We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place”
Review of Speke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Speke Hotel
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The Speke Hotel is I think the oldest hotel in Kampala. Full of charm, very slightly tired. Enormously helpful staff, and the food at both the Italian/European restaurant and the Indian restaurant very good. The Indian restaurant, with its Gujarati curries frankly right in the top drawer - never had anything better and very few to equal them.

The hotel organised everything we asked for and promptly, rates were fair as and as quoted, rooms were clean albeit a little tired (mainly in terms of decor - but if you want to stay in a Sheraton and pretend you are not in a foreign country then dont stay in this hotel).

A great stay and highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony as far away from the Rock Cafe as possible - it runs late
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonB-HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    120
    48
    24
    13
See reviews for
27
22
34
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights after a trip to Northern Uganda where we were really roughing it. This hotel provided a clean room in a great location and we would most definitely stay here again!

Our room was air conditioned with two queen beds on the top floor with a lovely little terrace overlooking Nile Avenue. We spent a considerable amount of time sitting on the terrace watching the activity outside. The bathroom was basic but clean. The floors throughout the hotel are the original hardwood and stunning. A stay here really makes you feel like you're a part of history. Breakfast was provided each morning in the open air restaurant on the street level and it was wonderful! The Indian restaurant (also on the street level) was some of the best Indian food we've had.

The location was superb and we felt very safe walking everywhere. It's close to restaurants, bars, internet cafes, gift shops, parks and monuments.

It's a bit pricey, but well worth the splurge to stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Kampala : Speke hotel : ''Best place at heart of city"
Date : 4th march 2011
i have booked this hotel directly by sending an e mail. although never stayed before at this place, this time decided to stay at heart of the city. and place seem to be beyond expectations.

First, in comparision to other hotels at Uganda, this comes across as a relatively competitatively priced with good and friendly service. Indian restaurant at the downstairs and the lively bar attached to it adds stars to the hotel.

After a busy day at work and business, winding off at the Bar gives a feeling of remembering the place well after i have reached to India.

Its a value for money.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank balajee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The Speke, i guess was once a grand old hotel. In terms of age, yes it is old, but it is a little tired also as well as old. Unfortunately the company that now runs the Speke, have not bothered to invest in its heritage.

The rooms are clean and simple, the internet is reasonable fast for Uganda.

However the bathrooms that have obviously been upgraded look like they are out of a Miami Vice set, multicoloured circuit board style tyles and glass brick walled shower. This detracts from the old world charm of the Speke, and shows a clear lack of understanding from the hotel management.

B'fast is very very basic, and i cannot understand the lack of choices for fruit, with the abundance of fresh fruit that you can see for sale everywhere in Uganda. the juice they serve is from the carton, and pured directly into one of those slushy machines that slowly stirs the juice. again with the number of staff and the abundant and cheap fruit available WHY!!!!

i would like to see someone restore the speke to its former glory.

oh and the other problem is the prostitutes, too many hookers frequent the bars and restaurants within the Speke compound. its interesting at first to watch, but soons becomes very annoying, when you are getting hassled all the time.

Room Tip: stay on the backside of the hotel for silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dxbdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I stayed here in 2003, so this is probably a bit outdated. This is a very fun hotel to stay, full service with all the restraunts you need within the hotel compound, plus plenty of tour operators within walking distance (rafting, safari, etc...). The rock bar is a bit seedy, but there are guards and security everywhere and the rooms are very nice. It's definetly got the colonial feel to the place and judging by the pictures, not much has changed. I'd definetly reccomend it and try to get rooms on the facing the front. The rooms in the back are facing an alley where we saw the cops beating some poor chap!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftpinky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.6 km away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
4.3 km away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.1 km away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#14 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#13 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.6 km away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Property: Speke Hotel
Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#6 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Speke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing