We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Valley Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
US$139
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Thamel(Kathmandu)
US$36
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
US$200
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
US$124
US$118
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Buddha(Kathmandu)
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$28
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
18
15
12
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
15
12
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed here for a night recently and it was fine. My room was big and had hot water (always a plus in KTM). Staff were helpful, there was a drinking bottle water refiller for 10 rps (again always useful in Nepal) and breakfast included in cost which was buffet-style. Building very clean and large. However at 1200 rps for a night though it was a tad expensive for what it was. So no complaints but better value can be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homeward2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Spent one night at this beautiful guest house in April 2013. What really impressed me was the quality of the facility for the budget price, and the cleanliness . The breakfast was very good and included in the rate of my room. Unfortunately I had to cut my visit short as this popular guest house was full and I had a problem climbing the four flights to my room. The view was amazing. The only negative for me was the inability to do wifi as there were so many power cuts, a situation very common in Nepal. I also found the bed more than firm which made it difficult for me to sleep, however that is such a personal situation that I could not say it is a negative for everyone.The location was very good very close to a supermarket, and within walking distance to shops and to the Stupa. I recommend this guest house to anyone looking for value for their money. What would make this guest house exceptional is lit hallways, I found them very dark and someone with poor eyesight could find them hard to manouver.

Room Tip: The room on the fourth floor had no fan or ac would get very hot certain times of year, there are no electric plugs in the room except for the bathroom, the kitchen which was included in the price had many plugs, bring a converter
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easygoingtraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The valley guest house is not fancy, but it has frills anyway. Great staff, good food, superlative location, and a wonderful rooftop that calls out for you to spend time on it. In winter it's cold; and the water and electricity suffer from general Kathmandu problems, but that's Kathmandu. The Valley Guest house makes the best of things, has the friendliest staff you'll find, is next to the best restaurant in Bouddha, and will always welcome you back.

Room Tip: South side in the winter! For the sun. And higher up, as the monastery to the south blocks a lot of light.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Great location and a very good breakfast included. But the budget rooms are on the dark side of the building and can be cold and moisty. You might have to ask for an extra blanket in the dry/winter season. The large sun-side rooms are not really budget rooms. Rooftop terrace is a great place, nice Stupa view, and can be very warm and relaxing. But as most of the building it needs soms renovation. The Dutch and Nepalese flagg on the roof are for example worn down, and that's a shame! Seems that the managment does not pay much attention to the (rented) building, they don't live nearby and leave it over to the staff most of the time. The staff is kind and modest, but not very involved. A lot of Dutch visitors. WiFi worked in room 107. Most times I had a cold shower, but that's also depending on when to take a shower. And it seems that rooms on the top floor have more hot water. In general it's better to check the reviews if you want to stay in a place with a guarenteed hot shower in Nepal (which I did find).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

This guesthouse is clean and has nice rooms. From the rooftop terrace you can overlook Kathmandu, and see the Boddhanath stupa. The location is great because of the atmosphere around this stupa, and it is quiet at night :) The only downside is that half of the personnel is not really friendly. They seem to care more about their laptop and Facebook than helping people. Other half is helpful, so it depends on who you deal with. I would recommend this guesthouse if you seek a quiet and clean place in Kathmandu!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelKv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews