We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel in a great neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Ranked #19 of 583 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2017

I rarely stay at the Shang but this time travel compulsions had me at the Shang in Taipei. This is a lovely property with great staff in a very cool neighborhood.

The rooms are very conformable and spacious enough for a couple. The toilet and bath area is quite big too with a nice big bath tub. The hotel provides some very nice amenities in the form of toiletries etc. which were clearly branded and expensive.

Hotel has a nice and big gymnasium with all sorts of workout equipment's and trainers etc if you need any.

The pool was a disappointment. The reception informed me that there were two pools, one on level 6 and one on the rooftop. When I went to level 6 I was informed that the pool on level 6 was closed. The rooftop pool is quite stunning with lovely city views etc. but the pool itself is not very suitable for laps. On the roof I realized that the shape of the building tower is cylindrical, making the rooftop circular, and hence the pool is very odd shaped, like a chinese fan unfurled. Imagine a Jacuzzi at the grip of the fan and as you move out towards the curved edge, the pool becomes deeper. In short, there is space for only two or maximum three swimmer to do actual laps and the rest can simply soak in the pool and enjoy the views. Pool is particularly crowded in the morning between 630-730 AM. In the evening after 630 PM I found it practically empty on the days I visited. So plan your swims in the evening if you want some exercise.

The ambiance all over the hotel has been created with great taste and detail. Oriental art, pottery, vases, urns etc are placed beautifully all over the hotel. Each exhibit has a plaque detailing the period, style etc, of the exhibit displayed. Take the time to read, since it provided me some great insights into the cultural heritage of the region.

The neighborhood around the hotel is lovely. Just down the road there are two great SPA's (Royal Massage) and (Villa Like). I tried the 'Royal Massage' and it was heavenly, clean, great service and very reasonable priced. Locals recommended it too and they were not wrong. All around you there are small restaurants and bars making this a great neighborhood to stroll around and pick from a variety of food and drink options.

I did not eat any meals at the hotel and hence will not be able to comment on the food. I am sure though that the food will be great.

All in all a great location and a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kishore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 September 2017

Dear Kishore M,

We thank you very much for taking the trouble rated and commented us online after your recent visit. Your various findings and feedback will act as a source of further improvement and encouragement to those team members, we appreciate so much on your constructive comments.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely yours,

Emil Leung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

Pro n con at same time : there is direct airport bus to hotel to save hassle, but on other hand , hotel is far away from the 2 nearest subway stations which are 10 minutes away (Liuzhangli on yellow line) and 15 mins (Xinyi Anhe on red line ). It is quite a bit of walking especially under the hot summer sun in August .
The room design is weird - bedside tables do not have drawers and there is no proper wardrobe . The wardrobe is 2 L-shaped sliding doors pulled together , which is best left open than closed ( takes up space when closed). I don't know if all rooms are like that but mine is like this.
There is a wet market selling just about everything from food to clothes just across the street ( partially hidden by a small indoor parking lot ) We enjoyed fresh fruit juice especially sugar cane juice on its own or mixed with lime or other fruits for your picking . Be there early cos it closes for the day after 12 noon or so.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J2870QKangelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

Dear J2870QKangelah,

We thank you for taking the time to leave a tripadvisor review commenting after your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your various feedback and for showing your support to the property.

On behalf of all our teams and colleagues, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to your "home away from home" when in Taipei.

Best regards,

Emil Leung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

In the 5-Star hotel rating, it's pretty hard to stand out because usually standards among the chains are always pretty high. That said, I will say that the Far Eastern Plaza hotel DOES manage to amaze me when it comes to Service and hospitality. I've been to all the hotels in Taipei and this one is clearly the best.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DHChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

Dear DHChicago,

We sincerely thank you for your kind feedback and good words. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the pleasure of having you back to Taipei in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Emil Leung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I stayed for 4 nights while on business in Taipei. I arranged their pickup from the airport and it was fantastic. Nice car and driver, and was met at the hotel door by name. Check-in was in my room (via tablet) and nothing was too much trouble. I realise it is not the cheapest hotel in Taipei, but I can honestly say you get what you pay for at this hotel. Probably the best hotel experience I have every had. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 September 2017

Dear Stuart P,

We thank you very much for the kind feedback and comments received online which can assist us maintaining and improving service standards and upgrading facilities at all times.

We do hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely yours,

Emil Leung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

i booked this hotel so my baby can enjoy the rooftop pool, they did not inform me before checkin or upon checkin that the pool was under renovation, then at breakfast there a waitress that keeps bugging me that my breakfast was not included, i booked a family package and a premier room at that, called front desk and also was told that breakfast was not included, i asked for a manager that i can talk to, and front desk said that theres no manager for that day, i've stayed in many shangrila hotel and this is by far the worst

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank applegiovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 September 2017

Dear applegiovan,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing of less than satisfactory experience on your recent stay. Upon receipt of your comments, we have immediately investigated this should be avoided incident and realized that this benefit was incidentally not shown on the profile therefore this inconvenience created.

Again, our sincere apologies, we do hope that this will not deter you from coming back to Taipei and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you once again at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei.

Best regards,

Emil Leung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
W Taipei
#18 of 583 in Taipei
2,686 reviews
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#28 of 583 in Taipei
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent Taipei
#499 of 583 in Taipei
2,472 reviews
Hotel Eclat Taipei
#14 of 583 in Taipei
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Address: No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 583 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: €223 - €340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 15 minutes from Taipei Songshan Airport, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei soars 43 stories above Taipei's premier business and entertainment district with sweeping views of Taipei 101 and the city skyline. Guests may find 4 fine-dining restaurants, a buffet restaurant and 3 lounges in the hotel. The Health Club features a gym, oil massage services and 2 outdoor rooftop swimming pools, while The Horizon Spa provides guests with numerous aromatherapy and beauty services in a serene space. A total of 11 function rooms ranging in sizes suit different customers' needs. In addition, complimentary access to in-house wired Internet and Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing