We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Save
Review Highlights
Very dirty but worthy

We saw an approach to Varanasi style crematoria ceremony, at the Bagmati river. Very interesting to... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
580romanp
,
Seville, Spain
Not for the Faint of Heart

The name says it all. It's what is done here. Interesting how this part of the world Lives...and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
FredL881
,
Hamptons, New York
Read all 1,317 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kathmandu
from US$60.00
More Info
from US$96.00
More Info
from US$50.00
More Info
Reviews (1,317)
Filter reviews
1,317 results
Traveller rating
646
436
169
37
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
436
169
37
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loved ones bagmati river pashupatinath temple dead bodies funeral pyre hindu culture holy men interesting experience interesting place whole process take pictures sacred place entrance fee world heritage site local guide death ashes
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 1,317 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Just on the rear of the Pashupatinath temple. It is a crematorium ground which also incidentally holds evening prayers (Aarti) daily which are quite a sight for first-timers. The Aarti is definitely recommended if in Kathmandu. It is usually taking place around the time of Sunset.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank DK6983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

I have to be honest, I was a little uneasy about this trip. That said, having a guide gave me a good insight into the culture and religious practices of the people. We were welcomed and were able to observe at a respectful distance. Take care if offered the opportunity to have a photo with monks as they will expect payment. We felt a pressured into paying over the odds. Overall, this was a worthwhile experience and I would recommend it to others.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank CDL2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Having had reservations about visiting here, I am glad I did to see into another world of Hindu ceremony. Deeply moving.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

There was a lot of beauty with the ceremonies but watching families and communities prepare their loved ones for cremation felt very invasive. Some families had professional wailers but most of the people were genuinely mourning so having tourists take pictures and gawk was unsettling to me.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Mel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

If you have guide you will get so much out of this trip. The sights and sounds are at first strange but the rituals are fascinating and the public are welcomed. Cows wander around, families prepare their departed on the banks and then you see the open air cremations and later the families returning for ceremonies with a priest. Very interesting, worth an hour’s visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank janeandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews