We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location and 5 mins walking to subway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taipei Gala Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Taipei Gala Hotel
Ranked #87 of 566 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice location and 5 mins walking to subway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Very good location and within 5 mins walking to the subway. Room is nice and spacious enough even with an extra bed. Buffet breakfast was decent. Also walking distance to the eateries. Front desk was also very friendly. And provided us answers to many queries. There is a 7-eleven just opposite the road. Bed however was a bit soft for me.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmsg128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    175
    38
    7
    2
See reviews for
70
64
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for a week for business and pleasure.
The best feature of the hotel is its location in downtown Taipei. You go out the front door, turn left, and walk for three minutes and MRT's Yellow Line Xingtian Station is right there at the traffic lights. Once you master Taipei's excellent subway with a pre-paid digital card, it's the best way to visit major tourist sites, shopping malls, and famous hot spa in Beitou or an old colonial fort and beach in Danshuei.

Our room was comfortable, equipped with free internet, a good Queen size bed and shiny, white, and up to date bathroom which had a full bath tub with shower but without shower curtain (European style), a separate shower booth (American style) and Japanese style washlet. Many European group tourists were staying in this hotel from the languages they spoke in the ground floor restaurant where breakfast was served. The buffet style breakfast included western, Japanese and Chinese food which was good but of average quality. It tended to get crowded, so we recommend to go either early or late.

My husband particularly appreciated the front desk staff's help in locating his business appointment. They called the office to confirm the appointment, wrote down the address in Chinese to show to a taxi driver, and gave my husband the hotel's address in Chinese to show to a taxi driver for return. Since the office was at the edge of the city, without the staff's help my husband would have been lost. Most taxi drivers didn't speak English or only a little, so it's advisable to have your desired destination written in Chinese. In addition to speaking English, the front desk staff spoke Japanese as many Japanese stayed at the hotel.

We got tired from active days and often didn't have energy to go out again for dinner so we ended up having meals a couple of times in the Chinese restaurant on the second floor. The menu included some Taiwanese local food, as well as standard Chinese dishes. My husband especially liked their beef soup. There were quite a few restaurants in the neighborhood, including some western style ones. Starbucks near the hotel was a spacious restaurant like place always crowded with young locals. Ah, welcome to the global community.

We highly recommend this hotel for its value, location, cleanliness, efficient service, and helpful staff.

Room Tip: request No Smoking, choice of the size of the bed. Don't expect a good view, as the hotel is bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Showertreegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel in Taipei would go back in a heart beat excellent location very central,close to MRT i did not use but is very close, tons of restaurants, starbucks, mcd. etc. The rooms are impeccable the size is fine,free internet THEY ALSO HAVE PLUGS FOR110 VOLTS in the room how amazing is that,all the amenities are in the room lovely bathroom the hotel looks and feel brand new. The staffs are really good and helpful even if they cant help you englishwise they will refer you to someone else. Also the breakfast is a good spread just what you may need to get you through the day. Also for the airport they are few Airport Express that stops outside the door the FreeGo bus and the EVA/Evergreen Bus lines it is also very cheap $140 Taiwan dollar- US $4 as oppose to the taxi from the hotel $1200 Taiwan dollar way too much, they run every 20 mins. I really research a hotel for a while and was really happy to find this one I would have never been happier if I did not find this hotel. I really recommend this hotel do go anywhere else you wont be disappointed.The rooms are made up daily and they are spotlessly clean. They also have a nice all you can eat buffet restaurant downstairs that is highly recommend even by the Taiwanese tourist board site for tourists. Again look no further this is the place to stay in Taipei cant wait to come back here it is like home away from home.

Room Tip: Any Room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our two week stay in Taiwan and stayed for another night before we flew home to UK. It's a comfortable hotel although the rooms are a bit small. My husband was particularly fascinated with the Panasonic toilet seat which has a control panel which I imagine can do all sorts of various things but as it was written in Chinese it was very difficult to understand. However, we did manage to get it to spray and make the seat so heat it was uncomfortable ... it was quite bizarre as I'd never come across this type of thing before and not really sure why anyone would want it!
The breakfast was fine, the same every day but a good choice.
It's in a good location as it's very easy to stroll out in the evening and go to the market nearbye and it all feels very safe.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Indira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

This is a good choice for a s hort stay. Very convenient MRT nearby and very helpful front desk staff particularly katrina who is very proficient in english. Breakfast food is so so with no variety. Same food every day

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucson2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.4 km away
Golden China Hotel
Golden China Hotel
#99 of 566 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.3 km away
Imperial Hotel Taipei
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#63 of 566 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.8 km away
Santos Hotel
Santos Hotel
#131 of 566 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Gloria Prince Hotel Taipei
1.9 km away
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
#36 of 566 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,830 reviews
2.1 km away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taipei Nanjing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taipei Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taipei Gala Hotel

Property: Taipei Gala Hotel
Address: No.186 Sung Chiang Road, Taipei 10467, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Taipei
#40 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Taipei Gala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Asia's most dynamic exciting, and influential metropolis, Taipei offers visitors the unlimited city experience, with exclusive shopping, great dining, and never-ending entertainment.Perfectly situated for the business and leisure traveler, Gala Hotel's distinctive address is midtown Taipei on Sung Jiang Road is in the heart of Taipei's most prestigious shopping, cultural, and business neighborhood.The business traveler will find the financial district right next door, and most midtown business are within walking distance from the hotel.Established in 1980, Gala Hotel has more than 30 years of experience in the hospitality industry and has been presented with numerous awards by the government as well as compliments from customers.Gala Hotel remains a state-of-the-art facility by renovating and innovating. Recently remodeled. Each guest room has been completely renovated and refitted to continue to meet the modern traveler's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Taipei Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gala Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing