We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$130
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$163
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Siam(Bangkok)
US$815
US$666
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$81
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
417
62
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
62
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bthai breakfastfree tuk tuk rideliving naturethai optionevery morningwonderful hoststhe riverthai neighborhoodreal bangkoklemongrass teaper daya wonderful place to staypacked breakfastlike coming homebts stationhome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 486 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Nice and safe place in urban area of town.
Nice unique designed aircon rooms.
Not far from the river boat station or skytrain. Hotel offers complimentary Tuktuk ride to reach skytrain or riverboat once a day.
Staff was extremly helpfull even in non standard situations (We had a small car accident).
Thai food for breakfast was delicious. If you want western stuff you can also get it as well.
When i go to Bangkok a second time i would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catiaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thanks a lot for your review. It's our pleasure having you as the guests here. We'll look forward to seeing you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

What a relief, after a horrible day of travel, to be welcomed into such a great place. The rooms are very modern, well decorated and very clean and comfortable. I will actually be 'borrowing' some of their decorating ideas. The free Tuktuk service is very convenient given it is a little west of all the action. The breakfast is a nice meal to start you day off. The real 'Gem' of the place is Karen. I inquired about a tour to get my feeling for Bangkok. He phoned several places and then told me they were to expensive and he took a map and drew a tour for me. I had a wonderful day following his suggestions.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omoo2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you very much, We're glad to assist you getting the most of 1 day in Bangkok. Wish you could stay longer and see more of Bangkok next time...Have a safe journey! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Bangkok is a noisy congested city. Focal Local, although it's on a noisy street, makes it all wonderful. The staff and the breakfasts are both amazing! Karan was so helpful - suggesting activities and giving us explicit directions. The room was nice, the place is spotless, the Thai breakfasts were great, and the staff was outstanding.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Thank you so much. It was our pleasure having you as the guests here. Hope we'll have an opportunity to serve you again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and i stayed at focal local for part of our time in bangkok. The only reason we did not stay the whole time was because it was booked! This B&B is located in a more residential part of the city, so it really gives you an opportunity to taste the food and experience the people. It is short tuk tuk ride from the BTS, or a short walk to the river where a boat can easily taxi you up to the sights. There is also a bus stop almost across the street.

Karan is the owner and makes a delicious breakfast! He is also incredibly helpful in regards to getting around, things to see, etc! and speaks great english which was just so helpful and meaningful in regards to navigating the city. it was fun coming back to focal local and karan would be excited to hear about our day and what we did and experienced. Karan and his staff are the biggest part of what makes this such a wonderful place to stay.

There is really no where else anyone should stay while in bangkok!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you so much. Your review is really meaningful to us and we'll keep it up.
Hope we'll have opportunity to serve you again when you're in bangkok next time...Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

If you wanna be in the middle of the touristy area don't even think about coming to this place. But if you wanna see what Bangkok is really like then this is the place for you. It seems far from everything when you look at it on the map or when you get your first cab to get here but then you understand bkk does not really have a centre of town and as long as you are close to the sky train you are all set.

It's family run, intimate, as gorgeous as it looks on their website, tasty home made breakfast, one complementary tuk tuk everyday to reach the pier it the skytrain, cosy, VERY CLEAN and it's got everything you need. This place is the best way to discover Bgangkok.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilSeriedipendente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Thank you so much. We're really appreciate hearing that you enjoyed your stay at Focal Local. In additon, It's good to know that being off the tourist trail doesn't make you feel left out from the attractons of Bangkok. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again....All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews