chana masal and naan) which was strange. The kids had a blast because of the pan cakes waffles and ice cream on offer. The service at breakfast was borderline poor.

The pool was good and service efficient. The books available to read there however were Norwegian for some reason.

The concierge was also not that great for recommending tours etc. They kept pushing for a seat in coach / private tour which was expensive but more importantly consuming a better part of the day. We spoke with someone at the front office who suggested we take a local cab to the two main attractions (palace and sleeping buddha) and a boat ride to the other temple and tour of the canal - this was probably the best advise we could get.

Dinner was okay. Nothing to write home about. Again limited vegetarian options. The thai food selection was limited but good.

Walking distance from the hotel are a number of foot massage places that are good and a fraction of the hotel spa's price. Also a number of local eating options - its suppose to be in the midst of the local street food area. Very little vegetarian options and language is a challenge. The other good thing about this hotel location is that its away from the sleaze and in your face Bars.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Amits
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLBK_Shangrilabkk, Manager at Shangri-La Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2019

Dear Amits,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok as your preferred hotel. We appreciated you’re taking the time to write this beautiful and fantastic review.

We are thrilled to read your detailed review which includes all aspects from the stay of yours very well. Your suggestion for the housekeeping and frond office services are well receive with much appreciation as well as your feedback from our NEXT2 Cafe, where we provide daily breakfast. You can assure that we are highlight every guest feedback and it has been shared to the management for further actions and another positive ways to improve our service.

Again, thank you very much for sharing this wonderful review and we are pleased to hear of your plans to return and we would be honored to welcome you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Kyle Pretorius
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2019

I have been having such an amazing stay in the Shangri-La. I feel like I’m at home! The staff are extremely friendly and always give their best effort to full fill your every wish. A special thanks to our waitress Ammy, Tim at breakfast for her excellent service.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Stella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLBK_Shangrilabkk, Manager at Shangri-La Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2019

Dear Stella O,

Thank you for your recent review and allow me to welcome you to the historical area of Bangkok.

The team and myself are extremely pleased to learn that you stay was a success and are looking forward to welcoming you back and make your potential future stay even more uncompromising at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok. Ammy will be surely informed by her excellent service towards our valued guests.

Sincerely,

Kyle Pretorius
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2019

We spent three nights here as the start of our trip to Thailand and it was fantastic. The hotel is in a great location with direct access to the river and sky train.

The hotel is beautifully kept and the views are fantastic. We stayed in the Horizon rooms on the top floor and the breakfast and evening drinks and snacks were lovely.

Highly recommend as it is a wonderful hotel in a fantastic city.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank nicolakelly444
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLBK_Shangrilabkk, Manager at Shangri-La Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2019

Dear nicolakelly444,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok upon your visit to Bangkok.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding to your extra bed that was slightly not on time upon your arrival. We are also pleased to learn that you had an exceptional experience with our Horizon Club Lounge as well as a breakfast selection provided for our guests at the lounge.

We await to serve you properly on your next pleasant stay with us.

Sincerely,

Kyle Pretorius
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2019 via mobile

thank you so much for having us tonight, the staff were so kind specially yuwannee nitnish nate(bamtender) Bam Ham everyone ❤️❤️❤️ because they gave us more salad free charge ❤️. I love this restaurant so much .

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank lindah588
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLBK_Shangrilabkk, Manager at Shangri-La Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2019

Dear lindah588,

Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts about the stay of yours with us at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok.

Please allow me to share your compliments to related department for their greatest support and service to our guests. We are delighted to learn that our excellent team at NEXT2 Cafe had impressed and enhanced your dining experience even more special.

Thank you once again for sharing your compliment with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Kyle Pretorius
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews