We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
26
26
13
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
26
13
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2015 via mobile

I would recommend Shechen Guest House as a quiet escape from Kathmandu's hustle and bustle. The rooms are simple and clean, with attached bathrooms. Hot water isn't reliable as it relies on a solar system, if the weather isn't sunny the water won't be hot. I had one very refreshing cold shower! Breakfast is included and is plenty. Great to be close to the monastery and world heritage listed Stupa.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DebsTravelTipsAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015

I spent my first 2 nights in Nepal here and have found this a peaceful place in which to recover from jetlag and from which to explore Boudha and Pashupatinath on foot without having to deal with taxis. The rooms are monastically simple, the hot water is restricted, so is electricity, but you can charge devices at the reception at all times, and the wifi is pretty good. Bring earplugs to shut out the barking of dogs ar night,a nd if travelling at this time of year, bring a warm blanket or jumper as the nights can be cold and the windows are mosquito nets rather than glass. I felt more comfortable using my own sleeping bag rather than the blankets provided. The main charms of the place itself are the lovely garden and view from the roof terrace. This place attracts pilgrim type tourists of all ages rather than the standard backpack traveller, so it is as easy to fall into conversation as to have your wish for silence respected. Just outside the room there is a top vegetarian restaurant where you can even trust the salads, sit in the sun and enjoy a tea. This is excellent value for money and I will come back on my next stay.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

there are better place in the area....and the price is not that cheap for the quality......yes there is a garden....room are not that nice....and the food well.....i don't know if it is the place to be???????
but I think there is a lot of fashion to say that you are staying in Shechen......is it the tibetan popularity///////

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank romandejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2014

Everything here attracted me to come back again, the helpful staffs, peace and tranquility , beautiful garden and the convenient location. The price of room is inclusive of breakfast and personally I find it very reasonable.

The guesthouse is beside Shechen Monastery. You can visit the gompa at certain time of the day and beside the gompa there is a bookstore where you can purchase books by Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche and other Buddhist texts.

The guesthouse location is free from the noises and hustle in the city and yet just 5 mins walk you find yourself in Boudha. I have stayed here twice with more than 10 nights in total and yes I will be back again!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank WendyZ442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

The garden in this guest house attracted my attention. This place is located beside a monastery and is really safe, especially for females travelling around Kathmandu. Services are very good. There was even wifi + printer facilities which made it so much easier to check in for my flight and print details. Charges are very minimal. Good breakfast menu with a few varieties, sufficient to satisfy the taste buds. Breakfast comes with the room package. However, the prices of individual dishes are considerably high when compared to normal rates around Kathmandu. Rooms are huge and beds are comfortable. Clean bathrooms with hot water at it's best during mid day. There is an upper deck where guests can hang their hand washed laundry. Laundry services are quite pricey. On the whole, I enjoyed my 3 nights stay there with tranquillity.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rajwinder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews