We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Real Gem on the River” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #32 of 839 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Real Gem on the River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We usually come to Bangkok for a one month stay and this year we decided that we would stay at The Chatrium. We have stayed in this area of Bangkok for around 10 years and we stayed at another very nice five star hotel just up river in their apartments.
We are past our half way mark of two weeks with another two weeks to go. The service is very good and the staff are very friendly. This is a solid four star property with the potential to be a five star very soon. The grounds are very nice and the pool area has a great view of the river. The dinner buffet is one of the best deals I have seen in Bangkok and we have been coming here long term for over 10 years. As an example the buffet tonight is lobster, flown in fresh and alive from Boston in the USA. For this all you can eat buffet is is 1000 baht! If you join their "Gold Card" membership when you arrive you will get 50% off your food, if your stay at the hotel is longer than five or seven days. Not 100% of the days for this, but it is longer than a two night stay. So tonights lobster buffet will cost us 500 baht per person!! Try that ANYONE else in Bangkok!!!!!
It is very easy to get to the BTS station at Sampan Taksin as their ferry leaves every 15 minutes and it is a five minute ferry ride. The ferry's starts at 6am and the last one is at 10.30 pm. They have the best ferry service of all the hotels that line the river that connect to the Sathorn Pier( BTS Sampan Taksin). We are in a lovely one bedroom suite over looking the river, facing up river so that we can view the weekly fire works, and it is cooler on this side of the building. It is very quiet here but easy to get around to the busier areas of Bangkok. By BTS it would take you 10 minutes to get to Siam Paragon from BTS Sampan Taksin. It is close to the expressway as well. We are dining tomorrow evening on the 36th floor at their Chinese Silver Wave. Very nice view of downtown Bangkok. In short, if you have been staying at the five star hotels just upriver from this location you should give this lovely hotel a serious look! We are so glad we did! Cheers

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,746
    1,759
    313
    59
    28
See reviews for
1,700
3,189
408
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,956)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here after touring islands deep south Thailand for one night on our way home.

It was pure luxury with breathtaking views. We didn't close curtains at night as the lights and views from our bed were out of this world. This is the best city hotel I have ever stayed in.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulahowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigulda, Latvia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 in February. Before and after flight to Krabi. We were positively surprised. Starting fron reservation - take river view room and ask for high floor - it is brearhtaking! Super experiance with river boat transport - starting with hotel shuttle boat and further public, you in 20 minutes can get to Grand palace and main temples. It is fabulous alternative to dusty and overcrowded street transport. Stuff attitude winderful - we left our wintet clothes here for free of charge, came back and get even upgraded hotel room. Free wifi! High value for money here!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvucisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Booked this hotel on the internet on the off chance it would be ok. The room was excellent. Large, quite contemporary and very clean, but what a view of the river and the city.
The staff were very, very friendly and extremely helpful and obviously quite well trained. Nothing ever seemed to be a problem for them and they appeared to treat everyone the same. The hotel is well located and convenient to central Bangkok via taxi, Chatrium ferry and BTS train.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Junior suite with river view. Highest floor you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeravut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UP NORTH
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We arrived at the Chatrium Riverside fairly exhausted after the 12 hour flight from England, compounded by it taking two hours to clear immigration / customs at Bangkok airport. From the moment we stepped through the doors of the hotel, it was like being in an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The staff were helpful and attentive, our spacious, well appointed room on the 16th floor had stunning views over the river and city, and the buffet style evening meal in the riverside restaurant was superb. The hotel runs a regular free shuttle boat, which takes about 5 minutes to the Taksim Bridge where there is a skyrail station and connections to the fast and frequent river bus boats, which are a great way of getting around the city, as well as being an unmissable experience in themselves. You can also walk form Taksim - it took us about 20 mins to the central railway station - or pick up a taxi or tuk tuk.
What is really good about the location of the Chatrium is that when you have finished a long, hot day in this busy, noisy, lively city, it is so relaxing to be just that little bit out of the hustle and bustle, while still having the endlessly fascinating river to sit and watch while sipping a cold beer by the poolside! Would definitely stay here again if we ever revisit Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveT8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,463 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#18 of 839 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelTravel.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing