We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Want Residences
Ranked #13 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“totally love this hotel”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

we stayed here last year in july for 3 nights and we totally fallen in love this hotel

the staff were all polite and open the doors and press elevators for you with a bow and a smile, i think they were the best staff service i had ever seen. they would even hail the taxi for you n help you plan your destinations.

love the decor of the lobby and basement, totally very grand for the area it's in. And i love the biscuits n sweets around the sitting lobby place cos i grew up with wang wang biscuits and it brought a smile to my face everyday

the only downside would be the breakfast, very normal n not very exciting as its pretty much the same everyday.

we had one of the parkview rooms and we love the layout of the room, tastefully decorated, very classy and clean. The bathroom was definitely very nice, with our favourite big sunken bathtub and huge shower. Best bathroom ever, n i forgotten to mention the interesting toliet bowl that has heating and open n close sensor.

We never wanted to leave this hotel n explore taiwan, but we definitely will be back the next time we come to taiwan n wont book other hotels in taipei!!
(had a bad experience with another hotel n no other hotel in taiwan can compare)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joannegoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Public_Relati0ns, 公關經理 at San Want Residences, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Ms/Mrs joannegoh,

On behalf of the on-site staff and the Management Team, it has been a pleasure for us to serve you for your stay in San Want Residences Taipei.

We sincerely appreciate you sharing with us your valuable comments in Tripadvisor. You have kindly encouraged to us. Your positive review and valuable comment are a great inspiration to us and provides us with motivation to improve and enhance our service. We appreciate your invaluable input, and it is guests like you who took time to provide us with feedback truly allow us to improve our services and facilities.

San Want Residences Taipei Team strives to maintain the high quality service standards. We constantly renew our breakfast varieties and wish to bring new dishes for our hotel guests to taste. We also provide customized egg cooking for our guests and personalized food preferences prior to the day. If there are any special requests to your needs, please do not hesitate to let us know on your next stay.

We value highly of our guests' feedbacks because these are what makes us improve and reach an even higher quality of service. Therefore, we would be most delighted to see more of you in the future and assist you in anyway we can.

We sincerely look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you again.


Sincerely yours,
PR and Marketing Manager
San Want Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    179
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
179
146
84
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The stellar reviews for this hotel are well deserved. We were met at the airport by a hotel driver who whisked us to the hotel in comfort. At the hotel, the staff was very professional and attentive. Our room was clean and spacious. Plus it had the nicest hotel bathroom I've ever seen: sunken Japanese-style tub, shower with ceiling-mounted shower head, and a heated, computerized toilet with more features than my car. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. We will be certain to stay here again the next time we are in Taipei.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This is my first time to Taipei and selected this hotel based on the reviews. As I'm traveling with an adult group, San Want Residences is the perfect solution as they cater more for business travelers. Their rooms are nicely decorated and well appointed. Elegant touches to even having your name on a personal welcome screen on the flat screen with free & fast wifi throughout the hotel. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Will try the meals in the morning and add to this review later. So far the staff have been very pleasant and attentive.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VinceChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Went to San Want Residences recently based on reviews here. It is a lovely little hotel with great service. It was drizzling when we arrived and a staff was there with an umbrella as soon as the taxi drew up. Luggage was immediately taken care off and check-in was a breeze. The room was a little small but comfortable. The snacks and fruits available in the breakfast room all day was a nice touch. They were more than sufficient for a light meal. It saves having to go out to look for food especially when one is tired and just needed a rest upon arrival.

The hotel has good vibes. The staff seems genuinely happy and provided friendly and efficient service. We had an early morning flight and had to check out before 5 a.m. Even so early in the morning, they were bright and alert. Check out took less than 5 minutes and they got us a packed breakfast to go.

They now have free wifi. The user id and password were all prepared when we checked in and we did not have to ask for it. The bandwidth is fairly fast and the connection good. In the room you get all the usual toiletries and amenities. The only gripe is the automated toilet seat with the oversensitive cover which opens with a whirl every time you go near it. The toilet is fairly small so that makes for a lot of opening and closing.

Although not located in a shopping belt, there is the Shin Kong department store near enough. At a stroll, it is about 10 minutes walk. Along the way there some small shops to make the walk not too tedious. The Zhong San station is also within walking distance so it is fairly convenient if you prefer to go else where to do your shopping or use the trains for travelling around the city.

Overall, we had a happy and would visit again if we go again to Taipei.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aerielie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I stayed twice in this hotel and I will stay in this same hotel again by end of this week. San Want Residences is a best kept secret. Rooms are always very clean, good size bathroom, powerful shower, free room Wi-Fi , attentive service and a good selection of fine quality breakfast buffet.

It got everything a traveler wants. Excellent value. Congratulations to the hotel management team.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKCLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 571 in Taipei
1,352 reviews
Songshan District
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent Taipei
#20 of 571 in Taipei
1,883 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#23 of 571 in Taipei
1,543 reviews
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
#40 of 571 in Taipei
3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Want Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Want Residences

Property: San Want Residences
Address: No.128 Section 1, Nanjing East Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taipei
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#13 Business Hotel in Taipei
#19 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Want Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About San Want Residences TaipeiSan Want Residences Taipei formally opened its doors for business in March 2008 and aims to exceed guest satisfaction and achieve the attentiveness found in leading luxury hotels. San Want Residences Taipei is a sophisticated bolt-hole in the centre of Taipei, a tranquil alternative to staying in a bustling city hotel. Located in Taipei Nanjing East Road, and adjacent to the LinSen Park, the hotel is surrounded with international designers’ boutiques and offers easy accessibility to MRT station. San Want Residences Taipei is the latest boutique property carefully selected to join Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SLH). The hotel has an impressive collection of artworks and sculptures by contemporary Taiwanese artists, adding a special element to your experience. In addition to the museum boutique concept, the hotel also offers office use facilities especially for our business travelers. Equipped with selected office stationeries, the spacious office desk features multifunction HP laser jet machine to fax, print and copy. With an access to project laptop screens to the 37” High-Definition LCD television, each guestroom offers wireless and high-speed fiber optic Internet Access and free cell phone rental to fully support your business requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Want Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Want Residences Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing