We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Addition!”
Review of Lancaster Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lancaster Bangkok
Ranked #284 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 28 November 2017

After having recently had a most enjoyable stay at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London (see separate Review), I was most interested to see how its namesake was faring in Bangkok.

In this regard, both properties are members of the Landmark Lancaster Hotel Group (there are also well known Landmark properties in Bangkok and London) and I paid a brief visit to the Lancaster Bangkok (which is located in the up and coming Makkasan District) this afternoon. It had literally only been open a few days and - as such - it was not surprising to find a number of workmen still on applying some finishing touches.

It is always nice (but not unusual in Bangkok where Thai hospitality is in a league of its own) to be warmly welcomed on arrival and this certainly proved the case today. Similarly, the service in the lounge area - where I enjoyed a very nice cappuccino - was equally first class.

All in all, my brief visit went very well and I would certainly encourage visitors to Bangkok to proactively consider staying at the Lancaster which is not only the latest Hotel on the Bangkok landscape but one where you will be assured of a warm welcome!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank stevebG6121BX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, General Manager at Lancaster Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear stevebG6121BX,

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Lancaster Bangkok. It shows that you don't have to stay overnight to experience our authentic Thai hospitality. Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lancaster Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Martin Hurley
General Manager
Lancaster Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017

This review of the Lancaster hotel is quite unique in the sense that I’m the hotel’s first guest. I stayed at the Lancaster in Nov 16-19 2017. It’s a five-star property with 231 rooms built in Thai traditional style. The hotel is Thai owned in classic Thai style and offering Thai warm hospitality. My review will be somewhat limitied because many of the hotel’s facilities have not yet opened, including the Wellness floor that comprises the pool, fitness center and spa.
Below are some strong and weak points of this property:
Strong points:
1. Beautiful room (I had the deluxe room, 40 m2), extremely comfortable bed, large-screen TV, separate walk-in rain shower (plus European hand-held system), a free-standing bathtub with an elegantly designed floor-mounted faucet, and separate toilet. In addition, the room included a bay-like window, which gave the impression of a more spacious room (I love bayroom windows!). Complete bathroom accessories, including shaver kit, Listerine mouthwash, etc.
2. Extremely fast snd stable Internet (although one time the IT staff had to reboot).
3. Housekeeping service was impeccable throughout my stay. Always accomodating, courteous and polite but still very professional. First-class turn-down service (defined as not only closing the curtains and preparing the bed, but also cleaned the room and brought new towels, water, etc.). Two girls cleaned my room: they whispered so as not to disturb me (a major difference from, for example, the Centara Azure in Pattaya, where the staff were so loud both inside and outside my room that I had to ask them to please keep down their voices).
4. I’m being offered special service as the first hotel guest. Still, my impression is that the staff personnel are highly trained and skilled at their respective duties and hence all guests will likely be treated similar to the way I was treated. Such an attitude produces an exceptionally high-quality service—I really felt pampered throughout my stay.
5. Family.friendly hotel: Free bf for children under 12, kids club, children’s pool, and other special features for children.
6. Very nicely appointed (spacious) and functional bathroom: separate toilet area, stand-alone bath, and walk in shower. Extremely hot water (so be careful) and outstanding water pressure.
7. Complimentary tea (TWG) and coffee in the room.
8. Business center and well-equipped meeting rooms.
9. 20-meter pool, state-of-the-art fitness center (personal trainer upon request), and the Viva Jiva spa.
10. Delicious ala carte breakfast using high-quality products (for example. Coffee works coffe brand, which also serves St. Regis hotel in Bangkok and the Dan & Delucca (an upscale grocery chain) in Thailand.
11. High-tech, touch-control lighting, and one particular feature that I haven’t seen earlier, namely iglass switchable bathroom that allows privacy in a matter of milliseconds. The bathroom is separated by a floor to ceiling window that you can see through. However, with a simple touch, the window becomes foggy, preventing one from seeing in (perhaps for some people that is a feature they don’t want- haha!).
12. Transportation by Mercedes to and from the aiport. From the hotel to the airport, I paid 1800 baht—a very reasonable price. Thus, I was surprised that at the airporty I was met by the hotel’s representative who took us to the check-in counter and thereafter to the baggage control area. Normally, the cost is close to 4000 baht in Bangkok for such service.

Weak points:
Acutally, it is a bit hard to find weak points, but I’ve done my best to do so under the assumption no property is without some flaws
1. Location is not ideal. However, it is close to both the MRT (subway) and the Airport Link. The cloest malls are a good 20-minute walk, but one could take the MRT and only 1 stop to the nearest mall. According to the general manager, within the next year pubs and some night life will be available.
2. Only 1 restaurant (Siam Brasserie). For some this might be a limitation. But guests can visit other restaurants, which most people do anyway. Still, it could be considered a weak point. Moreover, the club lounge offers buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails with cold cuts and cheese buffet.
3. Only Thai-speaking TV, but I understand channels in other languages will be included once the hotel officially opens.
4. I feel both the Lancaster bar and the Siam Brasserie restaurant currently lack personality, but this may change once the hotel is up and running. Thus, it’s a bit unfair to judge—let’s wait and see.

Room Tip: Hard to say as the hotel's only guest. Suites were not yet available. My room was perfect (room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lshapspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, General Manager at Lancaster Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear lshapspro,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful (and detailed) review. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you as our first guest to Lancaster Bangkok. The team will be delighted to read your kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Lancaster Bangkok soon.

Regards,

Martin Hurley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michels22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, General Manager at Lancaster Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 畯玄 王
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, General Manager at Lancaster Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pour qq euros de plus une chambre avec vue
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Fannord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H, General Manager at Lancaster Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Akyra Thonglor Bangkok
Akyra Thonglor Bangkok
#223 of 891 in Bangkok
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 891 in Bangkok
684 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 891 in Bangkok
725 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Bangkok

Address: 1777, New Phetchaburi Road | Bang Kapi, Huai Khwang, Bangkok 10310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: €82 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lancaster Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of Thai hospitality The beautiful Lancaster Bangkok is the embodiment of Thai warmth and hospitality. Here, guests truly experience the heartfelt generosity and intuitive service for which Thailand is famed. As the newest member of the renowned Landmark Lancaster Hotel Group, with properties in Bangkok and London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lancaster Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing