We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Truly an experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #23 of 839 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Truly an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

If I could I would rate this place a 10. It was one of the most beautiful places we have stayed in a long time. The service was spectacular, the location on the river was great, shopping was close by, the rooms were super clean, 7 restaurants to chose from. What more can I say. It exceeded our expectations and the price was well worth it.

Room Tip: The river view is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,306
    1,108
    230
    75
    22
See reviews for
1,271
2,072
208
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Everything is perfect and beautiful, especially the various restaurants and the spa!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

First of all, I would like to call out the great service offered by the hotel. On the day of check-out, I left a favourite piece of clothing in the cabinet. I was already on the way to airport and the staff at the hotel offered to arrange to have the item immediately taken to the airport for me. They even arranged the hotel staff stationed at the airport to greet me and make sure I can meet the person delivering the item. I am very grateful and happy to get back what I would hate to lose. A big thank you to the staff of the hotel!

The hotel used to be a Marriott and I stayed there at least four times before. Surprisingly, with Anantara taking it up, nothing has changed . This means that the rooms are a bit dated although they are still in a good condition, I think it will be good to freshen them up a bit.

I always like the pool there. It is big and the pool side bar is still the best I have ever been to.

The hotel complex is big and spacious and is probably one of the rare resort hotels you can find in the city of Bangkok. It has plenty of restaurants to choose from. It also offers free shuttle boat service to the sky train station, around 10 minutes' ride during which you can relax and enjoy a brief river cruise. If you do not need to stay in the shopping district and in the centre of major tourist activities, this serves as a very good choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twowoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

The Anantara Riverside provided us a very pleasant stay. The staff are genuinely happy to help you and demonstrate true Thai hospitality. The room we had (deluxe river view) was perhaps a little dated and there wasn't much of the river on view; but it was clean and very comfortable.
The hotel is split into three wings and offers a choice of restaurant and bar options. We only ate breakfast there and the buffet on offer is international in variety and plentiful. There is also a very good cafe/bakery offering very yummy looking cakes, pastries, sweets and breads.
The daytime focus of the hotel is around the swimming pool which is set amongst palm trees and has its own swim-up bar and a restaurant. The pool area feels very resort-like and if you keep an eye out in the gardens you might spot the hotel's resident (large) lizard going for a walk!
The hotel location has little around it. There is a small shopping mall opposite the hotel entrance but not much else. Taxi's are cheap in Bangkok but we used the hotel water shuttle (every 30 minutes) to take the 15 minute journey up the river to Saphan Thaksin pier which has a BTS (Skytrain) station. The last water shuttle from the pier back to the hotel is at midnight.
A new (April 2012) large upscale night market has been opened on the opposite side of the river from the hotel. ASIATIQUE offers restaurants, bars and market style shopping every night until around 1am. The hotel water shuttle will drop you or collect you from Asiatique's pier.
From Saphan Thaksin BTS station you are only a few stops from the main SIAM shopping area.
I would recommend the Anantara if you want a resort-feel to your stay and don't mind a little extra effort needed to get to the hotel location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quinnynews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

My husband and I returned to the Anantara Riverside Resort in Bkk. (formerly The Marriott). This is paradise, warm and welcoming Thai hospitality in this beautiful riverside property. The rooms have been renovated to a modern comfortable style but maintain the elegant Thai flavor. The breakfast continues to be spectacular and the baked goods are irrisistable. I was not feeling well upon arrival having had some unexpected dental work. A few hours later a beautiful bouquet of flowers arrived from the front desk manager, K. Kritya on behalf of the hotel! Every time I look at them I feel better.

If you come to Bkk. This is the place to stay, a resort within the city. After a day exploring, the tender from the wharf will give you a short river cruise with chilled towels and cold water, another wonderful part of Anantara hospitality.

We will be back again and again....

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,204 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#6 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,878 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing