We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
111
116
41
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
116
41
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake victoria golf course pro shop entebbe airport business conference rooms are beautiful golf club internet connectivity conference facilities lobby area swimming pool rooms are big tennis courts tilapia beautiful resort enjoyed my stay caddies
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

An establishment that adds to Serena's allure. Excellent service, good accommodation, good dining and fantastic grounds, pillars that all the Serena resorts/hotels i have visited seem to be modeled on . This consistency leaves no room for doubt when it comes to the selection of a place to stay either for leisure or work. This particular Serena has an impressive 9 hole golf course (soon to be 18 in October 2018) and world class club house. The expanse of Lake Victoria is the dominating feature and is is truly breathtaking. One negative would be the number of staff at the clubhouse during the week. We found that the clubhouse was a little understaffed during weekdays, negatively impacting speed of service.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiragu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Kiragu N,

Thank you for taking time to share this wonderful review! Your fantastic description of the Resort leaves nothing to imagination. We gladly appreciate rating us highly in regards to service, accommodation, dining, and a world class 9-hole golf course and for encouraging others to opt for it.
The transition from 9 holes to an 18-hole Championship Golf Course will give our guests new experience and different challenges at each hole and it is a service that we are anxiously waiting to provide.On that note, we do appreciate the time you took to share your concerns about staffing at the club house. Management has embarked on addressing the issue so as to continue providing the high-quality service the Serena hotels stands for.
Thank you once again for the feedback and for choosing Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort and Spa and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed at the Serena Golf Resort for two nights for a wedding. As other reviewers noted, there is a very rough, dirt road that you take to get to the grounds. The location on Lake Victoria is the best part about this place. The rooms are just shabby. The rooms seem like they were nice 10 years ago and were not renovated since then. The wallpaper is falling off the walls and the bathroom was just gross. It is a shame that this place hasn't been maintained because it has potential to be nice with renovations and updates. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this may not be the place for you as there are weddings and events playing loud music most nights.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SummerTrips2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear SummerTrips2,
I sincerely thank you for choosing to stay at Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa and also sparing time to share your experiences with us. It is quite unfortunate that you had to go through a rough and dusty road to the resort; we do pray the government embarks on constructing it though there is also an alternative Entebbe Express Highway that is smoother and more comfortable.
It is indeed regrettable that your room was shabby, the wall paper was falling, the bathroom was disgusting and there was loud music playing at night. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused and bad experiences you went through during your stay. We have taken your feedback positively and given the seriousness it deserves and we shall immediately work on improving our room product and control the loud music at night.
We do hope you will give us another chance to stay with us in order for you to see the improvement we have made as a result of your feedback.
Thank you once again for staying with us and we do look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

So, we have never stayed in the hotel but been twice for dinner.
The hotel looks very impressive with a stunning golf course as well.
Really beautiful outlook over Lake Victoria.

Restaurant we visited was "Citadel"
Really quiet, we went on a Saturday evening and we were the only in the restaurant.
Staff were great, very polite and attentive.
Food is great, well cooked and very tasty.

Prices.
So meals are very reasonably priced, a meal is around 40,000ugx £8

However what confuses me is a room to stay is over £200 per night at the weekend and around £300 during the week, I'm sorry but that's crazy.

Over all we will visit again for dinner but wouldn't be staying a night.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Britishtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Britishtraveller2,

First and foremost, I thank you for choosing to dine at Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa and sparing your valuable time to share your experiences with us. We have taken your feedback positively and promise to use it to provide excellent services.

It warms our heart to know that you have continued to love and support us and let me hope you enrolled in Serena Loyalty Program so that you can earn points on food, beverages, accommodation etc. We do also appreciate your feedback on citadel staff being polite, attentive and the food being well cooked and tasty as this has motivated us to ensure consistency is maintained in providing such services at all times.

I have also noted you were not given the best available rates for accommodation that I sincerely apologize. Please come and enjoy splendor and comfort that Serena has to offer by contacting reservationsLVSR@serena.co.ug to make your bookings. Our rates include use of gymnasium, sauna, steam bath, swimming pool and Wi-Fi.

Thank you once again for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

We made reservations to have dinner down by the dock at the golf club. When we arrived it seemed that there was no one to even check that we had reservations. I assume none are needed. We sat outside with a lovely view of the water and golf course. We tried ordering drinks from the cocktail menu only to be told they didn’t have the ingredients to make the cocktails on their menu. We tried to order wine from the wine menu only to be told they were not available.
We ordered tiger prawns which were great but that was our highlight of the night. Not sure it is worth what you have to go thru to get there.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ingrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Ingrid L,

I most sincerely thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your experience and for giving us a detailed and constructive feedback.

It is indeed regretful that we were not able to meet your expectations even after making reservations with us. We have taken your feedback positively and treated it with the seriousness it deserves. We have also identified training needs in our staff so that they can be able to suggest or offer alternatives to our guests. Please accept our sincere apology for the frustration and inconveniences we caused you that was certainly not the high-quality standards and principles that the Serena Hotels stands for.

Thank you for sharing and we hope you will give us a second chance to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Upon arriving at this hotel my hopes were set high. The architectural and grounds are lovely. Perhaps it helped a wedding party, in all their finery, were milling about.
My husband planned to go for a swim with our children, then we’d have dinner in the restaurant. The pool area was very lively with a live band in the background. Great!
Dinner was more hit-or-miss. The food was served at different intervals with a 15 minute gap from the first family member served until the last (fifth) person. Such a shame as my expectations for a lovely family occasion fell a little flat as a result.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank LizHarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear LizHarty,

I most sincerely thank you for choosing the Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa and also sparing time to share your experiences with us giving us detailed and constructive feedback. We gladly appreciate rating us highly in regards to our architectural design and having a lively pool area with a live band playing on the background.

It is indeed regrettable that you went through a bad experience in terms of our service at the restaurant a place you had come to enjoy with your family. We have taken your feedback positively and treated it with the seriousness it deserves and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
We remain hopeful that you will give us another chance to serve you in order for you to see the improvement and changes we have made as a result of your feedback.

Thank you once again for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews