We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want to stay near to Khao San Road.... Look no further!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nouvo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nouvo City Hotel
Ranked #183 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you want to stay near to Khao San Road.... Look no further!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Firstly, I must point out... I am fussy.

When me and my girlfriend (we are both 24 years old from the UK) booked a 3 week trip to Thailand, we started to look at hotels for each place we were visiting. I must have spent hours for each place deciding on hotels. We chose this one finally, and it was a great choice. Just book it, don't look around for ages online like we did.

We came arrived in Bangkok early March and stayed at the Nouvo City Hotel for 2 nights. We then came back to the same hotel, before we left Thailand, for another 2 nights. That says everything you need to know.... we came back!!

It is a new hotel... which I like. It is clean, and has a calming atmosphere. When you enter the hotel, you are hit by the strong air con, which is just what you need after walking in the humid and unbearable heat of Bangkok!!

We stayed in a standard Deluxe room. It was perfect. Not too big and not too small. Again it was clean and well designed. We stayed in around 6 hotels in Thailand, and this had by far the best rooms. The shower must be mentioned as it is particularly spacious!!

The breakfast in this hotel is nothing to write home about, but has the standard Thai options with a few western offerings as well.

The rooftop pool is a nice touch... however, the only criticism about this hotel is around this. There are not enough sun beds around the pool. Especially around 3pm to 6pm when it is reasonably busy around the pool, I noticed people arriving and then going straight back down stairs as they couldn't get a sun bed. Also be careful of the steam rooms - they are lethal for your feet... as the steam comes from the bottom, under the benches, and you can seriously burn your feet when entering and leaving.

The location for this hotel is excellent. It is around a 5-10 min walk from Khao San Road and all the delights that it has to offer. I would strongly suggest staying in this area, as there is alot more going on than in the newer part of the city, where the expensive hotels are. There is also a Seven Eleven next door to the hotel, which is handy!

The staff are very helpful, and when we arrived early (9am) to check in, our room was already ready and we could check in! They also organised our taxi to the airport for us at 6am, which was nice as we had no waiting around, just jumped straight in it.

All in all, this is an excellent hotel and of course I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose the Deluxe room... it is the cheapest, but it is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nouvocity, Manager at Nouvo City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Hello mikedeans,

Your comments and review of our hotel is the reason why everybody here at the hotel is dedicated to working in the industry; to make guests like you happy and satisfied.

We hope to see you in Bangkok again soon!

- Adam Phadungsilp (Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    497
    181
    48
    34
See reviews for
192
502
74
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

It is my first time reviewing a hotel so I thought would be a good beginning for my first big trip to Bangkok!

We took a cab from de airport and when we got to Somsan road, we were really afraid because it was a really small street with old buildings. Surprisingly, we saw the outside hotel and were relieved!!
We were 2 girls and the moment we got in the hotel, was greeted by the bell guy (is that how you calll them?). First impression: OMG this is sooooo nice and clean!!!!

They were really nice and really helpful. We made it to the reception an was greeted by a woman and started checking in. We had an upgrade for some reason with no extra charge which was nice from them. Finally got to our room: OMGGG soooo nice and clean.. Again! Loll

The hotel is in a perfect location, close to everything by tuk tuk or taxi. Food in the hotel is not worth it however, breakfast was good .. Nothing to complain..the menu for dinner is not that great.. U might as well eat outside for much cheaper.

The spa: OMGGGG the owner Sala and her brother are sooooo nice and wonderful!!! They greeted us with tea and showed us their prices at the spa! One thin i was not used to was the full body massage... I was massaged the whole body including the breasta and armpits lolll it was funny because it was unusual but I guess if you dont want to have someone touch your boobies, you have to let them know otherwise its alllll in!

In general, our experience was awesome!!l The only bad experience was the tour woman near the frot desk.. We started asking her for tickets for ferries. Yes we were 2 girls discussing the times to leave because we were not certain about our times but the attitude this woman had was totally nasty!! To the point I had to tell my friend we would buy only the ferry tickets and not the private taxi from her. We felt like she didnt want to help us and not lucky for her i understand thai a bit and when we turned around... She said we were crazy in thai!! Well i heard and made a complaint to the guy that originally helped us and turned out it was the manager of the tour travel desk!! So we told him we ended up booking our private taxi in the insternet instead of going to her because we didnt like her attitude. Anyways that was the last day so on to the nexr destination!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nouvocity, Manager at Nouvo City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Hello Samneang,

I'm very happy to hear that your experience at our hotel turned out great. However, I do sincerely apologize for our Tour desk's attitude as this is unusual behavior for them.

We look forward to seeing you in our hotel soon.

- Adam Phadungsilp (Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

First impressions of this hotel was good. It was clean and spacious and airy. I arrived with my 11 year old daughter and was showed to our room and our suitcases and bags were delivered to the door. The room was very spacious and the bathroom huge with a double walk in shower, everything was very clean and fresh. On the second day we didn't get the tea replenished and there wasn't any milk but as soon as I requested from reception someone was there within a minute to replenish. I couldn't fault the stay, we had dressing gowns, slippers, kettle, fridge, shampoo, conditioner, toothbrushes, even a razor and ear buds. A nice size TV in the room, good A/C and fantastic bed. I had a double and my daughter had a single. Every day the sheets and towels were changed. The breakfast was ok not great but certainly adequate, only one cereal of cornflakes but bread and croissants and cakes, fruit and yogurt and thai dishes, salads etc. plenty of eggs, poached, scrambled and omelette.
Only negative would be that on the 1st day there was a fly on the fruit which was off putting....I think that was the only let down as a cover would have solved the problem but when suggested was not corrected. The cosy something accross the road on the corner was excellent for food (bit pricey compared to rest of Bangkok) but very cheap in comparison to England. all in all we had a greet time and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiefrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nouvocity, Manager at Nouvo City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Greetings from the Nouvo City Hotel!

We are very happy to hear that you and your daughter had a lovely stay at our hotel. Our hotel is dedicated to better serving you and all of our guests and will take any comments that you have noted into consideration.

- Adam Phadungsilp (Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We wanted to stay on a more luxury hotel the last days in Thailand and Nouvo City Hotel was one of the more expensive in the area we wanted to live in.

The rooms were very nice but not worth the money. The staff thought that the hotel was nicer than it really was and acted snobbish. The laundry service was a joke, 40 Baht for washing a T-shirt - if you walked 400 meters you could wash 1 kg for 30 Baht. The television had a very poor quality and sometimes the frame froze for hours. The pool area had like 6 sun chairs so it was impossible to get a chair.

The breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nouvocity, Manager at Nouvo City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Greetings from the Nouvo City Hotel!

Thank you for your honest feedback. We will be using your comments in order to better our services.

I sincerely apologize if our staff may have behaved inappropriately. We take pride in that the Nouvo City Hotel is the only hotel in the area that is certified and registered by and with the Thai government and international organizations (such as the United Nations and its respective agencies). Thus, the services we offer are of premium quality and are priced accordingly. However, the beauty of our hotel is in its location and those seeking more budget-friendly services may find them within a stone's throw from the hotel without the need for transport.

We will definitely be looking into the television reception as our premium satellite channels are supposed to be clear. Thank you for pointing this out for us.

Due to space constraints and its popularity in the hotel, we are only able to fit a limited number of sun chairs near the pool. We apologize if your experience was not as pleasurable as it should have been.

- Adam Phadungsilp (Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

spacious and clean rooms-not much character but ideal location for shops/restaurants. great little cafe on the corner to the right of the hotel as you look out-also 7/11 for snacks etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank priscillaBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nouvocity, Manager at Nouvo City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Greetings from the Nouvo City Hotel!

Thank you for your positive review and hope that we helped make your stay in Bangkok more enjoyable.

- Adam Phadungsilp (Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#188 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#65 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#124 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#51 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nouvo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nouvo City Hotel

Property: Nouvo City Hotel
Address: 2 Samsen Soi 2, Samsen Rd | Banglamphu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nouvo City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only modern boutique Halal hotel in old city Bangkok area near Khao San Road. The finest in accommodations in the city's city center and palace area with full facilities and located within walking distance to many of the city's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR and TravelUp so you can book your Nouvo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing