We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Design gone haywire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Heritage Baan Silom Hotel
Ranked #659 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Design gone haywire”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

This hotel must have been designed by a novice. I got an upgrade and the room was ok but really not much more. I hated that weird sauna look (light panelling in fashion in the 80s) but I could have taken that if the lighting had been better. The bedlights were attached far too high making the whole room look cheap, which is a shame because I am quite sure that it was not.

The bathroom was another thing: I had a bathtub which could have fit five but it was installed in such a way that the room cleaner had a really hard time getting to the grout. The shower was practically inexistent as you were supposed to take a bath -- guys: it's Bangkok not Helsinki!!! I want to take a real shower not soak in a bath, for god's sake!
The taps were a safety hazard as you didn't know which way to turn and in the three days I stayed I regularly scalded myself. For some bizarre reason there was a window onto the room, which makes me think that the original thought of this hotel was soemthing quite different than what it is: a hotel for run-of-the-mill tourists, not the sex-crazed types as far as I could tell.

The breakfast buffet was huge but the Western part was really not up to snuff: the fruit was really not great (come on, you are in a country that produces fruit!!!), the juice was Tang and the bread some dreadful whitebread concoction that I haven't seen since 1986 (ditto Tang). The Thai breakfast seemed better but since I don't eat that for breakfast, i had to make do with this. Really a bit of a disappointment. There is a restaurant but i didn't want to waste my limited time if the breakfast bufet was anything to go by.

On the upside: literally next to BTS Skytrain which makes for a quick getaway and the rooftop pool is cute and clean. The staff is quite nice and do their best but this hotel should be in line for an overhaul soon. And the mattress was great.

The area is unfortunately very quiet and really business-like and you really have to hunt for a place to eat if you go out a bit lateish in the evening. But for early evenings, you can go to Dean & Deluca (probably a better idea re breakfast but I had booked incluisve and did not want to waste time going across the street which is close but far in bangkok).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laleh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    123
    86
    22
    25
See reviews for
19
87
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

Upon arrival we were met with sheets stained with semen. When new sheets were requested, the front desk informed us it would take 1 hour. With the help of my wife, who is Thai, we finally got new sheets; however, they were caked with dried blood. As much as we wanted to check-out, we had over 5 families staying at the same hotel so managed to muster up the patience to stay at the hotel. However, tonight, Christmas night, is the last straw. We came back to our room to find that the water had been turned off and even worse we noticed bites all over our bodies, checked the bed and what did we find? BED BUGS!!!!!! Do yourself a favor do not stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Really999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

Hello,

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel between 14-21 November 2010. We stayed at B building. As for the area, hotel has a good location, walking distance to patpong night bazaar ( app. 1,5 km ) and skytrain. No need to take any Tuk Tuk for these locations. In the first floor of B building there is a restaurant which smells really intense, if you are not OK with Thai spice smells, it can be a nightmare until you get in the building. Inside, rooms are really clean, and everyday made up. There is nothing to say for it. During our stay, a construction was continuing in front of our window. It can be annoying if you plan to stay in the room after 9:00am since the labourers talk high in volume and you know that they are just in front of the curtain :) And the small guest in room 212 ( a small lizard in the toilet ) showed itself sometimes :) As for the staff, except one guy who was always checking his facebook while answering our questions, it was ok. Internet free in every room so that is good also.

To sum up, besides its cleanliness i cannot fully recommend this hotel but this is what you get for the money you pay ;)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syavuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

I stayed here with my boyfriend for only 2 nights, as a stopover from Chiang Mai back to LHR. We wanted somewhere reasonably cheap, clean and close to Silom Road where we had stayed the previous week (at the LeBua). From the pictures and the reviews, the hotel looked boutique style, chic and ticked our requirements. The hotel did fall down in some areas though. As many other people mentionned, the breakfast is quite poor. You are given a reasonable selection, but when we went for breakfast at 9am (breakfast finished at 10.30am) lots of the choices were gone and not replenished. There was cereal, juice, bread, croissants, hot noodles, rice, eggs, sausages, bacon, fruit salad, salad, so it wasnt a bad choice. It just didnt look very fresh or appetising. The breakfast staff ignored you. There wasnt really any service. The rooms are nicely decorated but it was quite apparent that the refurb was hastily done, the rooms looked a little tired. Some reviewers said "shabby chic" but I think their idea of slick modern design turned out to be modern but tired and in need of TLC. We asked the hotel to book a taxi for us to the airport and the response was a mere, "yes, you can hail a taxi yourself from outside". Not quite what I was happy with. They did hail a taxi for us in the end and the taxi driver had his meter on and later charged us a high fixed price. Not very honest of the taxi driver and not a reflection of the hotel, but I assume that any taxis hailed by hotels should give tourists a sense of trust.
Overall, the hotel is good for the savvy lone traveller who needs a clean, cheap bed/ accom in Bangkok, the location on Silom Road is very convenient.. Its a step up from a dirty little B&B but not quite meeting the standards of a real hotel. In fact, I dont think the Heritage Baan is classed as a hotel as it doesnt provide 24 Room service. (to be classed as a hotel, you need to provide 24 room service). Not very romantic for couples. It fails here as boutique chic because there is nothing that the hotel does 100% well, the service by the staff is a great let down.
If you do book here, then make sure you ask for a room in the main hotel. We had a room that faced the main road and courtyard in the annexe and the traffic noise at night we horrendous.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank london_saver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel in August for 5 days on our way to Singapore. The hotel exterior has a lovely colonial style architecture, the situation of the hotel is very clean compare to sukhumvit, the staff is very friendly and helpfull. Inside of the hotel is very nice and different, arty kind of feel. We paid £85 for 4 nights. We be happy to go back to this hotel, the only downside is the breakfast is not nice. But for us is not a problem we just had coffe and toast. There is no lift.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herve_Westgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Heritage Bangkok
The Heritage Bangkok
#728 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
#303 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
#196 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Sabai Sathorn
Sabai Sathorn
#279 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Silom
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Silom
Sapphirtel Inn
Sapphirtel Inn
#760 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Baan Silom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Baan Silom Hotel

Property: The Heritage Baan Silom Hotel
Address: 659 Silom 19, Silom Rd, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #659 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heritage Baan Silom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heritage Baan Silom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Baan Silom Hotel Bangkok
Heritage Baan Silom Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing