We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
29
27
13
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
27
13
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shechen monastery peaceful place excellent vegetarian buddha stupa bring earplugs hot water noisy city quiet garden wifi laundry
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 78 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Gosport, United Kingdom
3649
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed 20 and 21 April 2014.
Booked in person a couple of weeks before we needed the accommodation.
Shechen guesthouse is a real gem, and only a 5 minute walk from the Stupa. You need a torch at night, but the lane leading from the Stupa is very safe.
If arriving on foot you'll need directions from the main entrance to the Stupa site, and it'll take 10 minutes by foot. By taxi, you'll need to come in at the rear entrance to the guesthouse, otherwise the taxi driver will drop you at the main entrance to the Stupa site.
The accommodation is set around beautiful tended gardens, on ground and first floor.
In one corner of the garden is the restaurant, which is open all day, and serves up terrific food.
Our double room (Room 101) was clean, with a perfectly adequate wet-room. Sleeping wasn't a problem, even though the Shechen Monastery is fairly close to the accommodation.
Breakfast was included, and you can eat it in the beautiful garden or in the restaurant.
I could have spent all our time sat in the garden, it really is serene setting.
Staff were cheerful and smart. The guard on the gate arranged our taxi to the airport.
Cost for 2 nights for a double including breakfast was 3,200 rupees (£11 a night).
The Stupa site is a magical place, best enjoyed at dawn or dusk, but it's great all the time.
Lovely restaurant, with great food and charming staff, just off the Stupa, is Flavors.
Would we stay there again? Absolutely!

Room tip: All the rooms are set around the garden on either ground or first floor.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Adjacent to the impressive Shechen Tennyi Dargyeling Gompa found the Shechen Guest House to be a welcoming jewel set in beautifully tended gardens. There is an excellent vegetarian garden cafe here as well, although found it to be somewhat over-priced. My welcoming, comfortable room was sparkling clean with thoughtful zen touches of Tibetan art, attached bathroom, hot/cold water. Room rate includes a delicious breakfast; helpful, friendly staff, the office can arrange taxis & onward travel, internet/wifi & laundry services available. Throughout this calm garden oasis there are many places to sit & chill, read a book, enjoy a delicious chai or chat with interesting travelers To become one with the lively surrounding Tibetan Buddhist community, and enjoy all that this has to offer, it is a short stroll to the incredible Bodnath. Highly recommended .. will return here to stay once again on next trip to Katmandu, book as far in advance as possible.

Room tip: Rooms on 2nd floor are best
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anjali2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Shechen Guest House is located next to the magnificent Shechen Monastery at Boudha, Kathmandu. It has the most beautiful garden, clean rooms and is the best place to stay in Boudha. It has clean rooms all with attached bathrooms, and provides a wide range of services including booking short and long tours, arranging taxis, free Wi-Fi, and many other services. The best part about staying at Shechen is that all rooms look out onto the most splendid garden which provides peace and quite where you can relax and read and meet your friends or make friends with other guests. The Garden Cafe is open from early to late. For those wanting a taste of Tibet, the Guest House is part of the Shechen monastery area so you can experience monastery life during your stay if you wish, attending prayer ceremonies, hearing the chanting, meeting monks and taking in the sights and sounds. Shechen has single and double rooms and caters for individual travellers and groups and the room rate includes breakfast. Many first time travellers return to stay there when they are in Nepal.

Room tip: All rooms are comfortable and face onto the gardens. All rooms have attached bathroom.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PamelaSS888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A place where you can meet westerners who give up everything to become a Lama in the monastery. Besides, they have one of the best vegetarian restaurants in the city! Great place to know interesting people and enjoy the quietness at the same time if you are traveling alone.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ariaaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Shechen Guest house is located very close to the stupa in Bodhnath. It is about 5 minutes of walk from the Guest house to the stupa... enough to be a harbour of peace located just aside the hustle and bustle around the stupa. As soon as you enter the beautiful garden you can already sense the peaceful atmosphere of the place. The staff is very kind and helpful in any way. I travel to Nepal for 10 years and this is my preferred place in Kathmandu Valley.
The rooms are not luxury and a bit expensive if compared to other guest houses around, but the quietness and peacefulness of the garden is unique and inviting... and worth the price. It is a good place to make new friendships if you travel alone.

The only thing that prevented me to give an "Excellent" rating is the price of the food in the Garden Café of the guest house. Unfortunately it is absolutely overpriced although the quality of the food is very good. But you can eat three times in restaurants like Nir or Double Dorje for the price you pay in the guest house. That's why I only take my breakfast in the Garden Café and I avoid to eat there the rest of the day, although I certainly would if the prices were acceptable. I am sure that the restaurant would be full every lunch and dinner if the management of the monastery would make a little effort and reduce the prices.

The guest house offers laundry service but you can also wash your cloth and hang them on the roof for drying. And if you need some advice you will always get a satisfactory answer from the staff.

It was not the first time and I hope that I will be there again very soon.

Room tip: Rooms of the left side of the building (lowest room numbers) have more warm water in the winter than those on the right side. But you will most probably not be able to choose as there are not that much rooms and it is fully booked most of the time.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews