We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent”
Review of Lord Jim's

Lord Jim's
Ranked #80 of 12,544 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$54 - US$89
Cuisines: Sushi, European, Mediterranean, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Silom
Description: Named after the seafaring hero created by novelist Joseph Conrad, Lord Jim's reputation for magnificent seafood is almost as well known as its namesake. Enjoying an uninterrupted view of the river, Lord Jim's serves one of the most popular buffet lunches in Bangkok with a wide selection of seafood and international dishes on offer. For dinner, diners can choose from an à la carte or set menu. Focusing on the freshest seafood available, Lord Jim's is particularly renowned for its sushi and sashimi dishes. A private dining room can accommodate 16 diners for lunch and 14 guests for dinner.
Reviewed 20 July 2018

I have not been at Lord Jim for a few years because we have many good hotels in downtown now. Until last week, we hosted dinner for Prof. Trüeb who visited Thailand to give academic lectures (IMCAS) at the Lord Jim, Mandarin Oriental hotel. Prof. Trüeb is a world-renowned dermatologist with expertise in hair from Switzerland.

Everything was still excellent....foods, wine and services. The night view was spectacular. Prof Trüeb liked everything and told that he will come back for IMCAS 2020 in Bangkok again!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SamTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear SamTang

Thank you for this superb comment on TripAdvisor!

I am pleased to read that you decided to return to Lord Jim's for this very special dining experience and that you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you again for your kind words, especially regarding our food & beverage offering as well as the service, and I look forward to welcoming you again to the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok.

Kind regards

Jules Dubois
Assistant Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2018

We arrived at the buffet on Saturday, lunch. The food was very nice, with a very large variety. And despite the expensive price, it can be said that it was worth. The service was excellent. Lovable but expensive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smitzafon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Dear smitzafon

Thank you for visiting Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok and for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our apologies that the experience fell short of your expectations.

We have reached out to you directly to have a better understanding of your experience and hope to hear from you.

Thank you once again, and I look forward to speaking with you.

King Regards

Jules Dubois
Assistant Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Jim's is placed within the beautiful setting of the Mandarin Oriental Hotel. Personnel is very attentive and the food is good with a keen eye for detail.

Thank Marcelfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear Marcelfu

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with us at Lord Jim's, especially the food offering and the service as well as the stunning view on the river.

I have shared your comments with the team and they are delighted to hear about your memorable experience.

Thank you again for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Jules Dubois
Assistant Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

I think my title says it all. Although do phone first to make sure it is open for general dinning. Twice this year we were told it wasn't open; one time renovation, the other time booked for function. The lunch buffet needs no further praise. Dinner is impeccable. One pays for what one gets.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thissiteisnotforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Thissiteisnotforme

Thank you for this superb review on TripAdvisor as well as your patronage of Lord Jim's!

I am extremely pleased to read that you frequently visit us at the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, to enjoy a dining experience with us and glad that you are always fully satisfied at Lord Jim's.

I am glad to share your comments with the team and I look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future, for another memorable dining experience by the River of Kings.

Kind regards

Jules Dubois
Assistant Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

No change years. Every time we visit Bangkok, Lord Jim is definitely a must visit. This time we bought 3 kids and it was their first time in Lord Jim.

They were all enjoyed the lunch despite they could only take a very limited variety and basic food as they are still small kids.

Thank IvanT2915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Lord Jim's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Dear Ivan T

Thank you for your superb review on TripAdvisor!

It is a great pleasure to read about your unconditional patronage of Lord Jim and that you had once again a memorable lunch there.

Thank you again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Mandarin Oriental.

Kind regards

Jules Dubois
Assistant Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lord Jim's also viewed

 

Been to Lord Jim's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing