We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, but not pedestrian friendly.”
Review of Hotel Thule

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Thule
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed overnight at the Hotel Thule before heading out to Sossusvlei and other parts of Namibia. The friendly, helpful staff and wonderful views of Windhoek make this an attractive place to stay. And the breakfasts with the morning light can't be beat. That being said, without my own vehicle, I felt a little trapped away from the downtown area. A little too far to walk, though it can be done. And at night I was discouraged from going any where by foot. The rooms are large and comfortable and well maintained. I had wrestled with staying in a 'chain' at the brand new Hilton. In retrospect, it probably would have been a better match of comfortable accommodations in a more central location. Definitely liked the Hotel Thule, but for a New Yorker like me who likes to walk and explore, this was a bit more limiting.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

We had to stay in Windhoek due to flights and our tour company said Hotel Thule was great. Perhaps in the 1970s it was great, but today it looks and feels old.

The positive: Very clean and tidy, pleasant staff and great views.

Not so positive was the smell (sort of old musty), bed was small and hard, room was tiny.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gordon X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Hotel Thule is a very nice place for lunch or just a drink on the terrace. You have a beautiful view over Windhoek so it a great place to relax and prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ToonSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The warm reception my crew and I received on arrival at Hotel Thule together with a complimentary glass of something fruity was the start of a thoroughly enjoyable four night stay.

The bedrooms were spacious and well appointed and kept immaculately clean. The dining room (where breakfast is also served) has the best views in town and the food both in the morning and at night was excellent. The terrace bar is a fine place to enjoy a beer but if you're after something a little more lively then fear not as Joe's Beerhouse is just a five minute walk down the hill (and a steep walk or taxi ride back!)

The staff were all really friendly and accommodating and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area. If ever I find myself back in Windhoek I'll certainly be booking myself back in to Hotel Thule.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the car park are more spacious but it's quieter in the rooms out back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigermothflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Thule for just one night on our way to Etosha. It was a most enjoyable stay. The service was excellent, we got free internet access, free fruit in our room and a free bar fridge. Just because a few items are free does not make a good stay - the dinner was good - my kudu steak was excellent but Jennifer's Oryx steak was a bit chewy but still tasty and the views from the restaurant and bar are superb. We just wish the hotel had more floors so that the we could also see the views from our rooms.
In the past we have stayed at places like the Windhoek Country Club and we leave before breakfast for Etosha so we request a breakfast pack - the country club eventually gave us one after an argument but the Hotel Thule offered us one and it was a quality meal, not just a few things slapped together. We will be back in 2012!

Room Tip: The hotel has rooms on the ground floor and first floor in an enclosed area so passing traffic and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2.4 km away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,461 reviews
6.7 km away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
252 reviews
0.4 km away
Roof of Africa Hotel
Roof of Africa Hotel
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
386 reviews
7.8 km away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
2.4 km away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thule

Address: 1 Gorges Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range: €85 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Thule 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Thule was originally a one-time luxury home built by the late Edmund Lafrenz in 1960 as a sumptuous home for himself and his late wife, Liselotte. It was purchased by Windhoek businessman and entrepreneur, Wolfgang Egerer just before the turn of the century, who then reconstructed it into the beautiful up-market 25 bedroom hotel it is today. The outstanding panoramic views over Windhoek are a unique and unparalleled feature of this pearl of Namibia. Hotel Thule offers first class accommodation, quality service, tranquillity and style to ensure customer satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thule reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing