We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
182
147
64
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
147
64
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water nice balcony recommend hotel no lift first floor decent hotel clean rooms location is excellent pleasant stay restaurant staff the heart of the city excellent stay buffet breakfast budget hotel durbar square the hustle and bustle visit kathmandu
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

For such an economical stay this hotel is greatly situated in Thamel and the staff are fantastic! The rooms are a good size, the restaurant was open throughout the day offering a wide variety of food and drink. Would definitely recommend

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AnAussieAbroad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel T, Management at Hotel Thamel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Hotel Thamel. Thank you for giving your precious time for writing a wonderful feedback. We are very glad to hear your compliment regarding our hotel, staffs, facilities and services. We highly appreciate your feedback and will try to serve you even more better. We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in future.

Best Regards,
Hotel Thamel Family .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

My husband and I just returned from an extended stay in Nepal. Prior to and after trekking to Everest Base Camp, we stayed at Hotel Thamel. We spent a total of 2 weeks at the hotel and so enjoyed our stay. It is a charming, comfortable and peaceful haven from the busy, dusty streets of Kathmandu. We stayed in the suite on the 5th floor and found it to be very clean and comfortable. We especially appreciated the kind and helpful hotel staff. We found the entire staff to be extremely welcoming, friendly and eager to be of assistance. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning in the hotel dinning room and often ordered room service or ate other meals there as the food was so good. We highly recommend this hotel. The Jensens, USA

Room tip: This hotel offers excellent value for a reasonable price.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank leslieljensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel T, Management at Hotel Thamel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Hotel Thamel. Thank you for giving your precious time for writing a wonderful feedback. We are very glad to hear your compliment regarding our hotel, staffs, facilities and services. We highly appreciate your feedback and will try to serve you even more better. We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in future.

Best Regards,
Hotel Thamel Family .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Situated in very congested area.rooms and bathroom are very small. Room not well lit. WiFi is damn slow. Difficult to reach.not a very pleasant stay. Travel agency hasn't done Justice and not informed facts

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rajeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel T, Management at Hotel Thamel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Guests,

On behalf of the entire Hotel Thamel's team, I would like to thank you for taking time to share your kind opinion of your stay with us. It was such a pleasure to read that you found our hospitality very welcoming and staffs very attentive. Your satisfaction is worth value to our hotel.

If you noticed then the area of thamel is same in everywhere you go in thamel . For the rooms and bathrooms , it has sizes and it differs in rooms , if you have inform us then we could have manage it by changing the room , and for the wifi everywhere you go in any places, it won't be working at the same speed constantly .


Once again thank you for writing your review and for your kind suggestion. It will be a great opportunity for us to improve in this sector and helps to achieve a level to make our guest more satisfied in every prospective way. Thank you !

Best Regards,
Hotel Thamel Family .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Make the most of buffet breakfast as they offer a variety of foods. The staff are welcoming and cater to your every need. The wifi could have been better but to avoid constant, check out the balcony on level 2 or the roof top on level 6. I would recommend Hotel Thamel for a relaxing stay.

Room tip: Choose a room closer to the ground if you're lazy. There are no lifts but there is a nice roof top.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ReddieEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel T, Management at Hotel Thamel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Hotel Thamel. Thank you for giving your precious time for writing a wonderful feedback. We are very glad to hear your compliment regarding our hotel, staffs, facilities and services. We highly appreciate your feedback and will try to serve you even more better. We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in future.

Best Regards,
Hotel Thamel Family .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

I have been traveling to Nepal for the past 20 years and have always stayed at Hotel Thamel. The staff is friendly and willing to help you with any need. The rooms have been refurbished and are spotless. The wifi is excellent through out the hotel. Don't miss the breakfast buffet to get your day going. Hotel Thamel is located in the middle of the Thamel district with easy access to stores and restaurants. Enjoy your stay . Nameste!!!!!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel T, Management at Hotel Thamel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Hotel Thamel. Thank you for giving your precious time for writing a wonderful feedback. We are very glad to hear your compliment regarding our hotel, staffs, facilities and services. We highly appreciate your feedback and will try to serve you even more better. We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in future.

Best Regards,
Hotel Thamel Family .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews