We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice finding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1
Ranked #218 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2012

After more than twenty stays at Bangkok we find a real gem that suits our needs.Salil hotel location is the best you can obtain,near everything but on quiet soi.Staff always helpfull and with good comand of english.Excellent food at Café de Salil.Rooms size from very small to large(corner suites)Creative decor and good amenities.

Room Tip: Avoid ground flour rooms,near front-desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank machadomariadoceu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 363 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

This hotel has a nice appearance, clean and stylish. It is a 5 minute walk to the BTS station. Tuk tuk service is free and bellboy is very active and helpful. The pool is reasonable and large enough for swimming. The rooms are clean and neat, air con perfect, and the hot water is amazing! The television is mostly Thai channels but they do have BBC News. Wifi internet is very efficient. The front desk staff are very lovely and friendly, All in all, a very satisfying stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elize_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Let's begin with some general observations about the hotel and it's environs and what's good about the Salil Thonglor Soi 1. The hotel is well-situated being only a 7 minute walk from the Thonglor ('h' and 'r' are silent - pronounced 'Tonglo') BTS station. As an alternative to walking, you can phone the hotel (026625480) and they will quickly dispatch a courtesy golf cart to pick you up at the corner of either Sukhumvit Soi 55 or Sukhumvit Soi 53 where they join Sukhumvit Rd. Golf cart is GOLD in colour, has 2 rows of seats behind the driver and is clearly marked with the hotel name. Trip time by cart is under 3 minutes. (If you are travelling east on the BTS towards Bearing Station, both of these Soi's are on the left side of Sukhumvit Rd,. There are exit stairs that go down to the street on either side of Sukhumvit Rd., so, because of the dense street traffic, be sure to use the BTS overpass to exit on the correct side of the street to avoid the delay and frustration of crossing through the maze of cars and motorbikes below that are often bumper to bumper).

Following are positives for the hotel; 1) Housekeeping standards are high, 2) Most staff speak English fairly well, are helpful and all are very friendly, 3) Lobby and room decor is attractive, 4) Elevator is quiet and fast, 5) Air con in rooms is quiet and effective, 6) flat screen TV offers good quality picture, 7) Bathroom is well-equipped with shower & tub (at least my room was) and included all the necessities, 8) Beds are very firm (good for me but maybe not for everyone), 9) Breakfast (included) is reasonably varied and good - served from 6:30 - 10:30 AM - They like the guests to be finished eating by closing time, 10) Location of facility is quiet so good for sleeping unless neighbours are a bit noisy as the walls aren't well insulated, 11) There are lots of restaurants to choose from within 5 - 10 min. walk. 12) There are 2 X 711 Stores on Sukhumvit Rd., one on each side of the street, between Sukhumvit Soi 55 and Sukhumvit Soi 53 where you can purchase a SIM card and phone 'time' card (available in various denominations) for your Thai mobile phone. The nearest bank to the hotel is located on Sukhumvit Soi 55 aoout 1 1/2 min. walk from Sukhumvit Rd. on the right hand side as you walk back to your hotel from the BTS station. This is a SIAM BANK and is recognizable by the purple and white colouring on the front. Manager is WA - young, friendly and competent.

Next are a few items to be on guard for/aware of. Some rooms do not have windows. The pool is shallow and small but clean. Universal Gym is tiny. Some rooms have small balconies and others have no balcony. Hotel could be difficult for a taxi driver to find so make sure you have a map print-out and the hotel phone # with you. No whole-grain bread is available at breakfast.

Last, but not least, is the WIFI service. THIS IS THE WORST IN THE WORLD!!!!. I stayed in the older building (the one where the Reception is located) and rarely could I get WIFI reception in my room. I had to take my laptop down to the lobby or into the outside courtyard to use it and this was a royal pain as I use my computer extensively when I travel. On this score, I will NEVER return. Otherwise, the place was pretty decent.

If you haven't been, don't miss THE ANCIENT CITY during your Bangkok stay - educational, only 400 THB entrance fee and just over 1 hr. from the Salil Hotel via BTS and taxi. Check it out on-line.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank belkinhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed for two nights in this hotel. Attractive styling, location ok near a BTS station. Our room was so small, there was no place to put our bags. But the most annoying thing was that we could not get some sleep, every sound our neighbor made was just if he was in our room. The second night another neigbor, same story. In Bangkok there are much better hotels available for this price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

There are many nice restaurants and cafes in the area worth visiting!

we found the hotel extremely good value and well designed for a hotel of its size.

- The rooms are very clean and well designed and include extra features such as DVD player, bath tub and balcony

- Staff offer very good service and are very helpful and the restaurant where breakfast is served daily is quiet and serve a basic menu but is quite adequate for the price.

- Shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS Thonglor station which is only a 5 minute walk away

- The hotel is very peaceful located at the end of a small Soi (lane) which is great and helps to create a tranquil environment

- The housekeeping staff do an amazing job in this hotel and every day you can return from the hot steamy Bangkok streets to a clean room and bathroom.

- Another bonus is air con is quiet and works very well and also plenty of water pressure and decent lighting throughout the room.

Have to give this hotel a 5 out of 5 well done Salil, we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bullian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Thong Lor & Ekamai
The Salil Hotel Sukhumvit 57 - Thonglor
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Thong Lor & Ekamai
PlayHaus Thonglor
PlayHaus Thonglor
#204 of 891 in Bangkok
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Somerset Sukhumvit Thonglor Bangkok
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Nice Residence
Nice Residence
#638 of 891 in Bangkok
33 reviews
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
#337 of 891 in Bangkok
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1

Address: 44/14-17 Sukhumvit 53, Sukhumvit Rd. | Khlong Tan Nuea, Watthana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Thong Lor & Ekamai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: €46 - €77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a small street, Thonglor Soi 1, this stylish hotel boasts an awe-inspiring Spanish architectural style to all visitors. The hotel comprises of three main wings housing 122 guest rooms. Surrounded by greenery away from the hustle and bustle of Sukhumvit Thonglor, incredible peace and quiet prevail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing