We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm, Friendly and Welcoming Oasis in Thamel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Holy Himalaya
Ranked #60 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Holy Himalaya was initially recommended to me by a very friendly and reliable tour and trekking operator who is also based in Thamel, Rishi Nepal, proprietor of
Encountersnepal dot com, and I have been staying at this hotel since 2012 each time I visit Kathmandu for teaching and further travel in the Himalayas. My seventh stay here was in September 2017. The location is so central, yet quiet as the hotel is situated in an easily accessible back lane. Security is great there but even more importantly, the staff are just always so obliging and friendly. Breakfast, consisting of a variety of tasty dishes, freshly baked cakes and pastries, fruit and juices, is always plentiful and delicious. If you are a coffee drinker, the complimentary cappuccinos with breakfast are as good as any I have had in Sydney or Melbourne as the staff who make them have been expertly trained and the local coffee they use has a wonderful flavour. Black, masala and other teas are also generously provided at breakfast. There is always a supply of filtered water available in the dining room, for you to top up your bottles which are provided in your room filled, hermetically sealed, when you arrive. Rooms are spacious and kept very clean, have television and air conditioning and the bathrooms are also perfectly clean and adequate with plenty hot water. The hotel wifi is generally very reliable also in the rooms. You can exchange foreign currency for Nepalese rupees at the front desk at a fair rate. Wonderful, colourful shops full of locally produced garments, jewellery and handicrafts are found right near the hotel and plenty more are to be found two minutes' walk from there, where there is always plenty of life, something I always miss for the first few days each time I return home. Just up the road, there is also the excellent Gaia Cafe. You can amble through the paved lanes brimming with a diversity of shops and businesses and vegetable stalls to reach Durbar Square in about 20 minutes.

For the price, I doubt you could find better anywhere in Kathmandu. I am grateful to both Encountersnepal dot com for this recommendation and to the welcoming and helpful staff who make my stay so enjoyable every time. Hotel Holy Himalaya is a wonderfully calm retreat from the hustle and bustle of this teeming and vibrant city and I look forward to my next stay there and also my next Himalayan experience with Encountersnepal dot com l when I travel back to Kathmandu next year.

Room Tip: Sometimes the lift fails due to problems with electricity supply so if you are not a trekker, book o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolyHimalaya, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holy Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Namaste!
Greetings from Holy Himalaya family,
Thank You for your gift of feedback to us. we are very much pleased that you had a wonderful time with us. we always believe on the service and try to do best to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. we believe all the costumer find their home at the heart of Kathamandu, (Thamel).
hope to see you in next time.

warm regards,
Pradip Adhikari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Basic but really clean and tidy hotel, well located to the hustle and bustle of Thamel. The staff are excellent and willing to assist however they can. We stayed extra nights due to Lukla weather issues and even when fully booked they found us accommodation in close by hotels like Hotel Fuji (which is also excellent). The included breakfast is good and the coffee of very good quality. Hopefully I will return to Nepal at some stage and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OutdoorAdventures_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolyHimalaya, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holy Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Namaste!
Greetings from Holy Himalaya family,
Thank You for your gift of feedback to us. we are very much pleased that you had a wonderful time with us. we always believe on the service and try to do best to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. we believe all the costumer find their home at the heart of Kathamandu, (Thamel).
hope to see you in next time.

warm regards,
Pradip Adhikari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

In the heart of Thamel the Holy Himalaya is a great place to spend some days in Kathmandu before or after a trekking. The room are well equiped and clean. Excellent breakfast buffet. Staff is friendly and helpful,

Room Tip: Rooms in front are even more quiet than the rooms in the back.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Maarten1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolyHimalaya, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holy Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Namaste!
Greetings from Holy Himalaya,
Thank You for your time to write comment on us .Your view about Holy Himalaya are very much valued. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at here.
Hope to see you in next time.
Warm regards,
Pradip Adhikari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

The hotel, has a great walking location and is extremely clean. The staff Is very helpful and their laundry prices and service are excellent. They have the best coffee service and the plenty of hot water. The internet even works 24/7.

Room Tip: I like the rooms in the main building facing Thamel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humboldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolyHimalaya, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holy Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Namaste !
Thank You for your time to write review on us.Your view about Holy Himalaya are very much valued. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay here.
we always believe on the service and try to do best to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. we believe all the costumer find their own home at the heart of Kathamandu, (Thamel).
Hope to see you again.
Warm Regards,
Pradip Adhikari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Holy Himalaya several days before and after our trek.It was nice and quiet, good breakfast buffet which included top notch cafe lattes and cappuccinos. Close to all the action in Thamel. Staff was very helpful. Beds were soft or hard depending on which room you get. Hot water always available with nice pressure.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Coloxprt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolyHimalaya, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holy Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Namaste !
Thank You for your gift of feedback to us. Your view about Holy Himalaya are very much valued. We are very much pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay here.
Hope to see you in next time.
Warm Regards,
Pradip Adhikari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 km away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#20 of 210 in Kathmandu
824 reviews
0 km away
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
0.1 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Maya Boutique Hotel
Maya Boutique Hotel
#34 of 210 in Kathmandu
115 reviews
0.2 km away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#84 of 210 in Kathmandu
151 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holy Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holy Himalaya

Address: Brahmakumari Marg, Kathmandu 97701, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: €27 - €38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holy Himalaya 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holy Himalaya puts its guests right in the heart of Kathmandu's Thamel district, within walking distance to numerous bazaars, cafes and restaurants.Our hotel architecture is a traditional Nepalese Pagoda style with a multi-roof design. The hotel has 56 rooms which includes 43 deluxe rooms, 2 suite rooms and ONLY! 8 Standard and 3 budget rooms are without A/C. Mornings at the hotel start with an optional yoga class, and in the evening, guests can enjoy Nepalese food in the hotel's restaurant or savor a drink at the bar and rooftop terrace with magnificent views over the city and the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Holy Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holy Himalaya Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing