We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel with a restaurant to avoid”
Review of Hotel Heinitzburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Heinitzburg
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2017

This was the last night of our trip in Namibia and we've booked Hotel Heinitzburg to make it special. The hotel has an amazing location at the top of one hill giving us a fantastic view over Windhoek. That's one of the things we wanted: to stay relaxed having a drink on the fantastic terrace over this amazing view. We also wanted to relax at the swimming pool, but we had bad luck, as the weather didn't helped: thunderstorm and heavy rain. Anyway: the staff at the hotel is extremelly professional and helpful. The room was huge and beautiful having a very large bathroom. Plenty of space and spotless cleanliness. At arrival we've been asked if we wanted to make a reservation for the restaurant Leo's at the Castle. As we were in the mood for a special evening, we made the reservation. In the next morning we had a great breakfast at the terrace. It was great!

The restaurant "Leo's at the Castle" was a huge disappointment. Yes, you have a fine dinning ambiance in a classic decorated dining room, but... the food was pathetic. I can't understand how such a place can serve food like this: completely tasteless with wrong and pretentious element combinations. It seemed to us like if the food have been made by an inexperienced chef. I confess myself: I have eaten much better food served on flights. This has almost spoiled our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alberto_eme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Heinitzburg on the nights that we arrived in and departed from Namibia.

It's a really lovely hotel with wonderful views from the terrace. For our first night we were assigned a ground floor room, which was wonderfully spacious. The room for our second night was located upstairs and was significantly smaller, though this wasn't a problem for us.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We were extremely grateful that they were able to undertake some laundry for us at very short notice on our second night.

We only ate lunch here and this was very good value on both occasions.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

We had flown into Windhoek and were only staying one night on our way down to Sossusvlei. The hotel room was excellent - very large and well-equipped. We decided to have dinner in the hotel and sat outside on the terrace overlooking Windhoek at night. The service and meal were both excellent. Breakfast in the morning was an interesting buffet (although the room with the buffet was a bit small when lots of people trying to use it (that is only a minor issue, but worth bearing in mind). We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Heinitzburg castle has unrivalled views of Windhoek.
Celebration of my friend's 80 birthday was spoilt by stony silence of management to my complaint re dry, tasteless gnocchi. The efficient young Maitre D was very polite but I would have appreciated a word with management.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Big thumbs up
------------------
- When you walk into the room, it feels like you are transported few decades back. The opulence, choice of furniture and the warmth makes you feel very comfortable.

- Things move very elegantly around this hotel - service is top notch (particular mention about Ms. Freida at the front desk - she went out of the way to ensure I have a comfortable stay..Three Cheers !).

- Breakfast spread was excellent - didn't get to try the restaurants though for dinner service.

- Toiletries are of premium quality.

- WiFi is decent

- Beautifully located on a hill, offering a great view of Windhoek

What could improve?
---------------------------
- Rooms could do with a coffee maker
- Come on guys, you can always serve a complimentary bottle of water

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VijayRaghunathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.8 km away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,429 reviews
1 km away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
5.3 km away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
249 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#3 of 17 in Windhoek
235 reviews
2.2 km away
Roof of Africa Hotel
Roof of Africa Hotel
#9 of 17 in Windhoek
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heinitzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heinitzburg

Address: 22 Heinitzburg Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range: €158 - €304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heinitzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Heinitzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heinitzburg Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing