We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
30
86
79
33
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
86
79
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews airport transfer room service is convenient location enjoyed my stay kampala city shakira security gym maintenance
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

After travelling around Uganda for the past week and feeling very welcome, the staff here are rude and dismissive. After putting us in the wrong room, we were moved without any apologies. We were then given the wrong room key and again, no apologies when we went to corect the situation. Dinner was one of the strangest experiences and we had the distinct impression we were not welcome. The rooms are worn and tired looking . Would not recommend this hotel, would not stay here again

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kitsslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shali Priscilla S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Africana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for your comment.

We will look into the areas that you have mentioned and improve.

Hoping to have you stay with us soon again so as we can redeem our self.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

We did not enjoy our stay at hotel Africana. The biggedt reason for this was that when we went for breakfast, we were told we didn’t have breakfarst included. We weren’t informed of this when checking in. The breakfast was also very bad, and they charged us around 12 dollars per person each day, additional to the super expensive hotel rate, compared to the quality of the room. And when we checked out we had to pay additional 5 percent for paying our bill by card. While staying here, we had the feeling that they just did everything they could to get more money from us, without providing anything. When ordering food, you also had to pay, just to order. The beds were super hard, and we couldn’t sleep. We had been looking forward to spend a day by the pool, but there was just a couple sunbeds. And the few sunbeds were occupied every day. When the water is freezing, you would like to have a sunbed to warm up afterwards. It was also really hard to get food and drinks by the pool. The worst part was the attitude from the reseption when we complained about this. This is not a service minded hotel, and I would not stay here again. On the positive side, the location is good.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ellinor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shali Priscilla S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Africana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for your comments.

We have noted the areas that we lacked in service and we will put all the corrective measures necessary to improve in serving you.

We have taken not of the areas that we the Management need to look into.

Hoping to host you again soon to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

In general my stay was above okay. Food:The breakfast was good lunch cost about 20$.
Amenities: bulbs kept burning and weren't being changed. Wifi was flunctuating, which was hard as a foreigner with no local sim.

Customer Service: In general my interaction with staff around was pleasant, but not with front desk people. The lady at front desk on my check out was beyond rude.

Preferences:Ask for a room on the second floor and above as the views are better from there.

Activities:They had activities on Wednesday, which was a good time to interact with the locals. Shops and bars also available as well as a walking distance from the craft market.

Bummer:they have an early check out.Also $30 dollar charge to receive a guest.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jojolola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shali Priscilla S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Africana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for your comment.

We have noted the areas that we lacked in service and guarantee to make necessary rectification.

Hoping you will give us a second chance to prove that our service in a 4 star service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

The hotel has excellent rooms, very kind staff, good food. Their health club and fitness center is well equipped and has qualified instructors. I will recommend it for business meeting, gate-away and family holiday.

Room tip: Very well done rooms.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dennischaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shali Priscilla S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Africana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Maintenance of the room seems to be a challenge in Africana. Every time you check in you will have to ask for proper lights, bulbs, lamps Etc.
Breakfast is good but very limited options for vegetarians or Indian breakfast.
Shuttle service is effective.
Yet to emerge as a great destination for corporate customers with high end service and aggressive pricing structures.

Room tip: Maintenance is a challenge
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ashut2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shali Priscilla S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Africana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for your comment and have taken note on areas that we as the management need to improve so as to serve you well in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews