We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced low quality food”
Review of Nepali Chulo

Nepali Chulo
Ranked #235 of 995 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Cuisines: Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Nepali Chulo offers the finest traditional Nepali and Newari cuisine with a lively Nepali cultural program every evening.Nepali Chulo is situated in one of the oldest palace of the Rana family.the beautifully restored building reveals more then two centuries of history.for the comfort of our guest we provide a choice of seating arrangements(floor,Low chair and high chair)recreating an atmosphere of bygone years of up to 250 peoples.
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

The settings are okay, in an old building historically important I guess. But food is overpriced and quality is worst than roadside cheap Dal Bhat stalls. I think roadside hotels in Mugling serve better food than Nepali Chulo. For a plate of low quality Dal Bhat, which consists of old rice, smelly daal, some tarkari, greens cooked so badly, achar and meat item full of masala costs around 1000 Rs. Whereas the same type of food, maybe better will cost from 280 to 400 Rs. In other places all over Kathmandu. My advice: Go there if only you want to get ripped off.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank SamTastikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Last year we went to a "typical Nepalese dinner" and were underwhelmed. This year we went to Nepali Chulo and could not have been more surprised. Great food, great dancing/music. Highly recommended

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Restaurant is housed in a 200 year old palace. Food was reasonable and was served on brass plates. Entertainment was interesting. Drinks on the expensive side.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BronwenSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Fell on this restaurant by chance and loved it. Very authentic, great food, great service and amazing dancing.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank GoPhilanthropic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

I'm pleased to be at the Nepali Chulo along with my Thai friend, Ekhsam Chairson and team for a complete Nepali meals with cultural program.

I highly recommend to visit this place in Lazimpat, Kathmandu. Best location best atmosphere. Either for locally or along with foreigner friends who may want real Nepali test.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank treknepalintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nepali Chulo also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Nepali Chulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing