We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor to terrible... find somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Abuja
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Poor to terrible... find somewhere else”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

If you're expecting Sheraton standards, find somewhere else to stay. This hotel is run down and overpriced (even acknowledging the high Nigerian prices). Price to value ratio would easily make this a "terrible" option but I'm not sure anything in Abuja is good value. The service is not good (we wanted to check in a few hours early after an overnight flight and they tried twice to charge us the full rate for the previous night). The rooms are run down, amenities are low quality from the soap to the TV. Mini bar is empty - reminds me of a cheap motel always where they're worried you'll steal the items!! Bathroom is totally run down - tiles are cracked, toilet seat broken, shower doesn't drain.

This after an upgrade!!! You don't get what you pay for here. Settle for less and pay less.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an upgrade. Having a Starwood card helps with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    122
    110
    91
    62
See reviews for
10
12
33
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel is very delapidated, we initially booked into the standard rooms which smelt of mould and the wall fittings were falling off. We kicked up a fuss and were upgraded to the "preferred floor" (!). the rooms were still fairly simple but adequate, but hardly worth the price!

the service was very average - I asked for a hair dryer which arrived 2 hours later (anyone that has been to Abuja will know that one's hair cannot stay wet for more than a few minutes really in the incredible heat!) and the same story went for the late delivery of the iron. Staff were not particularly friendly for the most part.

Worst of all the courtyard/Elephant Bar doubles as some sort of nightclub during the evenings with booming music that blares out late into the night!

The good points are the lovely pool and delicious food available at the range of restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricaBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanji T, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Abuja. I have just arrived as the new General Manager for the property with the principle objective of carrying out a complete renovation and up-grade of the Hotel. Whilst I do not have a ‘quick fix’ response to the overall condition of the Hotel, there are a number of issues, including what you have mentioned which can actually be addressed quite quickly and easily. Thank you however for the positive feedback related to the food. I assure you that all feedback is shared with the team here at the Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Chris Newman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abuja hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel need renovation: it reminds me of the 80's, I feel like I just took a trip back in time. For almost 300 usd I expect a nice room with a flat screen tv and a complimentary bottle of water at least. The restaurant buffet is not bad but the staff didn't even greet us or take drink orders till we asked, the front desk staff are friendly though. The water wasn't that hot either.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShallyWaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is a badly run and run down 1970's hotel that lures guests that think they are going to a top class international hotel. The staff are poorly trained, and bureaucratic, the rooms run down and musty. Unbelievable that they can charge close to $300 for such a place.

Room Tip: If you have no other options insist on the modestly upgraded rooms on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Banking0nlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed last year about 3 months in Sheraton Abuja, and in few days I will return to Abuja and of course I booked myself again at Sheraton. I read a lot of bad reviews about the hotel and the bar and I am really surprised. Yes, it is not like Sheraton in USA, or Sheraton in Europe, helloooo-you are in Nigeria. From my experience-everyone was very very nice, polite and helpful. Maybe those people who complained that they were treated bad, maybe they treated the staff very rude ( saw many foreigners talking with the staff on a very rude way).
I am a single female, caucasian, blonde, and felt really comfortable and safe at the hotel and at the Elephant bar. I am going very often downstairs to the Elephant bar and always I was treated very nice by the staff there. I never had a problem there, people who are coming to the bar ( girls and guys) were always polite to me. Nobody ever bothered me there, no one was rude-had actually lot of fun. The band is pretty good and I do enjoy having my glass of wine or a beer, chatting and listening to live band there .There are some prostitutes coming there-yes, and? They never bother me or my friends ( male friends) . So...from a perspective of a single caucasian blonde female it's a great place to hang out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.6 km away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
5.5 km away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#1 of 83 in Abuja
141 reviews
5.9 km away
The Nordic Villa
The Nordic Villa
#3 of 83 in Abuja
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#13 of 83 in Abuja
29 reviews
5.9 km away
SV Chrome
SV Chrome
#4 of 83 in Abuja
21 reviews
3.6 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Property: Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing