We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
483
58
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
58
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews everest room home away from home free tea and coffee hot water trekking company airport pickup away from the hustle and bustle friendly place top floor rooms are clean busy street side street thamel area hotel is located an oasis micasa sandesh
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 557 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Mi Casa is one of the hundreds of small guest houses located in a narrow side lane at the entrance to Thamel, the labyrinthine backpacking and trekking suburb of Kathmandu.

I have stayed in many hotels on Kathmandu and there is little about Mi Casa that would classify it as a hotel. It is certainly hospitable, and comfortable, and the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful, as they are in most of the smaller guesthouses I have stayed in over the years.
It is accommodation that suits the mid-priced budget recreational traveller to Nepal, rather than those visiting on business. While I stayed, Mi Casa appeared popular with female travellers, possibly due to its glowing reviews on TripAdvisor.

Mi Casa's location is good, on Trivedi Marg at the main entrance to Thamel, with numerous taxis at the lane entrance. It is only 100m from the wonderful Garden of Dreams. Fire and Ice Pizzeria is opposite the lane, and the local Starbucks clone, Himalayan Java, is also only metres away. All of Thamel's many hole-in-the-wall boutiques, trekking supply stores, restaurants, cafes, and bars are literally on the doorstep.

Mi Casa is small. Basically a four story house with nine rooms, each named after a mountain peak. Three rooms have access to shared outside courtyard spaces. The two highest rooms (including their suite) have outside access by a steel fire escape staircase - not ideal in wet weather. Like most older buildings in Thamel, there is no elevator.

The guesthouse reception is off a small gated courtyard. There is no off street parking. There is a lounge waiting area with bookcases on the ground floor.

Also off the courtyard is the undercover open-air dining area, with small kitchen and four tables. Breakfast is included. There are three set chioces; omelette, pancake or porridge, with fruit, toast, croissant and tea/coffee.
Tea and coffee is complimentary throughout the day for guests. Soft drinks and beer are also available, along with an array of teas.

Rooms are comfortable, with wooden flooring, Nepalese furniture, good aircon, flat screen TV, telephone, safety box, complimentary WiFi, and basic bathroom. Rooms are only serviced on request, not automatically or daily. Hot water is heated by solar power. Water pressure in the bathroom was very erratic although that may have also been due to the fact I was on the fourth floor.

Like all accommodation in Kathmandu, electrical power was supplied by generators at various times in the day due to the continuous rolling national power cuts known as "load shedding" which affects all businesses in the city.

Airport pickup is available for US$10 by prior arrangement. The Mi Casa management also own the the trekking company Take Me Trekking, which is located next door to the hotel/guesthouse.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

I book through email and they offer me free pick-up,I stay in manaslu room with attached bathroom and balcony ,it so cozy and nicely decorated room ,clean hotel and helpful staff ,I will back here again

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank shailesh l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Manager at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Namaste
Thank you for choosing micasa and left great review here. Yes we do have FREe pickup for direct email booking .we are so happy that you feel comfortable in micasa. Have good time ahead , hope see you again.
Regards
Micasa team and Shaila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place and booked it on a whim for one night. Later that day we cancelled our reservations at the 5 star we were supposed to go to the following day and extended our stay at this lovely boutique hotel.

The owner, Ramiro was extremely helpful and kind with an eye for detail. Every corner of the hotel is designed with extreme care and compassion.

Him and the staff make it a point to ensure every guest at the hotel has the best time possible in Kathmandu.

Cleanliness, location, service all stupendous. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rashiq M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Manager at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Namaste Rashiq,
Thank you and Namaste From Hotel Micasa, we are very pleased to your nice comment here and Stay in Micasa ,we are always happy to host you again and organized tour plan around in Nepal.Have a Great and wonderful time ahead.
Regards
Micasa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

The second time i have started there, they did EVERYTHING to help my business trip peaceful and caring experience. The rooms are wonderful
I enjoyed the one with a terrace. Simply a wonderful affordable place to stay whilst in Kathmandu, i would not look any further.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annasinclair32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Namaste Anna,
Thank you very much for your great review. we highly appreciated it ,we are happy that you feel comfortable and homely ,makes this review even more valuable for near future guests who may be choosing Micasa .Hope see you in Micasa again.
wish you wonderful time ahead.
Regards
Micasa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

It was my dream to nepal tour , finally i manage 7 days for nepal . I booked hotel micasa through email , they offer me free pickup from airport . Its was so warm welcome, annapurna room so nice and clean , it's amazing helpful staff , clean room and delicious breakfast .thank you for arranging nice kathamndu, bhaktpur city trip . I will definitely come back again . See you again micasa guys .

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ivan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmicasanepal, Owner at Hotel Mi Casa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great review ,we are more then happy to see your highly recommendation feedback. We try to make homely environment .Please feel free to contact us .hope see you again.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews