We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$366
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
The Peninsula
US$312
View deal
Agoda.com
US$201
View deal
PricelineUS$333
Hotels.comUS$366
HurbUS$373
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,614)
Filter reviews
5,614 results
Traveller rating
4,508
790
196
62
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,508
790
196
62
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the river thai restaurant fax machine boat service grand deluxe room chao phraya river view of the river shuttle boat breakfast buffet mandarin oriental four seasons high floor pool area is amazing hotel grand palace thiptara spa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,952 - 1,957 of 5,614 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Each time we come to Bangkok, we have stayed here and the service has always been consistently world class. Staff, from reception to housekeeping and security, are always friendly and courteous.

Yes, the hotel might be a little dated, but it is still well-appointed. Rooms are large (we had a suite again) and the beds are comfortable. We also appreciated the fruits and the daily afternoon snacks provided by the culinary team.

Breakfast options can be repetitive though, especially if you are staying for a week or so. The Thai restaurant is also closed for renovations. It was too hot (38 deg C) to lounge by the poolside, and the pool is also on the small side. Do check out some of the fun activities that the hotel can help to arrange, such as visiting a local market for produce before a cooking class, as well as painting elephant figurines for charity.

It might be located a little out of the way, but there is easy access to the rest of Bangkok via the Saphan Taksin BTS station just a short hotel shuttle ride away. If the bridge is crowded with traffic, it may be better to hop on the shuttle boat and then board a taxi at the Shangri La hotel a short walk away.

Over the river, there are several massage choices for every budget, and do also check out the eateries at Robinsons/Centrepoint. In the evenings, there is a small night market - it's nice to walk through and the fruits are cheap here, but you can get better shopping elsewhere. Asiatique, with a wide range of shopping and eating options, is also accessible from the Saphan Taksin piers, though do note that the place comes alive only from 6 pm to midnight.

Wifi was free, and strong throughout our stay.

Room tip: Ask for a room facing the river
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Orator11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peninsula_BK, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Dear Orator11,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you having taken the time posting such a thorough review.

We are happy to report that the works at our Thai Restaurant have been completed by now and apologize if this necessary refurbishment has caused any inconveniences.

The point mentioned in regards to breakfast is well noted and we will explore ways on how more variety can be incorporated in our food spread. On the other side, we are thrilled to learn that you were able to take advantage of some of our Peninsula Academy programmes, such as the market tours, that we believe are an excellent way to discover what Bangkok has to offer in a fun and different way.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Rolf Buehlmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015

I have been several times to this property now, always together with my daughter (who is now 11 years old). We both enjoy it very much! Last time I was there was in April 2015, so this review comes late... I cannot recommend the Pen in Bangkok enough, it is a beautiful and peaceful place. We always feel welcome and right at home as soon as we arrive there. Treat yourself and book their airport transfer, you won't regret it. The rooms are of a very good size, the views are terrific and the bathroom - just perfect. Yes, the rooms are a little bit dated but still in a good shape and very charming. You instantly feel at home.

The location across the river is top notch (views!), the extra 5 minutes boat ride from the skytrain station to the hotel with their own lovely boats is relaxing and gives you that special peace when coming back from an extensive sightseeing or shopping trip in Bangkok's heat...

Last but not least, the staff is what makes the Peninsula in Bangkok our favourite city hotel in Asia. They are so kind, helpful, professional and make everything possible for you.

There is so much more to mention, exceptional breakfast quality, great pool area etc, but it has all already been said before, so I can just stop here and say, I will never stop staying there!

Room tip: Ask for a high floor to enjoy the views!
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Silvia_aus_Zollikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peninsula_BK, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Dear Silvia_aus_Zollikon,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us in particular the boat rides to and from The Peninsula Hotel.
There is nothing more motivating for our team members to hear kind words from our guests appreciating their hard work. Rest assured that we will share your feedback with all concerned.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Peninsula Bangkok soon again.

Best regards,
Rolf Buehlmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

I have to admit up front that we had a corner suite on a very high floor, so I am a touch biased, but this hotel really does everything correctly. The room is marvelous, from the large items like supreme bed comfort and a superb bathroom, to small details such as the bedside controls and the entertainment system. The second bathroom with french doors right over the river made the necessary function all too brief. Breakfast is superb. OK, at one tea time we had a waitress who was a touch stretched by her duties but I wouldn't consider even deducting a half point!

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfred841
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peninsula_BK, Director of Rooms at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

Dear Alfred841
It is hard not to be impressed with the views of the river and city from up high in the hotel, but I am happy to hear that it did not totally overshadow the quality of the room. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and for understanding our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Shane Jolly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

We have stayed here on our last two visits to Bangkok and love it. We used to stay at The Oriental but much prefer the warm hospitality of the staff at The Peninsular and far more relaxed ambience. The rooms are very comfortable and most if not all of them have an incredible view over the bustling river that is great to watch. There are a variety of restaurants non of which I can find fault with that offer a wide selection of cuisine and the breakfast is second to non. The swimming pool is great but can at times get rather busy.

Room tip: The higher the floor the better the view but you get great views from all rooms
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peninsula_BK, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

Dear SimonNo1,

We truly appreciate your great review about your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear from guests like you that they have enjoyed their time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Rolf Buehlmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

The Peninsula Hotel is an iconic name when it comes to hotels in Bangkok and indeed Asia. Whilst the service at the Peninsula is impeccable, the property itself is getting dated, and to be honest I found it a bit dull and boring.

Located on the river opposite the Mandarin Oriental and Shangrila hotels. A complimentary hotel river taxi is available to cross to these other hotels and to the Saphan Taksin BTS station. There is not much to see or do on the hotel side of the river.
The pool at the hotel is small and narrow. The spa and gym are nice and well maintained other than the locks on the lockers. The spa has a separate men's and women's sauna/steam and cold and hot spa. The treatments in the spa are extensive but at a price.

The bedrooms and bathrooms are nice but old fashioned. The views of the river from the room are great. They have a great laundry service and room service is excellent.

The bar in the lobby area is very small and feels dark and a bit boring with no atmosphere. There is a nice boutique selling upscale chocolates, sorbet, and macaroons. The restaurants serve great food but again I felt there was a lack of energy. Elegant hotel but it has a bit of a retirement feel to the property.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank elementary1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peninsula_BK, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

Dear elementary1969,

Thank you for your candid review about your recent stay with us. With our gardens, spa and 90-metre three-tiered pool, we do pride ourselves in being an urban oasis of calmness and serenity compared with other hotels downtown. As you pointed out, being on this side of the Chao Phraya River allows you to enjoy commanding, postcard-like views of the city from our guest rooms.

It would be a pleasure welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Rolf Buehlmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews