We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Great location,which takes 1-minute walk way to central world,(great shopping venue,by the way);every staff is nice and gentle;lobby is impressive,luxury and confortable,room is big with full facilities

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,832 - 1,836 of 3,290 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

There are so many 5 star hotels in Bangkok covering a broad spectrum of price ranges.
The intercontinental is very nice but not great. The rooms are good, the club lounge is good, the entrance to the hotel is good, but for the price all should be superb.
On the plus side, you get great attention from the staff.
I had no complaints staying there but have had better for lower cost on previous trips to bangkok

Room Tip: chose a club level good lounge with good service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toby023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management team, thank you so much for sharing your stay experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that our rooms and club lounge were good and our associate were attentive to your needs during your stay.

We always strive to provide a pleasurable journey for each of our valued guest and your given feedback is very important for us, as it helps to improve in the areas needed.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Intercontinental Bangkok is an excellent and perfect hotel that does not give rise to any particular recommendations.

I usually visit twice a year for a couple of days. As a single (a relatively old widower) I appreciate that there are many loyal staff members who always recognize me and give me a warm welcome which makes me feel familiar. In the first years at the present location, this did not work so well because there was a higher staff fluctuation. Now, it is ok!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for supporting The InterContinental Bangkok and also taking the time to share you stay experience with us.

It gave us much pleasure to read that our team members greets and recognize our Loyal Guests . We have shared your kind compliments with our associates for their service. Your encouraging compliments are certainly appreciated and have been shared with our associates to let them know that their efforts do not go unnoticed by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back home very soon.


Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I spent three nights at this hotel in December.

The lobby and the rest of the public areas were quite large and tastefully furnished. The property provides free wi-fi in all public areas (be sure to ask reception for the password).

The check-in was quite speedy with a fully staffed check-in desk welcoming guests to the hotel. We were given a room on the 21st floor with a spectacular view of Bangkok. Given that it was nearly Christmas time, we were able to see tons of holiday lights and decorations all around. The room was well furnished, pretty much what I would expect from an Intercontinental. The bathroom was quite large, and entirely covered in marble.

The skytrain station of Chit Lom was right outside the hotel, making travel quite easy. During peak time, I'd highly recommend taking the sky train rather than the cab. Although cabs are quite inexpensive (often cheaper than the skytrain for groups of 3 or 4), they often get stuck in unmoving bumper to bumper traffic, particularly in the area around the Intercontinental.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank akbarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your stay experience with us. We are glad to hear you were impressed with our rooms with a spectacular view of Bangkok during the festive decorations.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I am not very generous when it comes to reviewing hotels. I have stayed in some of the world's great hotels. I go to Bangkok a lot, having lived in Saigon for 10 years. This hotel is a wonderful bargain because it meets or exceeds expectations in every way. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is great. The location is perfect. A 10/10.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Bangkok and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

It is great to hear you were impressed with our rooms, hotel’s location and our people.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 890 in Bangkok
8,635 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: €165 - €308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing