We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i <3 dumplings”
Review of Din Tai Fung (Chung Hsiao Road) - CLOSED

Din Tai Fung (Chung Hsiao Road)
Price range: US$5 - US$60
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Songshan District
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“i <3 dumplings”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

i am not 100% sure if this the location i went to in taipei, but whichever one i went to was great.

their xiao long baos are some of the best i have ever had- in competition with joe shanghai's in ny. the ones at din tai fung are less greasy and soupy, and i have trouble deciding which ones i like more.

if you like taro, i STRONGLY recommend their taro xia long baos. DELICIOUS.

i have also been to one of their locations in LA- this one blows that one out of the water.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wunderlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    108
    32
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A fun and enjoyable Chinese dining experience”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This place is a great time. You stand on the street and order your food before you're seated. Not sure what to eat? You really can't go wrong but you're sure to find people milling about who are willing to offer suggestions. When a table opens you'll be seated and your food arrives as its ready. Sit back and enjoy. You can always order more. Don't miss the juicy pork dumplings or the Won Tons in Spicy Sauce. Awesome!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sabos93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Shouldn't be missed.”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Always the best steamed dumplings, always the best egg fried rice. The difference between their dumplings and others is in the smooth taste of their oil- only the best pork fat is used. Sorry if this sounds bad for your waistline, but actually nothing they serve would be called oily. It's just that subtle flavor that makes these dumplings superior. The fried rice is so simple, but I've never had better. If you're in Taipei, you can requests their truffle steamed dumplings that are not on the menu. They aren't really "Chinese", but if you like truffle you have to try them.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank w44566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Famous Taiwan restaurant”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Great service (pretty waitress), quality food standard (price is lower than singapore).

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Paul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best customer service ever!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Soup dumplings are amazing!!! Plus you get 5 star service and food for 3 star prices.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank somaSt_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Din Tai Fung (Chung Hsiao Road) also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing