We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Japanese”
Review of Tamura

Tamura
Ranked #392 of 991 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Locate within the premises of Hotel Kido, a unique Japanese Hotel. Both the food and the ambiance was also appreciated by the local Nepali and other expatriate communities as the restaurant had visibly brought a whole new flavor and culture in town.Our aim at Tamura is to provide the ideal ambiance to enhance your dining experience. Since our inception in 1992, our food and atmosphere has been very popular with those seeking true Japanese flavor and touch. We also provide Zasiki, the sitting style unique to Japan, and sake, a perfect complement to any meal.
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Pleasant elegant zen venue affords nicely presented authentic Japanese delicasies. Limited fish selections, but finely made fare make this restaurant maybe the best of it's kind in Kathmandu. "Oishi".

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

Tamura is hands down one of the most authentic Japanese restaurants in Kathmandu. While their sushi, sashimi and udon are definitely worth trying, I would highly recommend you to have their pork stew with sticky rice. It never fails to disappoint! Good food with a reasonably good price along with hospitable staff makes me want to visit Tamura time and again!

Thank Mahima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Clean, nice & quiet. This lovely place tucked away amidst the residential area was a revelation for us. The quiet surroundings aways from the hustle and bustle simply added the quality to our nice family dinner. The mixed sushi, roast chicken, prawn tempura, miso soup with rice and pickles were just perfect. I would definitely rate this as the best Japanese cuisine in town.

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RajuS636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A calm environment with classy touch of Japanese cuisine. Good food..good value of money!
Note* The restaurant opens only after 5.30 PM in the evening

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ch8un
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amalpradhan, Manager at Tamura, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Its always been great to get good reviews about our restaurant. The reviews that you all provide helps us to correct our mistakes and motivate us to make your visit to our restaurant more pleasant. Keep on visiting us and suggest your friends and families to visit Tamura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

It’s been nearly five months since our last visit to Tamura. I think one of the best things you can say about a restaurant is that it is consistent. In the case of Hotel Kido’s Tamura, it is consistently good.

After doing a bit of shopping in Patan, my wife and I traveled to Tamura for lunch. We ordered mixed tempura, tuna and salmon sushi and mixed sashimi. As with our prior visit to Tamura, all was up to snuff.

This quiet retreat is not the easiest place to find but is worth the effort.

Date of visit: October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amalpradhan, Manager at Tamura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you all for visiting our property and reviewing your value able comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamura also viewed

 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Tamura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing