We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
11
15
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
15
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool is central kampala perfect location rooms are comfortable place to stay piatto bedroom business uganda balcony gym
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

I found Uganda's hotel prices to be pricey overall. For half of the price we were able to stay in hotels that were far cleaner and newer while we were in South Africa. When we arrived at Prestige we were disappointed to find our room not fully clean (dirt in the shower and on the couch), we were also informed we needed to pay more for our 1 year old and 3 year old. The location is directly downtown. The premises felt mostly secure but our deadbolt was completely broken. Reception area not updated. Overall friendly staff but was disappointed with the state of the hotel and the price they charged us.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Caryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsinKampala, Manager at The Prestige Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi Caryn

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear that you felt our price was too high, however, our prices, in all honesty, are actually quite low compared to other hotels in Kampala. For the size of the suite that we are offering (3-4 times the size of a standard hotel room) and the fact that we are very centrally located (only 6 minutes away from the central business district by walking), our prices in fact are quite low. Other hotels with smaller rooms than ours are charging upwards of $80 per person.

You booked a room for two adults at $100, which turns out to be $50 per person. This rate includes breakfast. Our rooms are air-conditioned, cleaned daily, we have a swimming pool, bar, free parking, free WiFi, 24 hour reception, laundry service. All these facilities are provided for the rate you are paying. Furthermore, you failed to mention that there would also be two children when making the booking. We charge an additional $30 per additional person in the room. As your children were young, we only charged you $15 per additional person.

For your booking with two adults and two children, this turns out to be $32.5 per person. I hope you can appreciate that at $32.5 per person, our price was extremely low.

I am very sorry to hear about the dirt in the shower and the couch. Cleanliness is our top most priority and I have already spoken to our staff about this and we will ensure it never happens again. My sincere apologies for this mishap.

Our premises are very secure, and all our doors can be locked from the inside. We would never put our guests in a room which cannot be locked. Our staff did accompany you and showed you that the doors could be locked.

Regarding the reception, we are currently playing around with a few ideas on how to make it stand out. We shall be updating it within the next few weeks.

I'm happy to hear you were happy with our service and staff.

As you are a budget traveller, I would advise you to look for accomodation on the outskirts of the city as this may fit your price range. Within Kampala city, it is always difficult to find accomodation at $30 per person. I'm sorry that you weren't entirely happy with our hotel, but we always endeavour to make sure all our customers leave happy. Unfortunately, in this case, there was no way we could reduce the price below $30 per person as we would be operating at a loss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Prestige Hotel has many confortable suites (only suites!!!!!!), with the dining room, bedroom and a beautiful balcony towards the city. The swimming pool is clean and available, there is a gym as well always open.
The breakfast is basic but delicious: fruits, eggs, bread and drinks.
This place is really wonderful and not expensive (A single suite is 70 USD)
I will be back here

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlotacconelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsinKampala, Manager at The Prestige Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hello Carlo

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

If you are coming to do business, it is very convenience since it is located close to any business related in Uganda, but no to close to be in the crowd, steps from everywhere. Management and staff are very welcoming and helpful. Still some renovations going. Rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eclipse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsinKampala, Manager at The Prestige Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We work very hard to make sure all our guests are happy. We have some renovations on-going over the next few weeks to make sure our rooms are always top-notch! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The building is a little run down, reception is also not up to standard but service was friendly and helpful. The under utilized pool area is extremely clean and inviting. Rooms are very spacious with balcony. Room has a bar fridge and a few basic utensils. Dining area used for breakfast is extremely big and a basic breakfast menu offered (ambiance not great, could do with some background music and more lights). There is a newly built casino across the road that is 5 star. I would return to this venue as it was also very nearby shops, restaurants, etc.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank BrettH_lucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsinKampala, Manager at The Prestige Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Many thanks for your kind review. We have some renovations on-going over the next few weeks that will ensure our facilities are on point. We provide a mini-fridge, kettle and complimentary tea/coffee facilities in the kitchen. And yes, we do have background music/lighting during breakfast hours now :) We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Was here in February 2017 with two other colleagues. Rooms have a good size, effective air-con, and excellent Wi-Fi. Excellent secure location in Kampala reduced travel time by hours. Lots of top-class restaurants around like Piato and Karveli, so always plenty of options for lunch / dinner. Breakfast served was continental and fresh. Affordable, and great overall experience, would recommend.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank falkop590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews