We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky place - but not for everyone!”
Review of The Artists' Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Artists' Place
Ranked #190 of 752 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This is a very unique and funky guest house which you should definitely check out! But I am not 100 % sure that you'll like it. It is truly an Artists's place and you will feel like in an art gallery or museum. Unfortunately the sleeping quality is so bad that as a guest house it's simply bad. I am so sorry to say that as Charly, the owner, is a real sweetheart and the place itself is just great. It's noisy, hot, the beds are harder than stones and the rooms are a bit too pricey for what is offered. You'll have free water, wifi and laundry service included though. It's a great place to hang out and meet people (of which most not living an ordinary life). ;) The area is excellent, very nice Thai neighbourhood, lots of small food stalls and also a 24 hour supermarket just around the corner. Unfortunately, you'll also find quite a lot of Moskitos there. So my advice: If you are an ordinary Thailand traveller, who likes some little luxury and partying at Khao San you probably don't fit into this guest house. If you like it more "alternative" that's definitely the place to go!

Ps: Check out my video here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qdpKuZCYVYc (sorry for the bad quality). :D

Room Tip: If you want to have a window and daylight without burning to death, the only AC room in the house is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anjathe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

a place with character! Located in a quite district, but near enough to the most touristic places.Staff are really friendy,you feel like home...and free laundry,water and kitchen avaliable...just great! It was my second visit to Bangkok,and it changed my vision of the city.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vlcarbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

That place is not a simple cheap accommodation. It's also the best place in Bangkok to make good friends. It's more about a mix between an art galerie, a live music place, and a new home. If you need anything, ask Charlie. He can help you and he's the saint of the travellers.

Thank you Charlie ;)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remi_fu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed here five seperate times during my three month jaunt in SE Asia and it truly was a home from home. Charlee is a lovely man his hostel is totally unique in BKK and there is always interesting characters kicking about, travelling and local. The street food in the surrounding area is outstanding and Charlee will help you find something to suit your tastes. No Internet in the hostel but there is a hotel five minutes along the road that has decent service. It's only twenty minutes in a taxi to Khoh San road and it really is nice to escape to this little oasis of calm in the insanity that is Bangkok. You just can't argue with great company, free laundry, coffee, tea, water and lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goredogbbcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We didn´t think we were going to enjoy busy Bangkok, but this really is a retreat from it all. Its in a local Thai neighbourhood where everyone will make you feel at home. Charlee, the owner, will do all he can to help you and make your stay is enjoyable. He even helped us getting clothes made and having hair cuts etc. for a ´local´ price :-) His friends Bouk and Kee cook really lovely food just around the corner - I miss it already and can´t wait to go back!

The rooms are a bit dated, but are clean and comfortable with fans. The prices are really good value for Bangkok too.

Thanks Charlee and friends for an unforgettable stay x

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlottie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#23 of 894 in Bangkok
8,861 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#67 of 894 in Bangkok
6,119 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 894 in Bangkok
4,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Artists' Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artists' Place

Address: 61 - 63 Soi Tiem Boon Yang, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 752 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artists’ Place is a peaceful guesthouse with an artists flair, located in a charming Thai neighbourhood, away from ‘the hustle and bustle’ of the tourist districts. It is convenient to shopping areas and all tourist interests. You will pay local prices for Thai food and beer and Charlee, the local artist owner, is always available for helpful advice and warm hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing