We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #28 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We enjoyed this hotel very much under our stay. Fabulous view from the room at 27th floor. Easy to use the free boat to go to the shopping. We be back!

Thank ChalleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,099)
There are newer reviews for Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,162 - 5,166 of 8,099 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

I always want to stay at a riverside hotel in Bangkok, at the side of Chao Phraya River. All the riverside hotels are super expensive (you name it - Hilton, Peninsula, Shangri-La, Mandarin, etc) until I found Chatrium Riverside Hotel Bangkok. Unlike the other hotels (which are very pricey but are a old hotel), Chatrium Riverside Hotel Bangkok is a new building.

It is perfect to the max! The complex has 3 towers, one for hotel and two for service residence. I stayed in a Deluxe Room, and it is very spacious, it is like a studio room.
The room includes a pantry within gas stove, microwave and cooking utensils.
The bathroom is very spacious, too. Bed is very comfortable. I paid for THB 3,500/night and it includes breakfast and internet connection (both cable and wifi).

In the hotel there is one international restaurant where we can have breakfast, and it is right beside the river, it has inside and outside seatings. In the morning and night time, it is very beautiful. They have dinner buffet and the price is THB 900-1000/person, and if you want to have all you can drink wine/beer, you only need to add another THB 200, Value for money, and the choice of food was enormous.
They have a good coffee shop in the hotel and in the complex there is Japanese restaurant (very fresh sashimi & sushi, price is also ok), Starbucks, Seven Eleven and ATM. Their spa/massage is also good,

The swimming pool is very relaxing, you can enjoy sun-bathing, also with the view to the river. It opens every 6 AM - 8 PM ( I wish it opens till 10 PM).
The hotel provides complimentary "taxi-boat" leaves every 30 minutes or 45 minutes, to Saphan Thaksin Pier, where you can connect to Saphan Thaksin BTS and reach the downtown of Bangkok (Siam, National Monument, etc).

Overall, I enjoy my stay at this hotel, definitely one of my best accommodation experience in Bangkok, and definitely I will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room, there is additional charge of approximately THB 400/night, but it worths...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daisy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was our second stay at the Chatrium in 13 months. This time we spent the final three nights of a month's travelling there, and had a great time.

The hotel has a good "feel" as you walk in; it's modern, spacious and cool.  Its people are all friendly and helpful, and they give an excellent level of service. We had no problem, for example, altering our dates at the last minute, and arranging a late checkout so that we could go to the airport more or less directly from the poolside!

Our room was a corner studio on the 30th floor, facing up the Chao Phrya river towards Taksin bridge. The view was absolutely stunning by day and night, and we would heartily recommend paying the extra for a river view room. First time here  we didn't, and that was a mistake! The room itself was modern, stylish, clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were wonderful, the shower was splendid, and the cooling was excellent. There was also a little kitchenette, but we did not have occasion to use it.

The Chatrium's location on the river is a huge plus, compared with Bangkok's legion of city-centre hotels. Sitting on the terrace overlooking the river whilst tucking into their excellent breakfast buffet, for example, must be one of life's great pleasures. And so is starting a day's exploration with a free shuttle boat ride up to the Skytrain and riverboat hubs at Taksin bridge.

Of course the hotel has its negatives. Wifi is chargeable, unless like us you get it bundled into an attractive deal. Poolside drinks and snacks are costly, and tended to discourage us from using this facility. Minibar prices are also very high, and encouraged us to use the nearby 7-11 instead. 

Overall, however, the consistent quality of the Chatrium, coupled with its highly competitive pricing against its riverside rivals, make it in our opinion the most attractive value option among Bangkok's hotels.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can and choose a river view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We usually come to Bangkok for a one month stay and this year we decided that we would stay at The Chatrium. We have stayed in this area of Bangkok for around 10 years and we stayed at another very nice five star hotel just up river in their apartments.
We are past our half way mark of two weeks with another two weeks to go. The service is very good and the staff are very friendly. This is a solid four star property with the potential to be a five star very soon. The grounds are very nice and the pool area has a great view of the river. The dinner buffet is one of the best deals I have seen in Bangkok and we have been coming here long term for over 10 years. As an example the buffet tonight is lobster, flown in fresh and alive from Boston in the USA. For this all you can eat buffet is is 1000 baht! If you join their "Gold Card" membership when you arrive you will get 50% off your food, if your stay at the hotel is longer than five or seven days. Not 100% of the days for this, but it is longer than a two night stay. So tonights lobster buffet will cost us 500 baht per person!! Try that ANYONE else in Bangkok!!!!!
It is very easy to get to the BTS station at Sampan Taksin as their ferry leaves every 15 minutes and it is a five minute ferry ride. The ferry's starts at 6am and the last one is at 10.30 pm. They have the best ferry service of all the hotels that line the river that connect to the Sathorn Pier( BTS Sampan Taksin). We are in a lovely one bedroom suite over looking the river, facing up river so that we can view the weekly fire works, and it is cooler on this side of the building. It is very quiet here but easy to get around to the busier areas of Bangkok. By BTS it would take you 10 minutes to get to Siam Paragon from BTS Sampan Taksin. It is close to the expressway as well. We are dining tomorrow evening on the 36th floor at their Chinese Silver Wave. Very nice view of downtown Bangkok. In short, if you have been staying at the five star hotels just upriver from this location you should give this lovely hotel a serious look! We are so glad we did! Cheers

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here after touring islands deep south Thailand for one night on our way home.

It was pure luxury with breathtaking views. We didn't close curtains at night as the lights and views from our bed were out of this world. This is the best city hotel I have ever stayed in.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulahowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#17 of 879 in Bangkok
8,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#123 of 879 in Bangkok
5,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: €69 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing