We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mi Casa(Kathmandu)
US$45
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Andes House(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$18
US$12
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Yala Peak(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ganesh Himal(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$25
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Florid Nepal(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$18
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Moonlight(Kathmandu)
US$80
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$54/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$68
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$56
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
4
8
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
8
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2014

I stayed here for about a week in total and found it one of the better cheap-hotels in central Kathmandu. It is clean and has a kind staff that are helpful with any issue you might have. The rooms are nothing special, but are ideal if you are a backpacker who's just looking for a decent hotel, when you've grown tired of those extremely cheap but rather nasty hotels/hostels that Kathmandu offers a lot of.
It is located in Thamel, which is where you'll find 90 % of all the hotels in Kathmandu and it's therefore very central to the most tourist part of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MartinHonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Two members of my tour group moved to Hotel Cosmic because the nearby hotel we were using was overbooked. They were a couple, and they had been apart for a long time.

When they took their room, they locked the door for some privacy. After only a few minutes, the building owner and two maintenance staff, without knocking, opened the door and barged into the room, finding my passengers en flagrante delicto. The owner and staff fled the hotel without apologizing.

Excuse was: manager hadn't had the time to sign my guests into the room properly, so the owner thought it was unoccupied. The manager said he hadn't had time to fill in the book, but there are other reasons why hotels don't properly record guests in their books. Anyhow, my group members were somewhat traumatized, and I spoke at some length with the owner who seemed contrite, but could find nothing constructive to say about the situation.

My students left straight away without spending the night, though they paid for one.

In other ways, the hotel seems extremely ordinary in a dowdy sort of way. It resembles the sort of low-brow business hotel you might find outside the Delhi airport, say. It is being added to so there is a lot of pounding. In view of my experience, there are a plethora of hotels in Thamel that would offer better value and a more pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I basically lived at hotel cosmic for 2 months. It's cheaper than a lot of other hotels but has better rooms, showers (mostly always hot which is a luxury), service, and Internet than other places I stayed. The family is so nice and helpful- they want to make sure you are comfortable. The kitchen and food is great and you can get room service. It's a smaller hotel and feel intimate in that way. Really comfortable and quiet for Thamel. Actually a good location for Thamel because it is off of the main street. I loved it here. I would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed at Hotel Cosmic before and after our two week hike through the Annapurna Circuit. The rooms were clean enough for the price (only $12 a night - what can you expect?), but the staff was extremely kind and accommodating, along with their roof top restaurant being a wonderful place to spend an afternoon having lunch.
If you're looking for a cheap place to stay that is walking distance from the main part of Thamel, book here.
Thanks so much,
Brandon and Nicole - San Diego, CA

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed at Cosmic for about 2 weeks. I had a front room (facing the road) so at times it was quite noisy (namely dogs barking). The rooms were very clean, and the basic breakfast on the roof was tasty, and the service very good. The best thing about this hotel is the staff and family. They are the most friendly people, and they don't mind a game of cards. If you ever have spare time while in Thamel, chill out with the family and get to know them, it is most certainly worth it. I would defenitly use this hotel again, for budget accommodation, but also for the rich family experience. =) I miss you guys!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muscularhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews